Palatinate sea breeze

Sea air in the Palatinate – how the new Saline graduation works has transformed Bad Dürkheim.

In the spring of 2007, a massive fire breaks out. Sirens wail through Bad Dürkheim early in the morning and a gleam of red light flickers ominously above the vineyards. The Saline, the graduation works located at the Wurstmarktgelände (sausage market grounds), is engulfed in flames. A good 330 metres of brushwood are ablaze. Sandstone pillars are the only remnants of the construction that had burnt down in parts 15 years ago already and that was rebuilt through hard work. “It was unbelievable, the entire construction fell victim to the fire,” head of the building control department, Dieter Petry, recalls. The next morning when he was summoned there, it became apparent it was a crime scene. Arson. The perpetrators went to prison. The brushwood burnt like tinder and hastened the fire. The last of the remaining six graduation works for which Bad Dürkheim, since 1847, had had its reputation as a salt producer and later as a salt air producer, disappeared from the townscape in a flash.

l1070644

The Bad Dürkheim town council and the mayor at the time, Wolfgang Lutz, decided to rebuild it without hesitation. The council took on the ambitious task after the federal state of Rhineland-Palatinate had declined to assume any responsibility. A powerful citizenry movement arose. The project was driven forward by a support association, which had already been involved in the first fire disaster. And even today, the association under the direction of Petra Dick-Walther is first in line when it comes to maintaining the Saline. At the moment, the graduation works association is committed to raising funds for the replacement of the 160 stone pillars of the construction.

“Graduation works are unique structures,” Dieter Petry recalls of the time when the Saline had to be reconstructed. “It started in May 2009. The construction had to be rebuilt entirely. A new technique was required in order to make the salty air blow through the construction again.” Brine spraying enriches the air with microscopic salt particles. It works today in a manner true to how the original from the 18th century did – with wooden taps.

A total of 158 lorry loads transported countless tons of brushwood worth 2.4 million euro to Europe’s biggest timber construction site. Today, the building proudly displays a sun deck, an observation deck and two portals, ten metres high and twelve metres wide that open up to provide expansive views. A café is located in the southern tower and a photovoltaic system, which could handle the annual electricity consumption of about 70 households, sits enthroned atop the roof.

l1070635

“The total cost of the construction was 5.6 million euro – which is below the projected costs,” Dieter Petry says. Every day, he was at the construction site, collaborating with the architects and tradesmen on new methods for the salt water to trickle along the brushwood smoothly.

Ever since, Palatinate inhabitants no longer have to travel to the North Sea for a gentle sea breeze along with a glass of Riesling. Bad Dürkheim now offers visitors a chance to recharge themselves, to stroll along the pretty, new salt air filling station and fill their lungs with its fresh breezes. About 100,000 visitors enjoy the amenities annually. Before the fire, only 25,000 came.

It’s simply the best thing you can do for your lungs, according to confirmed Saline fans. When they are visiting their graduation works they tend to stop over at Isenach river. Meandering from the heart of the Palatinate Forest, the stream has been partially uncovered for a few years now, after having led a shadowy existence in sewer pipes underneath the town for a long time. It was a huge project, driven forward with great commitment by the district council and realized through the dedication and participation of the locals. About 20 organisations and several hundred individuals supported the project, under the slogan “We take part.” “We have uncovered the stream along a 1.5 kilometre long stretch. It now flows through the Kurpark (health resort gardens) giving it a totally new quality,” says civil engineer Steffen Wietschorke, who is the person in charge for the project at the building control department.

l1070634

The Isenach winds its way along the graduation works once again and returns a beautiful piece of nature to the town. To date, the project has cost 8.6 million euro. It is a worthwhile investment, because uncovering the Isenach is both a practical and aesthetical improvement. On the one hand, flood protection matters are taken into account through relief and expansion and on the other hand, the place is enhanced ecologically and visually because of the stream’s natural design. All in all, along with the Saline, a magnificent ensemble has been established, consisting of 13 bridges, a waterworks playground and a water wheel. If initial returns are any indication, people are embracing it. Visitors stroll along the stream, take their dogs for a walk or go jogging, while children play at the water’s edge and school classes come here for a trip.

l1070692

The dedication of the people and the council succeeded in creating a touristic highlight. Today, visitors from the region and from throughout Germany see Bad Dürkheim as being more vivid, vigorous and healthy than ever – just like the inhabitants of Bad Dürkheim, who have rediscovered their town, do. A place with a fresh sea breeze in the midst of vineyards.


Gradierbau Bad Dürkheim

Pfälzer Meeresbrise

Seeluft in der Pfalz – wie die neue Saline Bad Dürkheim verändert hat.

Das Feuer schlägt unerwartet zu im Frühjahr 2007. Die Sirenen heulen am frühen Morgen durch Bad Dürkheim, ein roter Lichtschein flackert gespenstisch über die Weinberge. Die Saline, der Gradierbau am Wurstmarktgelände steht in Flammen. 330 Meter Reisig brennen lichterloh. Von dem Bauwerk, das schon 15 Jahre zuvor teilweise niedergebrannt war und mühsam wieder aufgebaut wurde, stehen am Ende nur noch die Sandsteinpfeiler.  „Es war unfassbar, das ganze Bauwerk ein Opfer der Flammen“, erinnert sich Bauamtsleiter Dieter Petry an den Morgen danach, als er zum Tatort gerufen wurde. Brandstiftung – die Täter wandern in den Knast. Das Reisig brannte wie Zunder und wirkte wie ein Brandbeschleuniger. Der letzte von einst sechs Gradierbauten, mit denen Bad Dürkheim seit 1847 seinen Ruf als Salz- und später als Salzluft-Produzent begründete, war über Nacht aus dem Stadtbild verschwunden.

l1070644

Der Wiederaufbau stand für den Bad Dürkheimer Stadtrat und den damaligen Bürgermeister Wolfgang Lutz schnell fest. Die Stadt übernahm die ehrgeizige Aufgabe, nachdem das Land Rheinland-Pfalz sich aus der Verantwortung zurückgezogen hatte. Und es entstand eine breite Bewegung in der Bürgerschaft. Der Förderverein, der sich schon bei der ersten Brandkatastrophe engagiert hatte, trieb das Projekt voran. Auch heute ist der Förderverein unter der Leitung von Petra Dick-Walther noch an erster Stelle mit dabei, wenn es gilt, die Saline in Schuss zu halten. Derzeit kümmert sich der Gradierbauverein darum, Geld für den Austausch der 160 steinernen Pfeiler an der Saline zu sammeln.

„Gradierbauten sind Unikate“, sagt Dieter Petry und erzählt von der Zeit, als die Saline wieder neu aufgebaut werden musste. „Im Mai 2009 ging‘s los. Das war damals ein echter Neubau. Eine ganz neue Technik musste her, um die Salzluft, wieder durch den Gradierbau wehen zu lassen.“ Die Berieselung mit Sole, durch die die Anreicherung der Luft mit mikroskopisch kleinen Solepartikeln erfolgt, funktioniert heute wieder originalgetreu wie im 18. Jahrhundert – mit Bierhähnen aus Holz.

Genau 158 LKW-Ladungen mit unzähligen Tonnen von Reisig im Wert von 2,4 Millionen Euro rollten damals zu Europas größter Holzbaustelle.

Heute präsentiert sich das Bauwerk mit Sonnenterrasse und Aussichtsplattform, zwei zehn Meter hohen und zwölf Meter breiten Portalen, die großzügige Durchblicke gewähren. Im Südturm befindet sich ein Café, auf dem Dach thront eine Photovoltaikanlage, die den Jahresstrombedarf von rund 70 Haushalten decken könnte.

l1070635

„Insgesamt hat das Bauwerk 5,6 Millionen Euro gekostet – und wir sind sogar unter den geplanten Kosten geblieben“, sagt Dieter Petry. Jeden Tag war er auf der Baustelle, entwickelte mit den Architekten und den Handwerkern immer wieder neue Methoden, damit das Salzwasser wieder geschmeidig über das Reisig läuft.

Seitdem muss kein Pfälzer mehr an die Nordsee – die Meeresbrise zum Riesling bekommt man jetzt auch in Bad Dürkheim. An der schicken neuen Salzluft-Tankstelle entlang flanieren und mit frischen Aerosolen die Atemwege durchpusten – das genießen heute rund 100.000 Besucher pro Jahr. Vor dem Brand waren es gerade mal 25.000.

Salinen dienten ursprünglich viele Jahre zur Gewinnung von Kochsalz.

Es gibt kaum etwas Besseres, um die Bronchien auf Vordermann zu bringen, sagen eingeschworene Salinenfans, die bei ihren Gradierbau-Visiten meist auch einen Zwischenstopp an der Isenach einlegen.  Der Bach aus dem Herzen des Pfälzerwalds, der sein Schattendasein lange in Abwasserrohren unterhalb der Stadt fristete, ist seit einigen Jahren an vielen Stellen wieder freigelegt worden. Ein Riesenprojekt, das vom Gemeinderat mit großem Engagement vorangetrieben und mit hoher Bürgerbeteiligung umgesetzt wurde. Unter dem Motto „Wir machen mit“ beteiligten sich rund 20 Organisationen und mehrere hundert Einzelpersonen an dem Projekt.  „Wir haben das Gewässer auf 1,5 Kilometern freigelegt, es fließt durch den Kurpark und hat ihm eine ganz neue Qualität gegeben“, sagt der Bauingenieur Steffen Wietschorke, der das Projekt im Bauamt betreut.

l1070634

Die Isenach schlängelt sich heute wieder entlang des Gradierbaus und bringt ein wunderbares Stück Natur zurück in die Stadt. 8,6 Millionen Euro hat das Projekt bis jetzt gekostet. Die Investition hat sich gelohnt, denn die Offenlegung der Isenach hat sowohl praktische, als auch optische Vorteile. Einerseits werden durch die Entlastung und die Vergrößerung die Belange des Hochwasserschutzes berücksichtigt, gleichzeitig wird durch die naturnahe Gestaltung des Gewässers eine ökologische wie auch gestalterische Aufwertung erreicht. Mit der Saline ist so ein wundervolles Ensemble mit insgesamt 13 Brücken, einem Wasserspielplatz und einem Wasserrad entstanden.  Und es wird von den Menschen angenommen. Besucher flanieren am Flüsschen entlang, führen Hunde spazieren und joggen, Kinder spielen am Wasser, Schulklassen machen Ausflüge hierher.

l1070692

Mit dem Engagement der Bürger und des Gemeinderates wurde ein touristisches Highlight geschaffen. – und kein Zweifel: heute fühlt sich Bad Dürkheim für Kurgäste und Besucher aus der Region und ganz Deutschland noch lebendiger, vitaler und gesünder an – aber auch für die Dürkheimer, die ihre Stadt neu entdeckt haben. An einem Platz mit frischer Meeresbrise – mitten in den Weinbergen.


Gradierbau Bad Dürkheim