Tobias Schächter / translated by C. Maier-RezicRicardo Wiesinger

Get a kick out of soccergolf

There it is, the soccer ball—which has to be shot through a tyre from a distance of 20 metres and kicked into a hole. Sounds like a walk in the park? Perhaps for Palatinate Alex Kober, the multiple world and European champion of a game that brings two types of sport together at the Soccerpark Dirmstein, because, as the name indicates, soccergolf fuses soccer and golf.

 

Enjoying a cup of coffee on the terrace, you can let your eyes wander all the way over the vineyards of Dirmstein and the two 18-hole soccer courses blending harmoniously into the Eastern Palatinate landscape. Here, in the Leininger Land area near Grünstadt, Alex Kober made his dream come true in July 2006, building the first “Soccerpark” in Germany.

Alex Kober with daughter Maja.

After that, everything went very fast: Already in 2007, the first soccergolf world championships took place here with 50 competitors from all over Europe—and Alex Kober won straightaway. With this sport as well as the world championships being more popular now, the number of competitors had to be limited to 250.

“Football players especially tend to be overconfident,” Alex Kober says smiling, referring to the distinct sportsmanlike ambition of die-hard soccergolf players. His own ambition is another aspect of his success story, since besides his ambitions as a sportsman he is even more driven by another idea: He wants to upgrade the status of soccergolf, which currently plays only a minor role, transferring it from a fun sport into a mass sport.

After having worked in the fashion industry for many years, he had the financial resources as well as the time necessary to make his vision of soccergolf and soccerparks come true. He went back to his hometown of Dirmstein and began his mission. Eleven years have gone by since, and Kober is convinced that soccergolf has a great future ahead. “The target group is gigantic,” he says.

“People of all ages can work out in the fresh air—advanced players as well as children and families.”

More than 30,000 people come to visit the tranquil wine village each year to play and train. National football coach Joachim Löw, too, accompanied by his assistant Thomas Schneider enjoyed playing on the course in Dirmstein—and often football pros from Hoffenheim or Kaiserslautern can be spotted here, as well. On a fine summer’s day, they are all here—from toddlers to pensioners. “There is one man over 70 who comes every day,” Kober says, very much pleased about the fact that the facility in Dirmstein is a magnet for people of the entire Rhine-Neckar Metropolitan Region.

Methods differ. Some people just start to play like football players trying to overcome obstacles with passes learned from playing football. A bit more experienced soccergolfers played more strategically, Alex Kober says; and more often with the tip of the foot. This makes soccergolfers somewhat look like TIPP-KICK players.

It was incredible to him that no one came up with the idea of soccerparks before, the entrepreneur says. The 46 year old meanwhile runs eleven soccergolf facilities in Germany together with his firm. In August, the Soccerpark Rhein-Neckar opened in St. Leon-Rot. He believes that Germany could have soccerparks nationwide every 50 kilometres—without competing with each other.

Sometimes, however, Kober’s entrepreneurial spirit is confronted with obstacles. Planning a facility, convincing decision makers and property owners and finally building a soccerpark are all components of a process, which can take years and is not always crowned with success.

But from the Palatinate town Dirmstein he now operates internationally—recently planning a project in Romania. There were hundreds of inquiries during the last years; because of his know-how he had increasingly been asked to do the initial consultation on building new soccerparks. Already in 2009, the man from Dirmstein was distinguished by the Federal President Horst Köhler and the initiative “Deutschland—Land der Ideen” (Germany—The Country of Ideas).

The major breakthrough, though, has not yet come—sponsors are still reluctant to commit fully. The soccergolf aces cannot earn money from what they do. Even the major tournaments have prices that cover the travel costs and expenses at the most. The mainly in England very popular footgolf, which differs from soccergolf only in details, has become a major rival in the meantime. Kober wants to bring together the associations of both sports to advance professionalism. In spite of all the difficulties Kober says with confidence: “The day will come on which soccergolf will be marketed professionally.”

According to Kober, the sport is still too greatly predominated by men, but there is hope that more women could become soccergolf enthusiasts in the future. The best example for this is sitting on the terrace of the Soccerpark Dirmstein. Alex Kober’s daughter Maja—in contrast to her younger brother— is infected by her father’s soccergolf virus. The 15-year-old girl won the German championships in the last year. But she would never train with her father, she says laughing: “This is just not possible.”

While Alex Kober says goodbye to us and leaves to get the cups for the next tournament, his daughter invites us to a little training session. To kick the ball through this big tyre is no small feat and can exasperate even experienced soccergolfers. Maja Kober, however, first plays the ball into the accurate position, before she coolly kicks it through the tyre. She gets her kick out of soccergolf, to be sure.


www.soccerpark-dirmstein.de

Wenn das Runde nicht ins Eckige muss

Da liegt er, der Fußball – und muss in 20 Metern Entfernung durch einen Reifen geschossen und in ein Loch gekickt werden. Leichte Übung? Vielleicht für den Pfälzer Alex Kober, der mehrfache Welt- und Europameister in einem Spiel ist, das im Soccerpark Dirmstein zwei Sportarten vereint: im Fußballgolf verschmelzen Fußball und Golf.

 

Bei einem Kaffee auf der Terrasse streift der Blick weit über die Dirmsteiner Weinberge und zwei 18 Loch-Soccer-Bahnen, die sich harmonisch in die vorderpfälzische Landschaft schmiegen. Hier, im Leininger Land bei Grünstadt, hat Alex Kober im Juli 2006 seinen Traum verwirklicht und den ersten Soccerpark Deutschlands eröffnet.

Alex Kober und Tochter Maja.

Und dann ging alles Schlag auf Schlag: schon 2007 fand hier die erste Fußballgolf-Weltmeisterschaft mit 50 Teilnehmern aus ganz Europa statt – und Alex Kober hat sie auf Anhieb gewonnen. Die Sportart und die Weltmeisterschaft wurden inzwischen populärer – die Teilnehmerzahl ist inzwischen auf 250 Spieler begrenzt.

„Vor allem Fußballer neigen zur Selbstüberschätzung“, sagt Alex Kober und lächelt bei dieser Anspielung auf den ausgeprägten sportlichen Ehrgeiz eingefleischter Soccergolf-Spieler. Sein eigener Ehrgeiz ist ein anderer Aspekt seiner Erfolgsgeschichte, denn neben den sportlichen Ambitionen treibt ihn eine andere Idee noch viel stärker an: Er will Fußballgolf aus der Nische holen und von einem Funsport zu einem Breitensport entwickeln.

Nachdem er lange Jahre in der Modebranche gearbeitet hat, waren die Zeit und das Geld da, um seine Vision vom Fußballgolf und den Soccerparks zu verwirklichen. Er kehrte zurück in sein Heimatdorf Dirmstein und begann seine Mission. Elf Jahre ist das jetzt her und Kober glaubt, dass dem Fußballgolf eine große Zukunft bevorsteht. „Die Zielgruppe ist gigantisch“, sagt er.

„Menschen aller Altersgruppen können an der frischen Luft Sport treiben – Fortgeschrittene ebenso wie Kinder und Familien.“

Jährlich pilgern nun über 30.000 Menschen in das beschauliche Weindorf, um hier zu spielen und zu trainieren. Auch Fußball-Nationaltrainer Joachim Löw und dessen Assistent Thomas Schneider gönnten sich in Dirmstein schon eine Runde – und oft sind auch Profifußballer aus Hoffenheim oder Kaiserslautern zu Gast. Und an einem schönen Sommertag? Sind vom Kleinkind bis zum Rentner alle am Start. „Wir haben einen über 70-Jährigen, der jeden Tag kommt“, sagt Kober und freut sich, dass die Anlage in Dirmstein Menschen aus der ganzen Metropolregion Rhein-Neckar anzieht.

Die Techniken sind verschieden. Manche spielen wie Fußballer drauf los und versuchen Hindernisse mit im Fußball gelernten Pässen zu überwinden. Etwas erfahrenere Fußballgolfer spielten mehr mit Strategie, sagt Alex Kober. Und öfter auch mal mit der Picke, das sieht dann aus, als sei der Fußballgolfer eine Tipp-Kick-Figur.

Es sei ihm ein Rätsel, warum niemand vor ihm auf die Idee mit den Soccerparks gekommen sei, sagt der Unternehmer. Mittlerweile betreibt der 46-Jährige mit seiner Firma elf Socceranlagen in Deutschland, im August eröffnete in St. Leon-Rot der Soccerpark Rhein-Neckar. Er glaubt, Deutschland vertrage flächendeckend Soccerparks in einem Abstand von rund 50 Kilometern – ohne sich gegenseitig Konkurrenz zu machen.

Manchmal aber stößt Kobers Unternehmergeist auch an Grenzen. Eine Anlage zu planen, Entscheidungsträger und Grundstückbesitzer zu überzeugen und schließlich zu bauen, ist ein Prozess, der Jahre dauern kann und auch nicht immer von Erflog gekrönt ist.

Doch vom pfälzischen Dirmstein aus agiert er mittlerweile weltweit – zuletzt plante er ein Projekt in Rumänien. Es habe in den letzten Jahren hunderte Anfragen gegeben und durch seinen Know-How-Vorsprung sei er immer häufiger Erstberater in Sachen Soccerpark-Neubau. Schon 2009 wurde der Dirmsteiner vom damaligen Bundespräsidenten Horst Köhler und der Initiative „Deutschland – Land der Ideen“ ausgezeichnet.

Dennoch ist der ganz große Durchbruch noch nicht gelungen – das Engagement der Sponsoren hält sich in Grenzen. Geld verdienen können die Cracks im Fußballgolf nicht. Auch die großen Turniere werfen Preisgelder ab, die höchstens die Reise- und Spesenkosten decken. Konkurrenz macht mittlerweile auch das vor allem in England populäre Footgolf, das sich vom Fußballgolf nur in Nuancen entscheidet. Kober will beide Verbände zusammenbringen, um die Professionalisierung weiter voranzutreiben. Trotz aller Schwierigkeiten sagt Kober überzeugt: „Der Tag wird kommen, an dem Fußballgolf professionell vermarktet wird.“

Und noch sei der Sport zu männerlastig, doch es bestehe Hoffnung, künftig mehr Frauen für das Spiel zu begeistern. Das beste Beispiel dafür sitzt auf der Terrasse im Dirmsteiner Soccerpark. Alex Kobers Tochter Maja ist im Gegensatz zu ihrem jüngeren Bruder vom Fußballgolf-Virus des Vaters infiziert. Die 15-Jährige gewann im vergangenen Jahr die Deutsche Meisterschaft. Aber nie, sagt sie lachend, würde sie mit ihrem Vater trainieren: „Das geht einfach nicht.“

Während Alex Kober sich verabschiedet und die Pokale für das nächste Turnier abholt, lädt die Tochter zur kleinen Trainingsrunde. Durch so einen großen Reifen zu schießen, ist kein Kinderspiel und kann ungeübte Fußballgolfer in die Verzweiflung treiben. Maja Kober aber spielt den Ball zunächst geschickt in Position – bevor sie ihn kalt lächelnd durch den Reifen schießt.


www.soccerpark-dirmstein.de