Where the hotel business is reimagined

The Palatin in Wiesloch is one of Germany’s top conference hotels, a location for special events and also a training workplace which reimagines the hotel business. Together with its team, the Palatin collects awards like other people collect fine wines.

 

Jana is a football player, training every day with TSG Hoffenheim’s women’s team. She sprints, dribbles and grinds with a single goal: to play in Germany’s Bundesliga. And her chances are good. Four years ago, she came to the Kraichgau region to pursue her football dream here. But in contrast to male football players, women players cannot survive from their passion alone. “This would be much too boring for me, anyway,” Jana Beuschlein says, since she has yet another passion: concerts and events.

Klaus Michael Schindlmeier, Jana Beuschlein and Lisa Aenis

But what employer likes his employee training professionally on the side and enjoying concerts and cultural events with the same passion? The 22-year-old found one. Through Anpfiff ins Leben (“Opening whistle to life”), the training programme of the Dietmar Hopp foundation, Jana came to the Palatin Hotel in Wiesloch, where she met Klaus Michael Schindlmeier. He has been managing director of the conference hotel and cultural centre for eleven years—and likes to call himself stage director or a “talent on the look-out for talents”—such as Jana.

The talent Klaus Michael Schindlmeier is himself a trained cook, management expert, head chef and certified hotel manager. He was 19 when he became head chef for the first time—in the Schlosshotel Bad Neuhaus. Later, he ran his own restaurant, was manager of the five-star hotel Vier Jahreszeiten and of the four-star hotel Marc Aurel in Bad Gögging, after that he became managing director of the golf resort Golf- und Vitalpark Bad Waldsee. Since 2007, he has vividly demonstrated in Wiesloch how a city-owned event location can be turned into a conference hotel, which is one of the top training workplaces in Germany. Excellent training workplace, one of the best conference hotels in Germany, special event location, top employer—the Palatin collects awards like other people collect fine wines. Most recently, the Palatin was certified for its sustainability. “We heat with three co-generation units, the rooms are painted with ecological paint and we also take the data privacy of our employees very seriously,” Klaus Michael Schindlmeier says—and you can hear the devotion put into every detail of this large-scale project.

For this boss the key to his success is his staff. This might sound trivial, but for Schindlmeier his very young crew is his philosophy put into practice. “We are one family, we are on first name terms with each other and take good care of each other.” Jana noticed this trusting atmosphere already at her job interview, when her future boss opened doors for her, enabling her to study at the Baden-Wuerttemberg Cooperative State University Mannheim and to carry out her football training units and her cultural activities at the same time. “Then, I became a N8:Schwärmer (“night crawler”) very quickly,” she tells us, talking about her first experiences in event managing. The all-women team has changed Wiesloch’s N8:Leben (“nightlife”). For six years, the event series N8:Schwärmer has presented an exclusive programme of concerts and parties—on their own authority. “It’s your own personal project and you really throw yourself into the task,” Jana explains enthusiastically. And that is the case although the Palatin team already is very busy, indeed. Every year, it organises up to 120 events, ranging from comedy to concerts. Without the Palatin, there would not be much going on in Wiesloch and the surrounding area. “We made the change happen, since until then our audience was mainly over 70. Our team does everything by itself—from planning to marketing, carrying out the events and the debriefing—because we have to think hotel business differently,” Schindlmeier says convincedly. Many of his colleagues complain that they did not find the right junior staff. “But only because many of them do not know what benefits come with training your own staff. When you take your staff members seriously and communicate with them as your equals, you integrate decisive, confident, goal-oriented and team-working people into gastronomy.”

In Wiesloch, this philosophy flourishes. Lisa Aenis experienced this, too. In October 2011, she started her cooperative study programme at the Best Western Plus Palatin. After two trial-working days in the service industry, the now 25-year-old was not sure she would be accepted at the university she applied for. But her boss was so pleased that he even got her another university admission at the Baden-Wuerttemberg Cooperative State University. She too is a member of the N8:Schwärmer team, having contributed to the strategic new orientation of the purchasing activities and having worked in all departments of the conference hotel—today she is Klaus Michael Schindlmeier’s personal assistant. Lisa wrote a book about her work experience together with eleven other colleagues: „Breite Brust – Hotellerie ist Zukunft” (“Self-confidence—hotel business is the future”). This book is a clear statement on the fact that you can be very successful at the Palatin in Wiesloch when you are self-confident: from being an apprentice to personal assistant to the managing director. “We need to think like young people,” Klaus Michael Schindlmeier says, enjoying the feeling that the Palatin is ideally positioned for the future with its concept of promoting new talents—for the benefit of Wiesloch and the entire region.


www.palatin.de

Wo man Hotellerie neu denkt

Das Palatin in Wiesloch ist eines der besten Tagungshotels in Deutschland und eine besondere Eventlocation, aber auch ein Ausbildungsbetrieb, der Hotellerie neu denkt – und mit seinem Team Auszeichnungen sammelt wie andere gute Weine. 

 

Jana ist Fußballerin. Jeden Tag trainiert sie in der Frauenmannschaft der TSG Hoffenheim, rackert, rennt und dribbelt. Ihr Ziel: in der Ersten Bundesliga spielen. Die Chancen stehen gut. Vor vier Jahren ist sie in den Kraichgau gekommen, um hier ihren Fußballtraum zu leben. Aber anders als bei den Männern können bei den Damen selbst die größten Fußballtalente nicht von ihrer Leidenschaft leben. „Das wäre mir aber auch viel zu langweilig“, sagt Jana Beuschlein, denn sie hat noch eine zweite Passion: Konzerte und Veranstaltungen.

Klaus Michael Schindlmeier, Jana Beuschlein und Lisa Aenis

Aber welchem Arbeitgeber gefällt es, wenn eine Mitarbeiterin nebenher auf professionellem Niveau trainiert und ebenso intensiv Konzerte und Kultur genießt?  Die 22-Jährige hat ihn gefunden. Über „Anpfiff ins Leben“, das Ausbildungsprogramm der Dietmar Hopp Stiftung, ist Jana zum Hotel Palatin in Wiesloch gekommen, wo sie auf Klaus Michael Schindlmeier traf. Seit elf Jahren ist er Geschäftsführer des Kongresshotels und Kulturzentrums – und nennt sich gerne Regisseur oder ein „Talent, das nach Talenten sucht“ – wie Jana.

Das Talent Klaus Michael Schindlmeier ist selbst gelernter Koch, Betriebswirt, Küchen- und Hotelmeister. Mit 19 war er erstmals Küchenchef – im Schlosshotel Bad Neuhaus. Später leitete er sein eigenes Restaurant, war Manager des 5-Sterne-Hotels Vier Jahreszeiten und des 4-Sterne-Hotels Marc Aurel in Bad Gögging, später Geschäftsführer im Golf- und Vitalpark Bad Waldsee.  Und seit 2007 demonstriert er in Wiesloch eindrucksvoll, wie man aus einem Veranstaltungsort in städtischer Hand ein Kongresshotel macht, das heute zu den Top-Ausbildern in Deutschland zählt. Exzellenter Ausbildungsbetrieb, eines der besten Tagungshotels in Deutschland, besondere Eventlocation, Top-Arbeitgeber – das Palatin sammelt Auszeichnungen wie andere gute Weine. Zuletzt wurde das Palatin für seine Nachhaltigkeit zertifiziert. „Die Wärme kommt aus drei Blockheizkraftwerken, die Räume werden mit ökologischen Farben gestrichen und wir nehmen den Datenschutz auch für unsere Mitarbeiter sehr ernst“, sagt Klaus Michael Schindlmeier – und man hört heraus, welches Herzblut in jedem Detail dieses Großprojekts steckt.

Der Schlüssel zum Erfolg sind für den Chef die Mitarbeiter. Was trivial klingen mag, ist für Schindlmeier und seine sehr junge Truppe gelebte Philosophie. „Wir sind eine Familie, wir duzen uns alle hier, wir kümmern uns umeinander.“ Diese vertrauensvolle Atmosphäre hat Jana schon beim Vorstellungsgespräch bemerkt, als ihr zukünftiger Chef ihr alle Türen öffnete, um ihr Studium an der Dualen Hochschule in Mannheim mit ihren Trainingseinheiten und ihren Kulturaktivitäten unter einen Hut zu bringen. „Ich wurde dann ganz schnell zu einem N8:Schwärmer“, erzählt sie über ihre ersten Gehversuche im Eventmanagement. Das Team aus jungen Frauen verändert das „N8:Leben“ in Wiesloch. Seit sechs Jahren präsentiert die Eventreihe „N8:Schwärmer“ mindestens einmal im Quartal ein exklusives Programm mit Konzerten und Partys. Eigenverantwortlich. „Das ist dann dein Ding und du hängst dich dafür richtig rein“, schwärmt Jana.  Dabei hat das Team im Palatin im Palatin ohnehin schon richtig gut zu tun. Bis zu 120 Veranstaltungen pro Jahr sind zu stemmen, von Comedy bis Konzerten. Ohne das Palatin wäre in Wiesloch und Umgebung in Sachen Kultur nur wenig los. „Wir haben den Wandel geschafft, denn unser Publikum war bis dahin eher 70 plus. Unser Team macht alles selbst – von der Planung und dem Marketing über die Veranstaltung bis zur Nachbereitung – denn wir müssen Hotellerie anders denken“, ist Schindlmeier überzeugt. Viele seiner Kollegen klagen, nicht den richtigen Nachwuchs zu finden. „Aber nur, weil viele nicht wissen, welche Vorteile mit der Ausbildung verbunden sind. Wenn man Mitarbeiter ernst nimmt und auf Augenhöhe kommuniziert, integriert man entscheidungsfreudige, selbstbewusste, zielorientierte und teamfähige Leute in das Gastrogewerbe.“

In Wiesloch wird diese Philosophie gelebt. Das hat auch Lisa Aenis erfahren. Im Best Western Plus Palatin hat sie im Oktober 2011 ihr duales Studium begonnen. Nach zwei Tagen Probearbeiten im Service war sich die heute 25-Jährige, nicht sicher, ob sie einen Platz an der Hochschule bekommen wird. Aber der Chef war begeistert und besorgte ihr sogar einen zusätzlichen Studienplatz an der DHBW. Auch sie zählt zum Team der N8:Schwärmer, wirkte bei der strategischen Neuausrichtung des Einkaufs mit und durchlief alle Abteilungen des Kongresshotels – heute ist sie Klaus Michael Schindlmeiers Assistentin. Ihre Erfahrungen hat Lisa mit 11 anderen Kollegen in einem Buch verewigt. „Breite Brust – Hotellerie ist Zukunft“ ist ein klares Bekenntnis, dass man es mit Selbstvertrauen im Wieslocher Palatin zu etwas bringen kann: vom Lehrling zur Assistentin des Geschäftsführers. „Wir müssen denken wie junge Menschen“, sagt Klaus Michael Schindlmeier und genießt das Gefühl, dass mit dieser Nachwuchsförderung das Haus für die Zukunft optimal aufgestellt ist – zum Wohle Wieslochs und der ganzen Region.


www.palatin.de