These days, you can take a virtual tour of Speyer Cathedral online. But it is even more impressive to see the majestic construction in person. Friederike C. Walter and Bastian Hoffmann organise guided tours and cultural events and show why the cathedral is so much more than a UNESCO World Heritage site and the biggest preserved Romanesque church in the world: It is also a place of retreat for people who love silence.

The spires of the highest steeples of the biggest preserved Romanesque church in the world disappear in the fog on this cold winter day. A street musician blows the trumpet softly and quietly – in the cathedral garden a man wearing a Santa costume tries to fight the icy temperatures by playing the accordion. With the musicians at your back you can view the impressive scenery of Speyer Cathedral – burial place of emperors.

l1080466

The striking sandstone facade reveals the exciting, often wild history of Speyer Cathedral going back to 1030, the year the foundation stone was laid. Looking closer you can perceive different construction phases. You then see that the colour of the stones changes constantly, that their size and evenness varies. And yet, in order to fully understand, you need someone – someone who knows and is able to tell the stories of all these stones.

Someone like Friederike C. Walter, the 39-year-old art historian and head of the cultural management department of the cathedral chapter. She organizes guided tours, provides information material and is the contact person for visitors. And she gets very enthusiastic when it comes to the cathedral itself: its complexity, its “impressive dimensions, its theological, (art) historical and architectural importance.”

l1080542

Head of the cultural management department of the cathedral chapter: Friederike C. Walter

In the central nave, some visitors sit on modest wooden pews, unified by silence, each, however, deep in thought. Your eyes begin slowly to wander, and then go up. It is a full 33 metres to the ceiling. A single person can suddenly feel quite small underneath it. The flames of the votive candles flicker amidst the draft coming in from the side door. The faint yellow light, however, creates a warm atmosphere in a cold and awe-inspiring construction, which made Speyer one of the most important cities of the Holy Roman Empire in the Middle Ages.

Today, Speyer Cathedral is not only the episcopal, but also the parish church of the cathedral vicarage. There are masses every day – more than 450 each year – smaller events like weddings or baptismal services not included. The imperial cathedral is both a pilgrimage church and tourist attraction. According to the cathedral chapter, it attracts about one million people each year. There are tours in English, French or Spanish as well as in Polish, Dutch and Japanese. Most visitors, though, come from German speaking areas – and, of course, from the Rhine-Neckar Metropolitan Region.

“A place which exudes great harmony”

Friederike Walter’s grandparents are from here, too. She grew up in the Palatinate region herself. Before the art historian returned to her home country in 2013, she amongst other things had worked at the theatre in Basel. A Protestant, she was impressed by her new task, by the size of the construction, by its “sobriety and serenity.”

l1080480

Whoever visits Speyer Cathedral for the first time, expecting the flamboyant style and golden decoration of other well-known cathedral buildings, will be surprised. The interior indeed is modest and quite unadorned: High ceilings, audacious arcades and majestic pillars dominate the construction.

The cycle of frescoes on the walls of the central nave goes back to the 19th century. Church painter Johann Schraudolph dedicated the 24 frescoes showing scenes from the Old Testament to Mary. Above the front altar, the people’s altar, a huge crown hangs from the ceiling – symbolising the emperors’ tombs beneath: All Salian emperors but also Staufian and Habsburgian emperors were buried here. Behind the main altar, which is located in the apsis, with some distance to the first pews, a gigantic cross is the focal point of the visitors’ attention – exactly because not much else causes distraction.

l1080546

The restrained adornment tells a story as Friederike Walter explains: In the Palatinate War of Succession in 1689, certain areas of the cathedral caught fire causing a large portion of the nave to collapse. In the 18th century, French revolutionist troops burnt parts of the interior – and much was lost. And thus the cathedral presents itself with a modesty which leaves space for only a few but then even more striking works of art: reliefs, memorial slabs, baptismal fonts, confessional boxes and the main organ.

Friederike Walter’s colleague Bastian Hoffmann has known the cathedral since his childhood: born in Speyer, for him it is “a wonderful part of home.” This church was a “fundamental European monument,” as the Romance philologist and business economist says. Given its course through the centuries it took on a typical European significance: “the juxtaposition of unity and fragmentation.”

l1080503

Head of the visitor management: Bastian Hoffmann

Bastian Hoffmann is head of the visitor management, and he has a favourite place in the cathedral which he likes to show visitors most of all: the crypt with the emperors’ tombs. It is the oldest part of the church, almost rectangular chambers are structured by majestic pillars and circular columns. The pillars reaching up to the ceiling with a height of approximately seven metres. The faint light creates a mysterious atmosphere. In spite of the coldness outside, temperatures are astonishingly mild in here, the sandstone retains warmth. “A place which exudes great harmony,” Bastian Hoffmann says. It has not always been harmonious, though. French troops pillaged the tombs during the War of Succession. When they were opened in 1900 it emerged that at least the Salian tombs had on the whole been spared. Experts think that the troops had to leave the church hastily. The funerary objects can be admired in the “Historisches Museum der Pfalz” (Historical Museum of the Palatinate) next door. The mortal remains of the emperors now rest in the newly built emperors’ vault.

l1080554

Today, you can visit the cathedral digitally. The website kaiserdom-virtuell.de shows the edifice in a 360-degree view. A special feature with which the initiative makes the UNESCO World Heritage site accessible for people at very different places of the world. “Only the original is more impressive,” it says here. And this is very much to the point: Only someone who was really there knows just how impressive modesty and silence can be – at a uniquely historical place.


www.dom-zu-speyer.de

Den Speyerer Dom kann man heute virtuell im Internet besuchen. Noch eindrucksvoller ist es aber, das mächtige Bauwerk selbst zu erleben. Friederike C. Walter und Bastian Hoffmann organisieren Führungen und Kultur und vermitteln, warum der Dom noch viel mehr ist als UNESCO-Kulturdenkmal und die größte erhaltene romanische Kirche der Welt: auch ein Rückzugsort für Menschen, die die Stille lieben.

Die Spitzen der höchsten Türme versinken an diesem kalten Wintertag im Nebel. Ein Straßenmusiker bläst leise und bedächtig Trompete – im Domgarten spielt ein Mann im Nikolauskostüm mit seinem Akkordeon gegen die eisige Kälte an. Im Rücken der Musiker: die mächtige Kulisse des Speyerer Kaiserdoms.

l1080466

Die markante Sandsteinfassade erzählt von der aufregenden, oft wilden Geschichte des Speyerer Doms, dessen Grundstein im Jahr 1030 gelegt worden ist. Wer genau hinschaut, erkennt verschiedene Bauabschnitte. Sieht, dass die Farbe der Steine ständig wechselt, ihre Größe, ihre Gleichmäßigkeit. Und doch braucht es, um zu verstehen, jemanden, der die Geschichte(n) hinter all diesen Steinen kennt und erzählt.

Jemanden wie Friederike C. Walter. Die 39-Jährige Kunsthistorikerin leitet das Kulturmanagement des Domkapitels. Sie organisiert Führungen, sorgt für Informationsmaterial, ist Ansprechpartnerin für Besucher – und schwärmt: von der Vielschichtigkeit des Doms, von seinen „beeindruckenden Dimensionen, von seiner theologischen, (kunst-)geschichtlichen und architektonischen Bedeutung“.

l1080542

Leitet das Kulturmanagement des Domkapitels: Friederike C. Walter

Im Mittelschiff sitzen einige Besucher auf den schlichten Holzbänken, in Stille vereint, und doch jeder in eigene Gedanken versunken. Blicke schweifen langsam umher, auch in die Höhe. Hier sind es volle 33 Meter bis zur Decke. Ein einzelner Mensch kann sich darunter plötzlich ganz klein fühlen. Die Flammen der Opferkerzen flackern im Windzug der Seitentür. Ein schwach-gelbes Licht schafft dennoch eine warme Atmosphäre in einem kalten, Ehrfurcht einflößenden Bauwerk, das Speyer im Mittelalter zu den bedeutendsten Städten des Heiligen Römischen Reichs Deutscher Nation zählen ließ.

Heute ist der Speyerer Dom nicht nur Bischofs-, sondern auch Pfarrkirche der Dompfarrei. Täglich finden Gottesdienste statt – über 450 pro Jahr – kleinere Anlässe wie Taufen oder Hochzeiten nicht eingerechnet. Der Kaiserdom ist Wallfahrtskirche und Touristenattraktion. Er zieht nach Schätzungen des Domkapitels jährlich rund eine Million Menschen an. Es gibt Führungen in Englisch, Französisch oder Spanisch, aber auch Polnisch, Niederländisch und Japanisch. Die meisten Besucher kommen jedoch aus dem deutschsprachigen Raum – und natürlich aus der Region.

„Ein Raum, der eine große Harmonie ausstrahlt“

Auch Friederike Walters Großeltern kommen von hier, und sie selbst ist in der Pfalz aufgewachsen. Bevor die Kunsthistorikerin 2013 in ihre Heimat zurückkehrte, arbeitete sie unter anderem am Theater in Basel. Sie, die Protestantin, war beeindruckt von der neuen Aufgabe. Von der Größe des Bauwerks, von seiner „Schlichtheit und Klarheit.“

l1080480

Denn wer den Speyerer Dom zum ersten Mal besucht und den Gold und Prunk anderer bekannter Dombauten erwartet, wird überrascht sein. Das Inventar ist tatsächlich schlicht und weitgehend schnörkellos: Es dominieren die hohen Decken, die kühnen Rundbögen, die mächtigen Säulen.

Der Freskenzyklus an den Wänden des Mittelschiffs stammt aus dem 19. Jahrhundert. Kirchenmaler Johann Schraudolph hat die 24 Fresken Maria gewidmet, sie zeigen Szenen aus dem Alten Testament. Über dem vorderen Altar, dem Volksaltar, thront eine riesige Krone von der Decke – als Symbol für die Herrschergräber: Alle salischen Kaiser, aber auch staufische und habsburgische Herrscher wurden hier bestattet. Hinter dem Hauptaltar, der in der Apsis steht, in einiger Entfernung zu den vordersten Kirchenbänken, zieht ein riesiges Kreuz alle Aufmerksamkeit auf sich, gerade weil nicht viel Anderes ablenkt.

l1080546

Die für ein katholisches Gotteshaus zurückhaltende Dekoration erzählt eine Geschichte, wie Friederike Walter erklärt: Im Pfälzischen Erbfolgekrieg 1689 fingen Teile des Doms Feuer, das Langhaus stürzte zu großen Teilen ein. Im 18. Jahrhundert verbrannten französische Revolutionstruppen Teile der Ausstattung – und vieles blieb verschollen. Und so präsentiert sich der Dom heute mit einer Schlichtheit, die Raum lässt für wenige, aber umso markantere Kunstwerke: Reliefs, Grabplatten, Taufbecken, der Beichtstuhl und die Hauptorgel.

Friederike Walters Kollege Bastian Hoffmann kennt den Dom seit seiner Kindheit: Für den gebürtigen Speyerer ist er „ein schönes Stück Heimat“. Diese Kirche, sagt der Romanist und Betriebswirtschaftler, sei ein „fundamental europäisches Monument“. Mit seinem Lauf durch die Jahrhunderte stehe der Dom für etwas typisch Europäisches: „das Nebeneinander von Einheit und Zerrissenheit“.

l1080503

Bastian Hoffmann leitet das Besuchermanagement und er hat einen Lieblingsort im Dom, den er Besuchern besonders gerne zeigt: die Krypta mit den Kaisergräbern.

Die Krypta ist der älteste Bereich der Kirche, annähernd quadratische Räume sind durch mächtige Pfeiler und Rundstützen strukturiert. Rund sieben Meter reichen die Säulen in die Höhe. Das schwache Licht wirkt geheimnisvoll. Trotz der kalten Temperaturen draußen ist es erstaunlich mild, der Sandstein speichert Wärme. „Ein Raum, der eine große Harmonie ausstrahlt“, findet Bastian Hoffmann. Harmonisch ist es hier jedoch nicht immer zugegangen. Französische Truppen hatten die Herrschergräber im Erbfolgekrieg geplündert. Bei deren Öffnung im Jahr 1900 stellte sich heraus, dass wenigstens die Saliergräber weitgehend verschont geblieben waren. Experten vermuten, dass die Truppen die Kirche überstürzt verlassen mussten. Die Grabbeigaben sind heute im Historischen Museum der Pfalz nebenan zu bestaunen, die sterblichen Überreste der Herrscher liegen in der neu gebauten Kaisergruft.

l1080559

Der Dom lässt sich inzwischen auch digital erleben. Die Webseite kaiserdom-virtuell.de präsentiert das Bauwerk in einer 360-Grad-Ansicht. Eine Besonderheit, mit der die Initiative das UNESCO-Weltkulturerbe Menschen an ganz anderen Orten der Welt zugänglich macht. „Eindrucksvoller ist nur noch das Original“ heißt es dort. Und das trifft sehr genau den Punkt: nur wer wirklich mal da war weiß, wie eindrucksvoll Schlichtheit und Stille sein können – an einem einmalig geschichtsträchtigen Ort.


www.dom-zu-speyer.de