Where the streets have no names

In the east of Mannheim you can find a very special place. More than 40 houses spread over several streets. Bungalows, modern wooden blockhouses, elegant city villas. No-one lives here – but more than 100,000 people come and go each year. A visit to the model town where the streets have no names. 

In house no. 7 the morning begins like almost everywhere: in slow motion. The aroma of freshly brewed espresso wafts in through the designer kitchen. Two ducks quack on the terrace, the sun comes blazing in through the wide open front door. A middle-aged couple enters the house hesitatingly. Their eyes scrutinisingly directed at the floor tiles, at fittings, at windows. It is getting busy now in the neighbouring houses, too – that is to say, in the round about 40 prototype houses of the “Deutscher Fertighaus Center” (German prefabricated houses center) – but life somehow has a different feel here.

“The rush will increase until noon,” Gerhard Froböse says. “And at the weekends, it is really crowded here.” He should know, since he is the building consultant and thus spends a lot of time in sample house no. 7. The building is modern and it is, of course, also tastefully furnished. This is a good place to work. And live.

L1010196

Froböse advises the customers who want to buy a house from the company he works for. The 58-year-old man is one of the few people who spend a great deal of their life in the model house park at the periphery of Mannheim. Change is part of the daily routine in the quarter which is run by the MEAG, the “Mannheimer Eigenheim-Ausstellungs-Gesellschaft” (a Mannheim-based real estate exhibition company). Houses are built, modified, renovated or entirely exchanged.

L1010167

“I have been working here for twelve years. And this is, after all, the third house now I receive customers in,” Froböse says smilingly. That the streets have no names, that there is no bakery and no supermarket around the corner does not bother him. Since it eventually was about showing the divers possibilities of prefabricated housing to the customers.

The average price of a prefabricated house without basement ranges between 230,000 and 250,000 euros. More exclusive is, of course, always possible. There are two simple family houses next to luxurious villas and glazed bungalows in the prefab residential estate. “It is of course about people’s individual needs and their financial possibilities,” Froböse says. Mainly young families and older people are interested in the houses, which are constructed quickly using the modular principle and are designed according to the customers’ wishes.

Sometimes, however, visitors enter the “accessible construction plan” for very different reasons, as Gerhard Froböse tells us. Just a few days ago, a young man after some excessive partying at the neighbouring exhibition premises stepped into the model house in the morning simply to take a rest. “He was hardly able to stand, let alone to drive. We then spontaneously prepared a bed for him in one of the self-contained flats. Around noon, he was fit again,” the construction advisor tells us.

L1010186

Prefabricated houses have been on display in Mannheim as early as the 1960s. At that time, the inexpensive houses were located on the grounds of the trade fair called “Maimarkt” (meaning May market) in Mannheim at the Friedensplatz. In 1984, the buildings were moved to the site next to the current Maimarkt grounds in Neuostheim.

Anyway, the “Maimarkt”. This regional fair plays a crucial role with regard to the success of the residential estate of model houses.

During the Maimarkt period, thousands of visitors come streaming into the residential estate every day, Stefany Goschmann, the managing director of the Mannheim-based exhibition company, reports. The fact that the assemblage of about 40 houses actually cannot be thought of as a ghost town with creaking doors through which the wind comes blowing is also strikingly proven by the figures regularly published by the BDF, the “Bundesverband Deutscher Fertigbau” (an association of manufacturers of prefabricated buildings). Within a year, more than 100,000 visitors come into the show houses fabricated by about 30 different producers on the grounds of the Fertighaus Center. According to the BDF, the estate thus belongs to the frontrunners among the comparable exhibitions in Germany. The major part of the customers travels a distance of about 100 kilometers.

Stefany Goschmann’s father, Kurt Langer, had organised the Maimarkt since 1962 – together with his business partner Fritz Glunk – on behalf of the city of Mannheim. And it was him, too, who conceptionalised, developed and established the Fertighaus Center in Mannheim decades ago. And this also explains the passion with which the current managing director Goschmann talks about her father’s idea. An idea showing its effect right up until and surely also beyond the present day, as the committed lady from the Electoral Palatinate region proudly stresses. Since topics like barrier-free living, energy efficiency or calculable fixed prices are becoming more and more important, it is not surprising that the market share of prefabricated houses in Germany has amounted to 13 percent by now.

L1010141

The model town coincides with her family history: Stefany Goschmann, managing director of the die Mannheim-based exhibition company.

Now and again the history of the Mannheim-based center was characterised by extraordinary and exiting stories written by life itself. Once, a sensation was caused by the Jordanian minister of public housing when he after having taken a walk through the site just like that ordered numerous prefabricated housing parts and assembly units for schools, residential and public buildings worth 80 million German Marks back then. And when in 2015 the number of refugees in Germany was steadily increasing, the city of Mannheim asked the exhibitors as a precaution if a fast and short-termed accommodation of the people was possible.

L1010162

But the surreal appearing estate also plays a special role beyond political topics. “We live in a huge office village here, so to speak. And especially during the Maimarkt visitors are at first quite surprised to find entirely furnished houses with a vibrant office life,” one of the building consultants says. It is indeed not so unusual for families to spend quite some time with their children in one of the sample houses and actually feel so much at home there that they almost do not want to leave anymore. It all happened here, at this place where streets have no names.


www.deutsches-fertighaus-center.de

Wo die Straßen keine Namen haben

Im Mannheimer Osten gibt es einen ganz besonderen Ort. Über 40 Häuser, auf mehrere Straßenzüge verteilt. Bungalows, moderne Holzblockhäuser, elegante Stadtvillen. Niemand wohnt hier – aber über 100.000 Menschen gehen pro Jahr ein und aus. Ein Besuch in der Musterstadt, in der die Straßen keine Namen haben.

In Haus Nummer 7 beginnt der Morgen wie fast überall: in Zeitlupe. Der Duft von frisch gebrühtem Espresso weht durch die Designerküche. Zwei Enten schnattern auf der Terrasse, durch die weit geöffnete Eingangstür strahlt die Sonne. Ein Paar mittleren Alters betritt zögernd das Haus. Prüfende Blicke treffen auf Bodenkacheln, auf Armaturen, auf Fenster. Auch in den Nachbarhäusern, genauer gesagt in den rund 40 Musterhäusern des Deutschen Fertighaus Centers wird es jetzt lebhaft – und doch fühlt sich das Leben hier irgendwie anders an.

„Bis heute Mittag wird der Andrang immer stärker“, sagt Gerhard Froböse. „Und an den Wochenenden wird es hier richtig voll“. Er muss es wissen, denn als Bauberater verbringt er ziemlich viel Zeit in Musterhaus Nummer 7. Das Gebäude ist modern und es ist natürlich auch geschmackvoll eingerichtet. Hier lässt es sich arbeiten. Und leben.

L1010196

Für das Unternehmen, bei dem Froböse angestellt ist, berät er die Kunden beim Hauskauf. Der 58-Jährige ist einer der wenigen Menschen, die einen großen Teil ihres Lebens in diesem Musterhaus-Park am Mannheimer Stadtrand verbringen. Dabei gehört Veränderung zum Alltag in dem Viertel, das von der Mannheimer Eigenheim-Ausstellungs-Gesellschaft (MEAG) betrieben wird. Häuser werden gebaut, umgebaut, renoviert oder gleich ganz ausgetauscht.

L1010167

„Ich arbeite seit zwölf Jahren hier. Und immerhin ist das mittlerweile das dritte Haus, in dem ich Kunden empfange“, sagt Froböse mit einem Schmunzeln. Dass die Straßen hier keine Namen tragen, kein Bäcker und kein Supermarkt um die Ecke liegt, stört ihn nicht. Schließlich gehe es darum, den Besuchern die vielfältigen Möglichkeiten des Fertigbaus zu präsentieren.

Der Durchschnittspreis für ein Fertighaus ohne Keller beträgt zwischen 230.000 und 250.000 Euro.Natürlich geht es immer auch exklusiver. Neben schlichten Zwei-Familienhäusern stehen in der Fertighaus-Siedlung auch luxuriöse Villen und verglaste Bungalows. „Natürlich geht es um die individuellen Bedürfnisse der Menschen und ihre finanziellen Möglichkeiten“, sagt Froböse. Vor allem junge Familien und ältere Menschen interessierten sich für die Häuser, die nach dem Baukastenprinzip schnell aufgebaut und nach den Wünschen der Kunden gestaltet werden.

Doch manchmal betreten die Besucher auch aus ganz anderen Gründen die „begehbaren Baupläne“ sagt Gerhard Froböse. Erst vor wenigen Tagen sei morgens ein junger Mann nach einer ausschweifenden Feier auf dem benachbarten Messegelände in das Musterhaus gekommen, um sich einfach mal auszuruhen. „Stehen konnte er kaum noch, fahren sowieso nicht. Da haben wir ihm einfach ein Bett in der Einlieger-Wohnung überlassen. Mittags war er wieder fit“, erzählt der Bauberater.

L1010186

Präsentiert werden Fertighäuser in Mannheim schon seit den 1960er Jahren. Zunächst standen die damals günstigen Häuser auf dem Maimarktgelände am Friedensplatz, 1984 zogen die Gebäude in das Areal neben dem heutigen Maimarktgelände in Neuostheim um.

Überhaupt, der Maimarkt. Die Regionalmesse spielt eine wesentliche Rolle, wenn es um den Erfolg dieser Musterhaus-Siedlung geht.

Während des Maimarkts strömen täglich Tausende in die Siedlung, berichtet Stefany Goschmann, die Geschäftsführerin der Mannheimer Ausstellungsgesellschaft. Dass es sich bei der Ansammlung von den etwa 40 Häusern nicht gerade um eine Geisterstadt handelt, durch die der Wind fegt und in der die Türen knarzen, das belegen auch eindrucksvoll die Zahlen, die der Bundesverband Deutscher Fertigbau (BDF) regelmäßig veröffentlicht. In den Musterhäusern der etwa 30 verschiedenen Hersteller auf dem Areal des Fertighaus-Centers tummeln sich innerhalb eines Jahres mehr als 100.000 Besucher. Damit, so der BDF, liegt die Siedlung seit Jahren in der Spitzengruppe vergleichbarer Ausstellungen in Deutschland. Der Großteil der Kundschaft reist aus einem Umkreis von etwa 100 Kilometern an.

Der Vater von Stefany Goschmann, Kurt Langer, hatte den Maimarkt seit 1962 – gemeinsam mit seinem Geschäftspartner Fritz Glunk – im Auftrag der Stadt Mannheim organisiert. Er war es auch, der das Fertighaus Center in Mannheim vor Jahrzehnten erdacht, entwickelt und etabliert hatte. Das erklärt auch die Leidenschaft, mit der die heutige Geschäftsführerin Goschmann über die Idee ihres Vaters spricht. Eine Idee, die bis in die Gegenwart und sicher auch darüber hinaus eine Wirkung habe, wie die überzeugte Kurpfälzerin stolz betont. Da Themen wie etwa barrierefreies Wohnen, Energieeffizienz oder kalkulierbare Festpreise immer virulenter werden, verwundert es wenig, dass der Marktanteil der Fertighäuser in Deutschland bereits 13 Prozent beträgt.

L1010141

Die Musterstadt ist für Sie Familiengeschichte: Stefany Goschmann, die Geschäftsführerin der Mannheimer Ausstellungsgesellschaft.

Immer wieder wurde die Geschichte des Mannheimer Centers auch durch skurrile und spannende Geschichten des Alltags geprägt. Aufsehen erregte einst der jordanische Minister für öffentliche Bauten, der nach einem Rundgang zahlreiche Fertighausteile und Montageeinheiten für Schulen, Wohnhäuser und öffentliche Bauten mal eben im Wert von damals 80 Millionen Mark bestellte. Und als 2015 die Zahl der Flüchtlinge in Deutschland permanent nach oben ging, habe sich die Stadt bei den Ausstellern vorsorglich erkundigt, ob eine schnelle, kurzfristige Unterbringung der Menschen möglich sei.

L1010162

Auch abseits politischer Themen spielt die surreal anmutende Siedlung eine Sonderrolle. „Wir leben hier sozusagen in einem großen Bürodorf. Und gerade während des Maimarkts reagieren die Besucher doch erst einmal überrascht, dass sie hier komplett eingerichtete Häuser vorfinden, in denen reges Büroleben herrscht“, sagt eine Bauberaterin. Tatsächlich ist es keine Seltenheit, dass die Familien mit ihren Kindern längere Zeit in einem der Musterhäuser verbringen und sich oft so zu Hause fühlen, dass sie gar nicht mehr nach Hause wollen. Alles schon passiert an dem Ort, wo die Straßen keine Namen haben.


www.deutsches-fertighaus-center.de