Annika Wind / translated by C. Maier-RezicClaus Geiss

In the cosmos of reptiles

At eighteen, Uwe Wünstel moved out of home – not for a woman, but for a snake. Today he runs Europe’s biggest reptile zoo in the city of Landau.

A snake such as Albert could be used as a necklace. At least for a short moment. He has proved it many times. The male black-tailed python had been positioned on lightly dressed female skin and published in the magazines “Playboy” and “Vogue”. This afternoon, however, there will be no photo shoot with the yellow and white albino snake. He is dozing composing himself on the fork of a tree and his zoo keeper Uwe Wünstel is watching him from the other side of the terrarium pane. “I saw him hatching out of his egg,” the director of the reptile house “Reptilium” in Landau tells us almost lovingly. Not quite like a father, he says, but if he felt a bond between him and one of the animals, it would be Albert.

Reptilium_Wünstel-und-Boa_Foto-Claus-Geiss_VRRN

Cuddling: “Reptilium” director Uwe Wünstel with Playboy model python Albert.

A reptile is not at all a cuddly toy, but it is the passion of a man who built up the biggest reptile zoo in Europe. He has done it off his own bat and without any funding. Wünstel manages the “Reptilium”, which is home to over 1,000 animals making up 140 species, together with his family and 28 employees on a surface of 5,400 square metres. What makes his reptile zoo special is that he has created an impressive reptile cosmos rather than just stringing together terraria. In no time, visitors are guided from the desert to the tropics, through the subtropics and the rainforest. There is even a “Nachthaus” (night house), lit up by artificial moonlight. Here, you can watch animals such as the nocturnal leopard gecko, which crawls around under the special light when visitors enter.

When a software company building was turned into this zoo twelve years ago, Uwe Wünstel paid particular attention to keeping the animals spaciously and in environments appropriate to their species and to making visitors aware of each terrarium reflecting a particular part of nature. In a period of only five months, he thus created habitats in cooperation with the biologist Thomas Willms who is a deputy zoo director in the city of Frankfurt today. What came of it are terraria such as the one with species from South America. Oscar fish are swimming in the basin and Geoffroy’s toadhead turtles are drowsing on its bank, with common marmosets and green iguanas hopping above their heads.

”It took us four full shipping containers with plants to equip all terraria,” Uwe Wünstel tells us, “it was much easier to go and get the animals.” He is an expert in the industry and has fine connections. His zoo has recently started to breed some of the rare species. “Smuggling is a major issue,” so the “Reptilium” constantly admits animals that are found at airports or borders. Such as the star tortoise that was found together with 375 of its fellow species in two suitcases or the common snapping turtles that were crawling around in the Palatinate region on the streets. Uwe Wünstel shows us indigenous reptiles in the 2,000 square metre open terrain, such as the European pond turtle, native to the Rhine Plain, or the Aesculapian snake, the biggest snake in Germany.

There are also mammals in the “Reptilium”, but only four types of them. Meerkats are top dog in the desert hall and this afternoon they are somewhat nervous, because glider pilots from the nearby airport cross the area repeatedly, watched carefully from through the window pane. “They think these are predatory birds,” is the explanation, so the meerkats installed some kind of a security team.

Reptilium_Frosch_Foto-Claus-Geiss_VRRN

The desert hall hosts about 25 events per year: weddings, photography workshops, or reptile keeping lessons for beginners and for advanced owners. Uwe Wünstel is self-educated. He started off doing an apprenticeship as a bricklayer and working as a building contractor before turning his passion into a profession. Sometimes, he was living in 60 square metres with 60 reptiles. Kindergarten groups, school children and all sorts of people kept coming to the Palatinate village Hatzenbühl to see his constrictor snakes, bird spiders, or geckos. This gave him the idea of setting up the “Reptilium”.

“I moved out of home at the age of 18, because of a boa constrictor,” Uwe Wünstel tells us with a smile about the beginning of the project. His parents refused to live under the same roof as a snake

Ironically, the four members of the Wünstel family actually live above the heads of the reptiles, on the top floor of the “Reptilium”. The eight-year-old daughter keeps a couple of rabbits. “You don’t actually play with the food!” her father says with a grin. But the fleecy fellow is not on the reptile menu, of course. However, you should hear about what else Uwe Wünstel is famed for in Germany: His insect cookery courses are booked out for months up front, and in case you don’t like pasta with mealworms… well, the “Reptilium” offers seminars on fear as well.


 

reptilium.de

Im Kriechtier-Kosmos

Mit 18 zog Uwe Wünstel zu Hause aus – nicht wegen einer Frau, sondern wegen einer Schlange. Heute betreibt er in Landau den größten Reptilienzoo Europas.

Eine Schlange wie Albert eignet sich auch als Halskette. Zumindest für kurze Zeit. Das hat er schon oft bewiesen. Auf leicht bekleideten Frauenkörpern hatte man die männliche Tigerpython platziert. Und dann im „Playboy“ und in der „Vogue“ abgedruckt. An diesem Nachmittag wartet allerdings kein Fotoshooting auf die gelb-weiße Albinoschlange. Gelassen schlummert sie in einer Astgabelung – beobachtet von ihrem Ziehvater Uwe Wünstel auf der anderen Seite der Terrarienscheibe. „Ich habe ihn aus dem Ei schlüpfen sehen“, sagt der Leiter des „Reptiliums“ in Landau fast liebevoll. Vatergefühle seien da vielleicht nicht das richtige Wort. Aber wenn es ein Tier gäbe, das ihm am nächsten steht – die Wahl würde wohl auf Albert fallen.

Reptilium_Wünstel-und-Boa_Foto-Claus-Geiss_VRRN

Kuscheln mit dem Playboymodel: Reptiliumchef Uwe Wünstel und Tigerpython Albert.

Reptilien sind eben keine Kuscheltiere, doch die große Leidenschaft eines Mannes, der den größten Reptilienzoo Europas aufgebaut hat. In Eigenregie und ohne Zuschüsse. Auf 5400 Quadratmetern betreibt Wünstel mit seiner Familie und 28 Mitarbeitern das „Reptilium“, in dem über 1000 Tiere aus 140 Arten leben. Das Besondere: Er hat nicht einfach Terrarium an Terrarium gereiht, sondern einen eindrucksvollen Kriechtier-Kosmos geschaffen. Auf nur wenigen Metern geht es für die Besucher von der Wüste in die Tropen, Subtropen und in den Regenwald. Sogar ein „Nachthaus“ gibt es, mit Mondbeleuchtung. Hier kann man Tiere wie den Leopardengecko beobachten, der nachtaktiv ist – und durch das spezielle Licht nun umherkrabbelt, sobald die ersten Besucher kommen.

Als Uwe Wünstel vor zwölf Jahren das Gebäude eines Softwareunternehmens in einen Zoo verwandelte, war ihm wichtig: Die Tiere sollten artgerecht, so großzügig wie möglich untergebracht werden. Und die Besucher eine Vorstellung davon bekommen, dass jedes Terrarium auch ein Stück Natur bedeutet: In nur fünf Monaten kreierte er mit dem Biologen Thomas Willms, der heute stellvertretender Zoodirektor in Frankfurt ist, Lebensräume. Wie etwa das Terrarium, in dem Arten aus Südamerika leben. Während im Wasserbecken Pfauenaugenbuntbarsche schwimmen und die Dunkle Krötenkopfschildkröte am Beckenrand döst, turnen Weißbüschelaffen und Grüne Leguane über ihren Köpfen.

„Um alle Terrarien einzurichten, brauchten wir vier Überseecontainer voll mit Pflanzen“, erzählt Wünstel. Die Tiere anzuschaffen, sei das Einfachste gewesen. Denn natürlich hatte der Reptilienexperte gute Kontakte in die Szene. Seit einiger Zeit züchtet sein Zoo sogar seltene Tiere nach. „Der Schmuggel ist ein großes Problem.“ Regelmäßig nimmt das „Reptilium“ daher Tiere auf, die an Flughäfen oder Grenzen gefunden werden. Etwa die Sternschildkröte, die man mit 375 Artgenossen in zwei Koffern entdeckte. Oder die Schnappschildkröte, die in der Pfalz auf der Straße herumkroch. Im 2000 Quadratmeter großen Außenbereich zeigt Wünstel heimische Reptilien wie die Europäische Sumpfschildkröte, die in der Rheinebene lebt oder die Äskulapnatter, die größte Schlange Deutschlands.

Auch Säugetierarten gibt es – allerdings nur vier. Die Stars in der Wüstenhalle sind die Erdmännchen. An diesem Nachmittag herrscht allerdings Aufregung: Regelmäßig kommen Segelflieger vom naheliegenden Flugplatz vorbei, aufgeregt beobachtet durch die Fensterscheibe. „Für sie sehen sie aus wie Raubvögel“, erklärt Wünstel, daher hätten die Erdmännchen eine Art Wachdienst eingerichtet.

Reptilium_Frosch_Foto-Claus-Geiss_VRRN

Etwa 25 Veranstaltungen finden im Jahr in der Wüstenhalle statt, von Hochzeiten über Fotoworkshops bis zu Reptilienhaltungskursen für Einsteiger und Fortgeschrittene. Wünstel selbst ist Autodidakt – und hatte erst eine Ausbildung zum Maurer gemacht und als Bauunternehmer gearbeitet, ehe er das eigene Hobby zum Beruf machte. Zeitweise habe er mit 60 Reptilien auf 60 Quadratmetern gelebt. Im pfälzischen Dorf Hatzenbühl kamen ständig Leute vorbei, Kindergärten und Schulklassen, um seine Würgeschlagen, Vogelspinnen oder Geckos anzusehen. Da sei ihm die Idee mit dem „Reptilium“gekommen.

„Ich bin mit 18 wegen einer Boa Constrictor ausgezogen“, erzählt Uwe Wünstel schmunzelnd von den Anfängen – seine Eltern hätten sich geweigert, mit einer Schlange unter einem Dach zu leben.

Heute lebt die vierköpfige Familie Wünstel genau genommen über den Köpfen der Reptilien, im obersten Stock des Reptiliums. Und die achtjährige Tochter hat zwei Kaninchen. „Mit Essen spielt man eigentlich nicht“, sagt ihr Vater und grinst. Nein, selbstverständlich sei der flauschige Geselle vom Speiseplan der Reptilien ausgenommen. Aber man sollte wissen, wofür Uwe Wünstel deutschlandweit sonst noch steht: seine Insektenkochkurse sind Monate im voraus ausgebucht. Und wer Skrupel hat, Pasta mit Mehlwürmern zu essen – Angstseminare gibt es im „Reptilium“ auch.


 

reptilium.de