Roots into the future

Speyer, Worms and Mainz have a rich Jewish heritage. This is why Susanne Urban wants UNESCO to designate them as a world heritage site. Their monuments are more than 1,000 years old—and their messages still relevant.  

 

The first thing that comes to mind is the children of the deceased. Johanna Pfung’s gravestone looks like a mighty tree trunk which was suddenly chopped off—and yet has so many shoots that one is immediately reminded of her family. Of all the descendants that this woman, born in 1802 and buried in Worms in 1889, might have had. An oak tree made of stone but nevertheless full of life—could there be a better symbol for this place than this gravestone in the “Heiliger Sand” (“holy sand”) cemetery in Worms? Here, nearly 2,500 monuments rise up, often made of red sandstone in which Jewish history has left many traces since the 11th century. Tombs as far as the eye can see, some sunk in and weather-beaten. Perhaps this is exactly the reason why they have such an incredible presence—the Jewish cemetery in Worms being the oldest preserved such cemetery in Europe.

That it still exists today, surviving the Nazi era and numerous other pogroms, as well, borders on the miraculous. Susanne Urban loves coming here, and not just because this cemetery constitutes an important part of her work. “The desire to remember is incredibly strong,” she says—and in one way or another a sentence like this says a lot about who she is. As a child she read the book “A Square of Sky” by Janina David and this made such an impression on her that she engaged in a long-lasting correspondence with the London-based author. She studied history and wrote her doctoral thesis on Jewish publishers. She worked as a journalist for the Jewish journal “Tribüne” and went to Israel for five years, where she, amongst other things, organised seminars for German teachers at the documentation centre Yad Vashem. She received one of the few permanent historian positions as the head of the “International Tracing Service” in Bad Arolsen, an archive for research on the Nazi era and on survival. She quit because the position in Worms appealed to her so greatly.

As the managing director of the association “ShUM cities Speyer, Worms, Mainz,” Susanne Urban works on the application for the UNESCO world heritage recognition. The acronym ShUM stands for the initial letters of the place names in Hebrew: Shin (Sh) for Shpira (Speyer), Waw (U) for Warmaisa (Worms) and Mem (M) for Magenza (Mainz). The three cities together were something like a spiritual centre of Judaism in Europe along the Rhine with prominent scholars teaching here. All three locations had the same jurisdiction. “And there is unity everywhere, even down to the architecture,” Urban explains. Synagogues and mikvaot, the Jewish ritual baths, had the same design characteristics. In 1212, a women’s section was added to the synagogue in Worms—the first in Europe.

Slips of paper everywhere, the so-called “quittlech” with wishes or requests written down on them, are placed on the graves and weighed down with stones. A particularly large number can be found in direct proximity to the entrance to the cemetery in Worms. There are such huge piles of them on two tombstones that they regularly have to be cleared away—and buried. So that all the wishes and requests come true. Some are for Alexander ben Salomon Wimpfen, a merchant from Frankfurt, but most of them for Rabbi Meir von Rothenburg (1215-1293), whose elegy is still sung in the synagogues today and whose fate is something akin to a legal case study: The scholar wanted to emigrate. But when Rudolf von Habsburg arrested him, willing to set him free only after a hefty ransom was paid, he changed his mind. Due to the fact, among others, that he did not want the incident to set a precedence for arresting other Rabbis and Jews in general.

“In the 19th century, there was a downright ShUM tourism boom”

The characters and symbolic ornaments on many of the tombstones bear witness to the life of the deceased, their professions, positions within the community, families and lineage. Two white hands raised for blessing are depicted on the tombstone of Jakob Kuhn (1830-1888). They point to the fact that he comes from the family of priests who once served in the temple in Jerusalem. There are graves of twelve community leaders who were murdered. A mass burial site it seems, where people killed during the crusades were buried. And there is the grave of the scholar Maharil whose wish was to be buried facing Jerusalem, the only one with that wish. “For the ShUM Jews their home town in Worms was their Jerusalem on the Rhine,” Susanne Urban says—maybe that is why all but Maharil look over more than 2,000 graves but do not face Jerusalem. This is not based on certain facts, since myths and legends are as important as the monuments and scholarliness in ShUM culture.

The most well-known scholar who studied in Worms and Mainz would appear to be Rabbi Schlomo ben Jizchak, named Raschi (1040-1105), whose commentaries are used as a resource for Torah interpretation to this day. In the old synagogue, not only is the inscription of the founders of 1034 still preserved, but also the so-called Raschi chair dating from the 17th century in the teaching house next door. “He never actually sat on it, but it nonetheless is his place, on which his great spirit can take a seat. In the 19th century, there was a downright ShUM tourism boom,” Susanne Urban tells us, with even postcards of the synagogue and the cemetery being printed. Today, many tens of thousands of people come to Worms and they also visit the ShUM places. “In Speyer it is even 50,000,” says Urban. There you can find remnants of the Medieval synagogue and the mikve, in Mainz the reconstructed cemetery “Judensand” (“Jews’ sand”), all of these belong to the sites to be designated by UNESCO.

How do you deal with places such as these? How do you explain them to outsiders and how many visitors can they sustain? Susanne Urban works on these issues with cities, municipalities and the state, as well as with conservationists and historians. Plans are now beginning to be made about how the opening ceremony of the monumental cemetery in Mainz could look, which so far has not been easily accessible for the public. The documentation of the Raschi museum only a few paces away from her office in Worms ends in the 1980s and there is no visitor centre.

Susanne Urban’s office is in the “Haus zur Sonne”, “house to the sun”, right next to the synagogue which used to be the school for Jewish children since 1935—until their deportation in 1941. Today, the rooms of the house are used again by the small Jewish community with Jewish life returning to the city—slowly but noticeably. Before the holocaust, approximately 1,000 Jews lived in Worms. “Today, there are about 100,” Susanne Urban says.

“The ShUM sites would be the first to have world heritage status focussing on Judaism.” There was, for example, the former fortress Masada in Israel, but its roots were Roman, she explains. Or Prague and Třebíč —city ensembles which integrate Jewishness but do not emphasise it. In Worms, however, Jewish history inscribed itself into the cityscape in such a way that you can still easily perceive the structure of the ghetto. It is not Susanne Urbans’ intention to establish an exhibition about everyday Jewish culture: “I think it is more surprising to show how up-to-date and also—according to their own time—how liberal the thinking of the Jewish scholars once was.” And, in a sense, also how European, since rabbis such as Raschi—himself a Frenchman—spread their knowledge far beyond national borders. When the application for the ShUM cities will be issued to the UNESCO in 2020, history will play a major role, but the future will, too. The tombstone of Johanna Pfung is a wonderful symbol for that. Her tree trunk grows new shoots—its roots, however, reach deep into the earth of Worms.


www.schumstaedte.de

Wurzeln in die Zukunft

Speyer, Worms und Mainz haben ein reiches jüdisches Erbe. Ihre Monumente sind mehr als 1000 Jahre alt – und ihre Botschaften noch immer aktuell. Susanne Urban will, dass die UNESCO sie zu Stätten des Weltkulturerbes macht. 

 

Das erste, woran man denkt, sind die Kinder dieser Toten. Wie ein mächtiger Baumstamm sieht Johanna Pfungs Grabstein aus, der wie abrupt abgeschnitten wirkt. Und dennoch so voller Triebe steckt, dass man gleich an ihre Familie denkt. An all die Nachfahren, die diese Frau, geboren 1802 und begraben 1889 in Worms, wohl hatte. Eine Eiche aus Stein, aber doch so voller Leben – könnte es ein schöneres Sinnbild für diesen Ort geben, als jener Grabstein auf dem „Heiligen Sand“ in Worms? An die 2500 Monumente ragen hier empor, in deren oftmals roten Sandstein sich jüdische Geschichte seit dem 11. Jahrhundert eingeschrieben hat. Gräber, so weit das Auge reicht. Manche sind eingesunken und verwittert. Vielleicht aber gerade deshalb von einer solch ungeheuren Präsenz. Denn der jüdische Friedhof in Worms ist der älteste erhaltene in Europa.

Dass er noch heute existiert, nicht nur die NS-Zeit, sondern auch Pogrome überstanden hat, grenzt an ein Wunder. Susanne Urban kommt gerne hierher. Nicht allein, weil dieser Friedhof auch ein wichtiger Teil ihrer Arbeit ist. „Der Wunsch nach Erinnerung ist ungeheuer stark“, sagt sie – und in gewisser Weise passt ein Satz wie dieser auch zu ihr selbst: Als Kind liest sie das Buch „Ein Stück Himmel“ von Janina David und ist so beeindruckt, dass sie mit der Londoner Schriftstellerin jahrelang Briefe schreibt. Sie studiert Geschichte und promoviert über Jüdische Verlage. Sie arbeitet als Redakteurin der jüdischen Zeitschrift „Tribüne“ und geht fünf Jahre nach Israel, wo sie im Dokumentationszentrum Yad Vashem unter anderem Seminare für deutsche Lehrer organisiert. Sie ergattert einen der wenigen unbefristeten Jobs als Historikerin, wird Leiterin des „International Tracing Services“ in Bad Arolsen, einem Archiv zur Erforschung der NS-Zeit und des Überlebens. Und kündigt, weil die Aufgabe in Worms sie so sehr reizt.

Als Geschäftsführerin des Vereins „SchUM-Städte Speyer, Worms, Mainz“ arbeitet Susanne Urban an einer Bewerbung für das UNESCO-Weltkulturerbe. SchUM, das steht für die Anfangsbuchstaben der hebräischen Ortsnamen Schin (Sch) für Schpira (Speyer), Waw (U) für Warmaisa (Worms) und Mem (M) für Magenza (Mainz). Alle drei Städte bildeten im Mittelalter so etwas wie ein geistiges Zentrum des Judentums in Europa entlang des Rheins: Bedeutende Gelehrte unterrichten hier. An allen drei Standorten galt dieselbe Rechtsprechung. „Und selbst architektonisch gab es eine Einheit“, erklärt Urban: Synagogen und Mikwaot, jüdische Ritualbäder, folgten derselben Formensprache. 1212 entstand in Worms ein Frauentrakt an der Synagoge – der erste in Europa.

Zettel über Zettel: Quittlech werden sie genannt, mit Wünschen oder Bitten versehen und dann mit Steinen beschwert. Besonders viele gibt es auf dem Wormser Friedhof gleich am Anfang. Auf zwei Grabsteinen türmen sich die zusammengefalteten Zettel derart, dass sie regelmäßig abgeräumt werden – und begraben. Auf das all die Wünsche und Bitten in Erfüllung gehen. Sie gelten dem Frankfurter Kaufmann Alexander ben Salomon Wimpfen. Vor allem aber dem Rabbi Meir von Rothenburg (1215-1293), dessen Trauerlied noch heute in den Synagogen gesungen wird und dessen Schicksal so etwas wie ein juristisches Fallbeispiel ist: Der Gelehrte wollte auswandern. Als Rudolf von Habsburg ihn festnahm und nur gegen Lösegeld freilassen wollte,  weigerte er sich – auch, um keinen Präzedenzfall für die Verhaftung anderer Rabbiner und Juden generell zu schaffen.

„Im 19. Jahrhundert gab es einen regelrechten SchUM-Tourismus“

Die Schriftzeichen und symbolischen Verzierungen auf vielen Grabsteinen berichten über das Leben der Toten, ihre Berufe, ihre Stellungen in der Gemeinschaft, ihre Familie und Abstammung. Zwei weiße zum Segen erhobene Hände sind auf dem Grabstein von Jakob Kuhn (1830-1888) abgebildet. Sie verweisen darauf, dass er aus der Familie der Priester stammte, die einst Dienst im Jerusalemer Tempel taten. Es gibt Gräber von zwölf sogenannten Gemeindevorstehern, die ermordet wurden. Ein Massengrab wohl, in dem man wohl alle Menschen bestattete, die während der Kreuzzüge umgekommen waren. Und es gibt das Grab des Gelehrten Maharil, der sich mit Blick nach Jerusalem beerdigen ließ. Als einziger. „Die SchUM-Juden verstanden ihr Zuhause in Worms als Jerusalem am Rhein“, sagt Susanne Urban – bis auf Maharil blicken eventuell auch deshalb alle über 2000 Gräber gerade nicht in Richtung Israel.Sicher es ist es nicht, denn Mythen und Legenden sind in SchUM ebenso wichtig wie die Monumente und die Gelehrsamkeit.

Der wohl bekannteste Gelehrte, der in Worms und Mainz studierte, ist der Rabbi Schlomo ben Jizchak, genannt Raschi (1040-1105), dessen Kommentare bis heute bei der Auslegung der Tora helfen. In der alten Synagoge ist nicht nur die Stifterinschrift von 1034 erhalten, sondern auch der sogenannte Raschi-Stuhl aus dem 17. Jahrhundert, im Lehrhaus nebenan. „Darauf hat er nie gesessen, aber es ist trotzdem sein Ort, an dem sein großer Geist Platz nehmen kann. Im 19. Jahrhundert gab es einen regelrechten SchUM-Tourismus“, erzählt Susanne Urban, dafür wurden sogar Postkarten von Synagoge und Friedhof gedruckt. Heute kommen jährlich viele Zehntausend  Menschen nach Worms, und sie sehen auch die  SchUM-Orte. „In Speyer sind es sogar 50.000“, sagt Urban, wo Reste der mittelalterlichen Synagoge und der Mikwe, in Mainz der rekonstruierte Friedhof Judensand zu den bei der UNESCO beworbenen Stätten gehören.

Wie geht man mit diesen Orten um? Wie erklärt man sie Außenstehenden, wie viele Besucher vertragen sie? Susanne Urban arbeitet für solche Fragen mit Städten, Gemeinden und Land, mit Denkmalpflegern und Historikern zusammen. Gerade beginnen die Planungen, wie die Öffnung des Mainzer Denkmalfriedhofs aussehen könnte, der bisher nicht so einfach zugänglich ist. Das Raschi-Museum wenige Schritte von ihrem Wormser Büro entfernt, ist auf dem Stand der 1980er Jahre, ein Besucherzentrum gibt es nicht.

Ihr Büro hat Susanne Urban im „Haus zur Sonne“, gleich neben der alten Synagoge, das ab 1935 das Schulhaus jüdischer Kinder war – bis zu ihrer Deportation 1941. Heute nutzt die kleine Gemeinde die Räume wieder, das jüdische Leben kehrt in die Stadt zurück. Langsam zwar, aber merklich. Vor dem Holocaust lebten rund 1000 Juden in Worms. „Heute sind es etwa 100“, sagt Susanne Urban.

„Die SchUM-Stätten wären die ersten mit Weltkulturerbestatus, die das Judentum ins Zentrum stellt.“ Zwar gebe es beispielsweise die ehemalige Festung Masada in Israel, aber deren Wurzeln seien römisch. Oder Prag und Trebice – Stadtensembles, die das jüdische integrieren, aber nicht herausstellen. In Worms hingegen hat sich die jüdische Geschichte derart in das Stadtbild eingeschrieben, dass man die Struktur des Ghettos noch immer leicht ablesen kann. Eine Ausstellung über jüdische Alltagskultur  Susanne Urban nicht einrichten: „Ich denke, es ist überraschender zu zeigen, wie aktuell und auch – in ihrer Zeit – liberal die jüdischen Gelehrten einst dachten.“ Und in gewisser Weise europäisch. Denn Rabbiner wie Raschi – selbst Franzose – verbreiteten ihr Wissen weit über Grenzen hinaus. Wenn der Antrag für die SchUM-Städte 2020 bei der Unesco eingereicht wird, geht es also ein großes Stück weit um Geschichte. Aber auch um die Zukunft. Der Grabstein von Johanna Pfung ist dafür ein schönes Sinnbild: Ihr Baumstamm sprießt – seine Wurzeln jedoch reichen weit in die Wormser Erde hinein.


www.schumstaedte.de