Where the wild dragons are

Fantastic location, breathtaking view, historic walls, a unique museum – and way too little time: a visit to Klaus Johe, the tourist manager of Lindenfels in the Odenwald.

If it had rolled and not slid this could have had disastrous consequences for the small town in the Odenwald back then: this enormous rock which they today call the “Drachenfels” (Dragon Rock) here in Lindenfels. Years ago, it broke away from the mountain, burst through the castle ruin’s wall – and came to a halt not far from the first houses. This was indeed dangerous – but luckily enough, it all ended well.

Further along the route: passing by the medical plants garden which used to save lives in the past and is still lovingly taken care of today. Towards the dark dungeon, the so-called “Eisengrün-Turm”. This tower is named after its last prisoner who is said to have attacked the prince-elector while he was hunting. Klaus Johe, too, listens attentively to visitor guide Ilse Bonn talking about these places and their stories.

L1010433

Volunteers like the 77-year-old tour guide are a blessing for Johe. He is the director of the spa and tourist services in Lindenfels and manages, to be precise, himself. Lindenfels belongs to those municipalities receiving financial aid by the state of Hesse, since their coffers are empty. The town comprising 5,100 inhabitants has to economize – in the tourism sector, too. While some years back Johe was supported by a colleague working part-time, he now has to cope by himself. This is why he now sometimes feels “like a jack of all trades” who is constantly short of time. “Time for something creative.”

L1010390

Klaus Johe (tourist manager) at work.

The man from Beerfelden is responsible for the spa town with its therapeutic climate. Its houses are situated at an altitude of 340 to 550 meters built on the terraces at the south-western slope of the Odenwald – a spectacular location with a terrific view overlooking the Rhine valley and the Odenwald. “Lindenfels has a mythical landscape,” Klaus Johe says enthusiastically meaning this quite literally, since the “Nibelungensteig” hiking trail goes directly past his office window – this long-distance trail crossing the Odenwald all the way from the Bergstraße district in the west to the river Main. Surrounded by sights, paved with stories. Hikers can take a rest at wells where Hagen von Tronje is said to have murdered Siegfried.

L1010461

Romance at it´s best.

Lindenfels was first mentioned in records in 1123. Conrad of Hohenstaufen, Count Palatine of the Rhine and half-brother of Emperor Frederick Barbarossa, is said to have built the castle – the starting point of the politics in the Electoral Palatinate region. Over the centuries the castle was expanded: the city wall was built, the castle turned into a fortress. Several times hostile troops occupied the castle, yet did not destroy it. In fact, three local gentlemen were responsible for that.

Klaus Johe quotes the mnemonic rhyme: “Marlock, Ferber and Mack – brought Lindenfels Castle bad luck”.

The representatives of the higher authorities arranged for the castle to be sold for demolition in 1779. This is why stones from the castle still support old buildings in the town of Lindenfels today.

Ilse Bonn points to the bretèche above the gate to the ruined castle. From here the inhabitants could pour out hot water or oil over the enemy. Walking through the gate you can find lines of stone on the ground. They indicate where walls once stood – buildings, or the castle keep in the yard. When Ilse Bonn makes history come to live, the woman from Lindenfels cannot conceal her professional past. The pensioned teacher wears her hair tied back; and very modern, big glasses with a red shimmer decoratively highlight her face. When she shows a group of visitors through the castle ruins she is clad in a historical costume, for instance a cowl with wide sleeves, a coif, a necklace made of clay.

L1010348

Watch out for Ilse Bonn – who takes us back to middle ages.

With her stories in mind you do not need a whole lot of fantasy to be transferred into the lively castle yard where knights once polished their harnesses, the smith shoed the hooves of impressive warhorses and elegant ladies danced around the old lime-tree. In this historic setting a medieval festival takes place every two years. In the beginning of August, the “Burg- und Trachtenfest” (castle and traditional costumes festival) is on the agenda, and in the end of August an open air cinema is brought into the castle ruins, sponsored by the Sparkassenstiftung Starkenburg (the foundation of the Sparkasse in Starkenburg), organised by the film journalist Michael Spiegel from Mannheim, who with his “Kino unterwegs” (cinema on the move) shows films at unusual places.

L1010468

Wild dragons everywhere…

Going all the way up the stairs you can enjoy an extraordinarily far and wonderful view over the valley of the Weschnitz. In Lindenfels, according to Ilse Bonn and Klaus Johe, people have a long stick “to push away the clouds”. If this for some reason should not work, there is always the “Drachenmuseum” (Dragon Museum) you can go to just a few minutes walk downhill. Having been linked to the tourist route called “Siegfried” in reminiscence of the mythological hero, these mythical creatures have become the emblem of the town. You can encounter many of them at numerous places all over the town. The impression the polystyrene specimens make is not that of especially monstrous or scary creatures, but rather of tame and friendly beings – perhaps because of the bright colours the Lindenfels people painted them with.

L1010409

“Many years ago,” Peter C. Woitge was their mayor. Now he is chairman of the association “Das Deutsche Drachenmuseum” (The German Dragon Museum). He established the exhibition with 700 objects on display and puts his heart into its management. This museum is the only one of its kind in Germany, maybe even in Europe. On 150 square-meters you can see town coat of arms, artful tea sets, figures – and all kinds of unusual things. There is the huge cast of the skull of a Tyrannosaurus Rex from Canada, there are wood seals from Mesopotamia which are thousands of years old. Upstairs children may play in the cozy dragon cave or – if they dare – open the curtain opposite, behind which a dangerous dragon is living. “In Asia, the dragon is considered the guardian of the family and the house,” Woitge explains. There is, by the way, beside him a secret boss in the “Drachenmuseum” – Harry. Someone else Klaus Johe can count on when he is on his touristic mission, since the lizard could soon become the star of international film festivals: In the production of the art and culture project “Matchbox” about the Nibelungen saga the actually very peacefully looking bearded dragon plays the role of the terrifying dragon who kills Siegfried.


www.lindenfels.de/tourismus

Achtung Drachen!

Traumhafte Lage, genialer Blick, historische Mauern, ein einmaliges Museum – und viel zu wenig Zeit: ein Besuch bei Klaus Johe, dem Touristikchef von Lindenfels im Odenwald.

 Wäre er damals gerollt und nicht gerutscht, hätte es böse ausgehen können für die kleine Stadt im Odenwald: dieser gewaltige Stein, den sie heute „Drachenfels“ nennen, hier in Lindenfels. Vor Jahren löste er sich aus dem Berg, durchbrach die Mauer der Burgruine – und kam unweit der ersten Wohnhäuser zum Stehen. Gefährlich war das, aber es ist ja nochmal gut gegangen.

Weiter also entlang des Weges: vorbei am Heilgarten, der früher Leben rettete und noch heute liebevoll gepflegt wird. Hin zum dunklen Kerker, dem Eisengrün-Turm. Benannt nach seinem letzten Insassen, der den Kurfürsten bei der Jagd angegriffen haben soll. Auch Klaus Johe hört genau hin, wenn Gästeführerin Ilse Bonn von diesen Orten und ihren Geschichten erzählt.

L1010433

Ehrenamtliche wie die 77-jährige Stadtführerin sind ein Segen für Johe. Er ist Chef des Kur- und Touristikservices in Lindenfels und leitet, um es genau zu nehmen, sich selbst. Lindenfels gehört zu den Kommunen, die unter dem hessischen Schutzschirm stehen, weil ihre Kassen so klamm sind. Der Ort, 5.100 Einwohner, muss sparen – auch am Tourismus. Während Johe vor Jahren noch eine halbe Stelle zur Unterstützung hatte, ist er nun Einzelkämpfer. Dabei fühlt er sich manchmal wie eine „eierlegende Wollmilchsau“, der die Zeit fehlt. „Zeit für Schöpferisches.“

L1010390

Der rastlose Touristikchef: Klaus Johe – mal wieder bei der Arbeit.

Der Mann aus Beerfelden vermarktet den heilklimatischen Kurort. Dessen Häuser liegen in 340 bis 550 Metern Höhe terrassenförmig im Südwesthang des Odenwaldes – eine spektakuläre Lage und Aussicht auf den die Rheinebene und den Odenwald. „Lindenfels hat eine sagenhafte Landschaft“, schwärmt Klaus Johe und das meint er wörtlich, führt doch der Nibelungensteig direkt an seinem Bürofenster vorbei. Jener Fernwanderweg, der von der Bergstraße im Westen den Odenwald bis an den Main durchzieht. Gesäumt von Sehenswürdigkeiten, gepflastert mit Geschichten. Wanderer machen etwa Halt an Brunnen, an denen Hagen von Tronje Siegfried ermordet haben soll.

 

L1010461

Nein, romantischer geht‘s leider nicht.

Lindenfels wurde 1123 erstmals urkundlich genannt. Pfalzgraf Konrad von Staufen, der Halbbruder von Kaiser Barbarossa, soll die Burg erbaut haben. Diesen Ausgangsort kurpfälzischer Politik. Über die Jahrhunderte wurde die Anlage ausgebaut: die Stadtmauer errichtet, die Burg zur Festung vergrößert. Mehrmals besetzten fremde Truppen die Burg, zerstört wurde sie dabei nie. Dafür waren vielmehr drei heimische Herren verantwortlich.

Klaus Johe kennt den alten Spruch: „Marlock, Mack und Ferber – Burg-Lindenfels-Verderber.“

Die Oberamtsherren sorgten dafür, dass die Burg 1779 auf Abbruch verkauft wurde. So stützen Steine aus der Burg noch heute alte Lindenfelser Gebäude.

Ilse Bonn zeigt auf die „Pechnase“ über dem Tor, das in die Burgruine führt. Von ihr aus konnten die Bewohner den Feind mit heißem Wasser oder Öl beschütten. Wer das Tor durchschreitet, findet Linien aus Steinen am Boden. Sie markieren, wo Mauern standen – Gebäude oder der Bergfried im Burghof. Wenn Ilse Bonn Geschichte lebendig werden lässt, kann die Lindenfelserin ihre berufliche Vergangenheit nicht verbergen. Das weiße Haar hat die pensionierte Lehrerin zurückgebunden, ihr Gesicht ziert eine sehr moderne, große, rotschimmernde Brille. Wenn sie Gästegruppen durch die Burgruine führt, trägt sie ein historisches Kostüm, etwa eine Kutte mit weiten Ärmeln, eine Läusehaube, eine Halskette aus Ton.

L1010348

Achtung, hier kommt Ilse Bonn – und führt uns mal eben ins Mittelalter.

Mit ihren Erzählungen im Ohr braucht es nur wenig Fantasie, sich auf den belebten Burghof zu versetzen, auf dem Ritter ihre Rüstung polieren, der Schmied die Hufe stolzer Schlachtrösser beschlägt, elegante Burgfräulein um die alte Linde tanzen. In der historischen Kulisse findet alle zwei Jahre ein mittelalterliches Fest statt. Anfang August steht das Burg- und Trachtenfest im Veranstaltungskalender, und Ende August ein Open-Air-Kino in der Burgruine, gesponsert von der Sparkassenstiftung Starkenburg und organisiert von dem Mannheimer Filmjournalisten Michael Spiegel, der mit „Kino unterwegs“ immer wieder Kino an ungewöhnliche Orte bringt.

L1010468

Und überall wilde Drachen.

Wer die Treppen nach oben steigt, genießt einen ungewöhnlich weiten und schönen Ausblick ins Weschnitztal. In Lindenfels, so behaupten Ilse Bonn und Klaus Johe, hat man einen langen Stab, „um die Wolken wegzuschieben“. Klappt das mal nicht, gibt es wenige Fußminuten abwärts das Drachenmuseum: Die Fabelwesen sind durch die Anbindung an die Touristikstraße „Siegfried“, die an den Sagenhelden erinnert, zum Wahrzeichen der Stadt geworden. Viele sind im Stadtgebiet verteilt. Groß und angsteinflößend wirken die Exemplare aus Styropor nicht, eher zahm und freundlich. Wohl auch, weil die Lindenfelser sie bunt angemalt haben.

L1010409

Peter C. Woitge war „vor vielen Jahren“ ihr Bürgermeister. Jetzt ist er Chef des Vereins „Das Deutsche Drachenmuseum“, der die Ausstellung mit 700 Exponaten aufgebaut hat und mit Herzblut betreibt. Das Museum ist das einzige seiner Art in Deutschland, vielleicht sogar in Europa. Auf 150 Quadratmetern gibt es Stadtwappen, kunstvolle Tee-Services, Figuren – und allerlei Ausgefallenes. Da ist der riesige Abguss eines Tyrannosaurus-Rex-Schädels aus Kanada, da gibt es tausende Jahre alte Holzsiegel aus Mesopotamien. Im Obergeschoss können Kinder in der kuscheligen Drachenhöhle spielen oder – wenn sie sich trauen – den Vorhang gegenüber lüften, hinter dem ein gefährlicher Drachen haust. „In Asien gilt der Drache als Beschützer der Familie und des Hauses“, erklärt Woitge, neben dem es übrigens noch einen heimlichen Chef im Drachenmuseum gibt: Harry. Einer mehr, auf den Klaus Johe bei seiner touristischen Mission zählen kann. Denn die Echse könnte schon bald zum Star internationaler Filmfestivals werden: In einer Produktion des Kunst- und Kulturprojekts Matchbox über die Nibelungensage spielt die eigentlich ziemlich friedlich dreinblickende Bartagame nämlich den furchteinflößenden Drachen, den Siegfried tötet.


www.lindenfels.de/tourismus