Annika Wind / translated by C. Maier-RezicClaus Geiss

Where the future thinks

At nineteen, Klaus Kufeld read Ernst Bloch for the first time – without suspecting that the famous philosopher could play a vital role later on in his life. Today, Klaus Kufeld has been in charge of the Bloch-Zentrum (Bloch centre) in the town of Ludwigshafen for 20 years. The former villa of a factory owner, located on the Rhine, shelters not only the writings of the great thinker, but also a reproduction of his study. Between tobacco and Adorno you can get in touch with the Ludwigshafen philosopher.

 

Text, text, everywhere there’s text. Crossed out, underlined, rewritten. In Ernst Bloch’s writings, there are arrows. There are notes in the margins, footnotes and additions. Unlined paper, filled with so many supplementary notes, that only he would be able to identify the latest state of it all. And a style of handwriting that would drive any editor nuts: scrawled somewhat askew, cryptic and tiny. Even though the spirit of his “Principle of Hope” was all a grand gesture that still lasts today. A motivation to take charge of one’s destiny and to always recognize a beginning in an end, even in the very apocalypse.

L1080860

With “healthy distance” to Ernst Bloch: Klaus Kufeld in the philosopher’s workroom.

 

Kufeld stands in front of Bloch’s desk inside the villa of the Ludwigshafen Walzmühle building and adjusts a tobacco pack, apparently lying carelessly on top. He puts it level with a letter from the sixties. The odour of cold pipe smoke is in the air, and of old paper. You can sense Bloch’s presence in this room, so much so that you can almost see the philosopher (1885-1977) ploughing the texts. In his wing chair with an odd tapestry, Bloch looked like a landmark – and Kufeld appears merely slim, almost boyish, there. But it is him, who has been in charge of the Bloch-Zentrum for 20 years ­– and who is in retirement since November, theoretically.

L1080903

The Bloch Center: a place for future topics and critical questions of time.

 

“I am a lifeblood worker,” says the 65-year-old, and he convinces you straight away. The programme of the Ludwigshafen Bloch-Zentrum is manifold and centres around issues of the future and crucial questions of the present. Symposia follow readings, exhibitions and debates. Kufeld is involved in the presentation of the Ernst-Bloch-Preis and William-Dieterle-Filmpreis awards and he called the “Zukunftsrede” (future speech) into being. All of these formats take place above the heart of the house, which you can look into through a glass top that is embedded in the floor – Bloch’s study.

It was back in 1995 when Kufeld personally packed up the desk and the chair, books and pictures. Bloch’s wife, Karola, had just died and he had been head of the cultural affairs office of the town of Ludwigshafen, which had established a Bloch archive back in 1979. Competition for the estate, however, was high. There were requests from Berlin and Marbach. “Furthermore, the apartment estate had yielded to the town of Tübingen,” Kufeld recalls. There, Bloch had last lived, taught and resided in an inconspicuous fifties-style house close to the Hölderlinturm (Hölderlin Tower) – the Ludwigshafen arrangements were reproduced down to the plain curtains.

“Ludwigshafen is one of the first seaside towns inside the country, situated at a sea of non-static future.”

The Bloch-Zentrum disposes not only of the Tübingen furnishings, but also of the preserved manuscripts stock contained in 227 folders – about half of which are as yet unpublished. Furthermore, all first editions, translations and also presentation copies, journal articles and interviews. Kufeld calls it the “Bloch providence,” referring not only to the cultural and scientific centre that he will run until 2018. The “Bloch providence” concerns his very own journey through life that had been anything but well mapped-out – and that, therefore, appears even straighter.

L1080940

 

Kufeld had studied education, sociology, psychology and political and national economics in Munich and Regensburg, before he went to Ludwigshafen and became head of the info centre for the unemployed in 1980. Initially active in migration, he became the chairperson of the first foreigners advisory council in Rhineland-Palatinate and the founding director of the town’s cultural office. “I read Bloch for the first time at 19, rebelled against old ways of thinking in 1968, listened to Dylan and did a lot of travelling. For me, this is cultural openness put into practice – quite the opposite of holiday.” Kufeld’s most recent journey took him to Myanmar and he wants to see Cambodia next. “Utopie des Reisens” (Utopia of travel) is hence the topic of his doctorate thesis. He wrote it only recently, in 2009. And not because he had to. He wanted to actively participate in the world of “thinkers”, in philosophy as well.

L1080914

 

Kufeld never met Bloch – gladly so. “This has probably enabled me to keep a healthy distance,” he says about the man, for whom he established no memorial, but merely a research laboratory – in a town, which held lots of contradictions for both of them. “Friction releases energy,” Kufeld says, “I enjoy working with this”. For Bloch, the Rhine meant cultural openness. Strolling along the harbour, the rebellious boy wished himself away from his restricted parental home. Later on, he and his friend, the philosopher Georg Lukács, met here and debated for hours.

“Ludwigshafen is one of the first seaside towns inside the country, situated at a sea of non-static future.” This is what Bloch, son of an official, wrote about the working-class town Ludwigshafen.

More precisely, Ernst Bloch was a “royal Bavarian railway official’s son,” because, back then, the Free State of Bavaria stretched all the way to the Rhine. Klaus Kufeld is also a Bavarian. Born in Rottal in 1951, he grew up on a farm. He wrote a book about what this entails – one of already six. “Mir san mir. München, Bayern und der Rest der Welt” (We are who we are. Munich, Bavaria and the rest of the world) communicates the blend of down-to-earth roots and culturally open mind, a trait of himself.

L1080944

 

For Kufeld, ‘home’ is a beautiful and difficult word. He will dedicate an evening talk to it in March. For Bloch, it meant what “shines into everybody’s childhood and where no one has ever been.” He had always kept the Palatinate intonation, tracing back into his hometown, during times that forced the Jew into exile: Bloch sought refuge in Switzerland and later in the US. He moved to the German Democratic Republic and returned to West Germany only in 1961. And he began to search for homes all the more. Mental, philosophical, political homes. This makes the Ludwigshafen philosopher so timeless topical.


Ernst Bloch Zentrum

Wo die Zukunft denkt

Mit 19 liest Klaus Kufeld das erste Mal Ernst Bloch nicht ahnend, dass der berühmte Philosoph in seinem späteren Leben eine zentrale Rolle spielen würde. Seit 20 Jahren leitet Klaus Kufeld nun schon das Bloch-Zentrum in Ludwigshafen. In einer ehemaligen Fabrikantenvilla am Rhein sind nicht nur die Schriften des großen Denkers untergebracht, sondern auch ein Nachbau seines Arbeitszimmers. Zwischen Tabakduft und Adorno kann man dem Ludwigshafener Philosophen ganz nahe kommen.

 

Text, Text, Text. Gestrichen, unterstrichen und umgeschrieben. Es gibt Pfeile in Ernst Blochs Schriften, Randnotizen, Fußnoten und Ergänzungen. Unliniertes Papier, das mit so vielen Änderungen versehen ist, dass wohl nur er selbst den aktuellen Stand kannte. Dazu eine Handschrift, die jeden Lektor verzweifeln ließ: schräg dahingestrichen, kryptisch, klein. Dabei war das, was Blochs „Prinzip Hoffnung“ noch heute auszeichnet, eine einzige große Geste. Eine Aufforderung, das Schicksal selbst in die Hand zu nehmen. Und ein Ende, selbst die Apokalypse, immer auch als Anfang zu verstehen.

L1080860

Mit „gesunder Distanz“ zu Ernst Bloch: Klaus Kufeld im Arbeitszimmer des Philosophen.

 

Klaus Kufeld sitzt an Ernst Blochs Schreibtisch in der Fabrikantenvilla der Ludwigshafener Walzmühle und rückt ein scheinbar dahin geworfenes Tabakpäckchen zurecht. Legt es auf Kante mit einem Brief aus den 60er Jahren. Nach kaltem Pfeifenqualm riecht es hier. Nach altem Papier. In diesem Zimmer ist Bloch noch so präsent, dass es leicht fällt sich vorzustellen, wie sich der Philosoph (1885-1977) durch Texte wühlte. In seinem Ohrensessel mit merkwürdigem Teppichüberwurf wirkte Bloch wie ein Monument – und Klaus Kufeld daneben eher schmal, fast jungenhaft. Dabei ist er seit 20 Jahren Leiter des Bloch-Zentrums ­– und seit November eigentlich im Ruhestand.

L1080903

Das Bloch-Zentrum: ein Ort für Zukunftsthemen und kritische Fragen zur Zeit.

 

„Ich bin ein Herzblutarbeiter“, sagt der 65-Jährige und man glaubt es ihm sofort. Ungeheuer vielfältig ist das Programm des Ludwigshafener Bloch-Zentrums, das sich mit Zukunftsthemen und kritischen Fragen der Zeit beschäftigt. Symposien reihen sich an Lesungen, Ausstellungen, Debatten. Klaus Kufeld verleiht den Ernst-Bloch- und den William-Dieterle-Filmpreis mit und er hat “Die Zukunftsrede“ ins Leben gerufen. All diese Formate laufen über dem Herzstück des Hauses ab, das man durch eine Glasplatte im Fußboden einsehen kann – Blochs Tübinger Arbeitszimmer.

Es war 1995, als Klaus Kufeld zusammen mit Karlheinz Weigand und Peter Ruf eigenhändig Schreibtisch und Sessel, Bücher und Bilder einpackte. Blochs Frau Karola war gerade gestorben und er leitete das Kulturamt der Stadt Ludwigshafen, die schon 1979 ein Bloch-Archiv eingerichtet hatte. Die Konkurrenz um den Nachlass war indes groß, Anfragen kamen aus Berlin und Marbach. „Beim Wohnungsnachlass hätten wir zudem Tübingen den Vortritt gelassen“, erinnert sich Klaus Kufeld. Denn hier hatte Bloch zuletzt gelebt, gelehrt und ein unscheinbares 50er-Jahre-Haus in der Nähe des Hölderlinturms bewohnt: Sogar die biederen Gardinen hat man in Ludwigshafen nacharrangiert.

„Ludwigshafen ist eine der ersten Seestädte auf dem Lande, am Meer einer unstatischen Zukunft gelegen“

Heute besitzt das Bloch-Zentrum nicht nur die Tübinger Wohnungseinrichtung, sondern auch den gesamten erhaltenen Bestand an Werkmanuskripten in 227 Mappen – etwa die Hälfte davon ist noch unveröffentlicht. Dazu alle Erstausgaben, Übersetzungen, aber auch Widmungsexemplare, Zeitschriftenartikel und Interviews. Die „Fügung Bloch“ nennt Kufeld das heute. Und er meint damit nicht das Kultur- und Wissenschaftsinstitut allein, das er noch bis 2018 leitet. Die „Fügung Bloch“ hat auch mit seinem Werdegang zu tun, der alles andere als zielgerichtet verlief – und daher umso geradliniger erscheint.

L1080940

 

Studiert hat Klaus Kufeld Erziehungswissenschaften, Soziologie, Psychologie, Politologie und Volkswirtschaft in München und Regensburg, ehe er als Leiter der Beratungsstelle für Erwerbslose 1980 nach Ludwigshafen kam. Zuerst war er in der Migrationsarbeit tätig, wurde Geschäftsführer des ersten Ausländerbeirats in Rheinland-Pfalz und Gründungsleiter des Kulturbüros der Stadt. „Ich habe Bloch das erste Mal mit 19 gelesen, in den 68ern gegen alte Denkmuster rebelliert, Bob Dylan gehört, für Straubing höherklassig Schach gespielt und war ständig auf Reisen. Das ist für mich praktizierte Weltoffenheit – und das Gegenteil von Urlaub.“ Zuletzt war Klaus Kufeld in Myanmar, als nächstes will er Patagonien sehen. Über die „Die Reise als Utopie“ hat er auch seine Promotion geschrieben. Erst 2009 und nicht, weil man das von ihm verlangt hätte. Nicht nur Kulturmanager, auch ein „Mitdenker“ wollte er sein, auch in der Philosophie.

L1080914

 

Ernst Bloch selbst ist er nie begegnet – und ist froh darum. „Vielleicht war mir so eine gesunde Distanz möglich“, sagt er über den Mann, dem er keine Gedenkstätte eingerichtet hat, sondern eine Art Denkfabrik – in einer Stadt, die für beide voller Widersprüche steckt. „Reibung setzt Energie frei“, sagt Kufeld, „damit arbeite ich gern“. Für Bloch stand der Rhein für Weltoffenheit. Bei Spaziergängen im Hafen träumte sich der aufsässige Junge aus der Enge seines Elternhauses weg. Später diskutierte er hier stundenlang mit seinem Freund, dem Philosophen Georg Lukácz bei gemeinsamen Ausflügen.

„Ludwigshafen ist eine der ersten Seestädte auf dem Lande, am Meer einer unstatischen Zukunft gelegen“, hat Ernst Bloch, der Beamtensohn, über die Arbeiterstadt Ludwigshafen geschrieben.

Genau gesagt war Bloch ein „königlich bayrischer Bahnbeamtensohn“, denn damals reichte der Freistaat noch bis an den Rhein. Auch Klaus Kufeld ist Bayer. Geboren 1951 in Rottal, aufgewachsen auf einem Bauernhof. Was das bedeutet, darüber hat er ein Buch geschrieben – eines von inzwischen sechs. „Mir san mir. München, Bayern und der Rest der Welt“ erzählt von der Mischung aus Bodenständigkeit und Weltoffenheit, die auch ihn ausmache.

L1080944

 

Heimat ist für ihn ein schönes, ein schwieriges Wort. Klaus Kufeld widmet ihm ab März mehrere Gesprächsabende. Für Bloch war sie das, „was allen in die Kindheit scheint und worin noch niemand war“. Als deutliche Spur in seine Geburtsstadt hat er immer seinen pfälzischen Tonfall behalten in einer Zeit, die den Juden zum Vertriebenen machte: Bloch flüchtete in die Schweiz, dann in die USA. Er zog in die DDR und kehrte erst 1961 nach Westdeutschland zurück. Und begann umso intensiver, nach Heimaten zu suchen. Nach gedanklichen, philosophischen, politischen. Und das macht den Ludwigshafener Philosophen so zeitlos aktuell.


Ernst Bloch Zentrum