Hot stuff

Acrid smoke rising up from the embers greedily devours the oxygen. Hard rhythmic hammer blows crash down on glowing hot metal. Ice-cold water rushes past the window turning the mill wheels. It’s a scene just like 200 years ago – to be taken in at the “Wappenschmiede” (blacksmith’s workshop) in the valley of Elmstein where Benno Münch has made the age-old handcraft of the blacksmith come alive again in a “working museum.”  

 

“To toil here almost each night was incredible physical labour. As a blacksmith, you would not have grown old – but become deaf, that’s for sure.” His thick woollen cap pulled down over his ears and wrapped up warm and tight in his anorak, Benno Münch is standing at the bank of the Speyerbach stream. The many cold winter days with clammy weather down here in the shady valley take a toll on his health, too. But no matter if he has a cold or not – you can meet him here almost every weekend at the Wappenschmiede in the Elmstein valley where he spends all of his freetime. At the same time, he remains modest and realistic: “It takes an initiator to get things on track and keep them flowing, but many craftsmen with technical expertise, helpers and donors are even more demanding than I am.”

Wappenschmiede-3

Here, in the middle of the Palatinate Forest, between the villages Frankeneck and Johanniskreuz, ruins and historical monuments from the past 800 years are squeezed into an area measuring 24 kilometres in length. Castles from the Staufer era and church steeples, mills and sawmills, old pubs and paper factories are strewn about. With the decline of forestry, many valley inhabitants moved to the cities along the Rhine. And today it seems as if the forest was fiercely determined to reclaim the land stolen by Man, centimetre by centimetre. The dense greenery created by birches, oaks, pines and spruce expands all the way down to the Speyerbach and the railroad tracks of the steam-driven “Kuckucksbähnel.”

Wappenschmiede-14

Everyone in Elmstein knows that the old Wappenschmiede is located on the “Teufelsinsel”, the devil’s island – in the middle of the Speyerbach. This name bespeaks embittered struggles of the mill habitants for existence over an area just a few square metres large, a broken family and hostile neighbours. It probably was Johann Adam Lanz who put the hammer mill and the saw mill into operation in 1792. When he died in 1822, his son Andreas inherited the mill; he had already given the smithy to his daughter and her husband Georg Römer ten years earlier. “The smith back then always had the upper hand. He could cut off the water supply for the sawmill.” Benno Münch tells the story about the battles over the water distribution in the valley grippingly and down to the last detail. The conflict did not end until 1899, when Theobald Haag, the grandfather of the last blacksmith of Elmstein succeeded in settling the quarrels which ruined both smith and miller.

Today, the ensemble consisting of blacksmith’s workshop and sawmill – located underneath a castle ruin from the Staufer period dating back to the 13th century – is protected as a historic monument. For almost 200 years tools were manufactured here. For forest workers, stone crushers and raftsmen who used the Speyerbach for log driving. It was Heinrich Haag who, in the beginning of the 1970s, put the hammers with their infernal roaring sound into motion for the last time. After his death the embers of the smithy went out and the decay of the facility began. The mill wheel stood still for more than four decades until Benno Münch came, saw – and remembered a childhood incident:

“In 1969, I was in the Allgaeu region in southern Germany on a school trip and there I snuck off with some other boys in order to visit the “Hartmann’sche Hammerschmiede”, the hammer mill in Bad Hindelang.  Fire, water, air and earth – the interplay of the elements in the hands of a virtuosic smith, the smell, the heat of the blacksmith’s workplace, the smoke, the deafening noise, the power emerging there and the interesting hammer mechanism with its various water wheels – this took hold of me.”

Youthful enthusiasm developed into a hobby, which over the years evolved into a passion. When a stroke of fate hit Benno Münch’s family severely, the teacher felt as if someone had pulled the rug from under his feet. Suddenly he has spare time – lots of spare time to spend well. A meaningful task is needed, something that brings a sense of purpose to his life. He starts looking for a historical mill he can bring back to life. And he knows them all: the weather-beaten, the recreated, the former and the properly maintained mills – everywhere in Germany. But then the Mannheim-born mill enthusiast makes a find in his metropolitan region Rhine-Neckar of all places: in the Elmstein valley – at a place deeply steeped in history which seems to be from a different time altogether.

Wappenschmiede-44

As he starts to commit himself to his desired project he is at first confronted with a confusing ownership situation and unclear usage rights. But patiently, carefully and with an open ear to the concerns of Elmstein’s inhabitants he pursues his aim. Since the founding of a friends’ association in 2012, he has felt support to further promote his project. Even building the fish ladder succeeded, which was a necessary prerequisite for regaining the forfeited rights for water usage. “I just hope that our Palatinate crayfish do not fall prey to the EU salmon when they appear here one fine day,” Benno Münch today says laughing. His joy and relief about the fact that the blacksmith’s workshop once again went into operation as a “working museum” in May 2015 becomes very apparent. “The many visitors on our open workshop days are best proof to me that Elmstein’s Wappenschmiede is something very special – and not only for mill freaks like me.”

Wappenschmiede-51

There are plenty of mill enthusiasts now. The blacksmiths of the friends’ association and its active circle of supporters stand in front of the blazing fire of the forge on workshop days and invite guests to join them to forge some nails, true to their motto to make “Neggl mit Kepp” (“nails with heads”) as the Palatinate say – meaning that you make a real job of it. And that is very much according to Benno Münch’s beliefs who made his own dream come true and saved an archaic working world from oblivion. So now three heavy hammers send the heartbeat of the old smithy resonating through Elmstein valley once more.


www.wappenschmiede-elmstein.de

Heiße Sache

Beißender Rauch, der aus der Glut aufsteigt und gierig den Sauerstoff verschlingt. Harte, rhythmische Hammerschläge auf glühendes Metall. Eiskaltes Wasser, das am Fenster vorbeirauscht und die Mühlräder antreibt. Eine Szenerie wie vor 200 Jahren – zu erleben in der Wappenschmiede im Elmsteiner Tal, wo Benno Münch mit einem „arbeitenden Museum“ altes Schmiedehandwerk wieder erlebbar macht.

 

„Hier oft bis in die Nacht zu schuften, das war unvorstellbar harte körperliche Arbeit. Als Schmied ist man nicht alt geworden – aber taub sowieso.“ Die dicke Wollmütze hat Benno Münch tief über die Ohren gezogen, in einen warmen Anorak gepackt steht er am Ufer des Speyerbachs. Die vielen kalten Wintertage bei klammem Wetter, hier unten im schattigen Tal, verlangen ihm auch gesundheitlich einiges ab. Aber Erkältung hin oder her – (fast jedes Wochenende kann) man ihn treffen in der Wappenschmiede im Elmsteiner Tal, der er fast jede freie Minute widmet. Dabei bleibt er bescheiden und realistisch: „Es braucht zwar einen Initiator, der die Dinge auf den Weg bringt und in Fluss hält, doch hier sind viele Handwerker mit mühlentechnischem Fachwissen, Helfer und Spender noch mehr gefordert als ich.“

Wappenschmiede-3

Hier, mitten im Pfälzer Wald, zwischen den Dörfern Frankeneck und Johanniskreuz, drängen sich auf 24 Kilometern Länge Ruinen und Baudenkmäler aus den letzten 800 Jahren. Stauferburgen und Kirchtürme, Mühlen und Sägewerke, alte Wirtshäuser und Papierfabriken. Mit dem Rückgang der Forstwirtschaft sind viele Talbewohner in die Städte der Rheinebene gezogen und heute scheint es, der Wald sei wild entschlossen, sich Zentimeter um Zentimeter zurück zu erobern, was ihm von Menschenhand genommen wurde.  Bis tief hinab zum Speyerbach und zu den Gleisen des dampfbetriebenen „Kuckucksbähnels“ reicht das dichte Grün von Buchen, Eichen, Kiefern und Fichten.

Wappenschmiede-9_A

Wo gelebte Geschichte fließt: die alte Wappenschmiede auf der Teufelsinsel.

Jeder in Elmstein weiß es: die alte Wappenschmiede steht auf der Teufelsinsel – mitten im Speyerbach. Der Name zeugt von erbitterten Existenzkämpfen der Mühlenbewohner um wenige Quadratmetern Fläche am Wasser, von einer zerbrochenen Familie und von verfeindeten Nachbarn. Es war Johann Adam Lanz, der vermutlich 1792 die Hammerschmiede gründete und die gegenüber liegende Sägemühle in Betrieb nahm. Als er 1822 starb, erbte sein Sohn Andreas die Mühle –  die Schmiede hatte Johann Adam schon zehn Jahre zuvor seiner Tochter und deren Ehemann Georg Römer vermacht. „Der Schmied saß damals am längeren Hebel. Der konnte dem Sägemüller buchstäblich den Saft abdrehen.“ Spannend und dabei präzise bis ins Detail kann Benno Münch über die Kämpfe um die Wasserverteilung im Tal erzählen. Erst 1899 endete der Streit, als es Theobald Haag, dem Großvater des letzten Elmsteiner Wappenschmieds gelang, den Zwist, der Schmiede und Müller immer wieder umtrieb, juristisch zu seinen Gunsten beizulegen.

Das Ensemble aus Schmiede und Sägemühle ist heute denkmalgeschützt und liegt unterhalb einer staufischen Burgruine aus dem 13. Jahrhundert. Fast 200 Jahre lang wurden hier Werkzeuge gefertigt. Für Waldarbeiter, Steinbrecher und Flößer, die den Speyerbach zur Trift nutzen. Heinrich Haag war es, der Anfang der 1970er Jahre zum letzten Mal die martialisch dröhnenden Hämmer in Gang setzte. Nach ihm erlosch die Schmiedeglut und der Verfall der Anlage nahm seinen Lauf. Mehr als vier Jahrzehnte stand das Mühlenrad still, bis Benno Münch kam, sah – und sich an ein Jugenderlebnis erinnerte:

„Mit der Schule war ich 1969 im Allgäu auf Klassenfahrt und da habe ich mich mit ein paar Jungs davongeschlichen, um die Hartmann‘sche Hammerschmiede in Bad Hindelang zu besuchen. Feuer, Wasser, Luft und Erde – dieses Zusammenspiel der Elemente in der Hand eines virtuosen Schmieds, die Hitze, der Rauch, der ohrenbetäubende Lärm, die Kraft, die sich da entfaltet, die technisch interessanten Hammeranlagen mit ihrer Vielzahl von Wasserrädern – das hat mich nicht mehr losgelassen.“

Aus jugendlicher Begeisterung wurde ein Hobby und daraus über die Jahre eine Passion. Als Benno Münch ein familiärer Schicksalsschlag ereilt, der ihn nach vielen Jahren in pflegender Tätigkeit wieder freigibt, droht dem Lehrer der Boden unter den Füßen wegzubrechen. Plötzlich hat er wieder Zeit, die sinnvoll gestaltet werden will. Eine Aufgabe muss her, eine Mission, etwas, das sein Leben wieder erfüllt. Er macht sich auf die Suche nach einer historischen Mühle, deren Schaufeln wieder im Wasser arbeiten sollen. Und er kennt sie inzwischen alle: die verwitterten, die nachgebauten, die ehemaligen, die in Stand gehaltenen Hammerwerke – überall in Deutschland. Doch dann wird der gebürtige Mannheimer ausgerechnet in seiner der Metropolregion Rhein-Neckar fündig: im Elmsteiner Tal – an einem geschichtsträchtigen Ort, der aus der Zeit gefallen scheint.

Wappenschmiede-44

Als er beginnt, sich seinem Sehnsuchtsprojekt zu widmen, sieht er sich zunächst mit verworrenen Eigentumsverhältnissen und unklaren Nutzungsrechten konfrontiert. Doch geduldig, behutsam und mit einem offenem Ohr für die Belange der Elmsteiner Anwohner verfolgt er sein Ziel – und seit der Gründung eines Fördervereins im Jahr 2012 spürt er anerkennenden Rückenwind, um das Projekt nach vorne zu treiben. Sogar der Bau einer Fischaufstiegshilfe wird nun gelingen, einer zwingend notwendigen Voraussetzung zur Wiedererlangung des erloschenen Wassernutzungsrechts. Die Freude und die Erleichterung, dass die Wappenschmiede im Mai 2015 als „arbeitendes Museum“ wieder in Betrieb ging, ist ihm deutlich anzumerken. „Die vielen Besucher an unseren offenen Werkstatttagen sind für mich der Beweis, dass die Elmsteiner Wappenschmiede etwas ganz Besonderes ist – und nicht bloß was für Mühlenspinner wie mich.“

Wappenschmiede-51

Mühlenfans gibt es inzwischen reichlich. Die Schmiede des Fördervereins und seines aktiven Freundeskreises stehen bei den Werkstattagen am lodernden Feuer der Esse und laden Gäste zum Mitmachen beim Nagelschmieden ein – ganz nach der pfälzischen Ansage „mir mache Neggl mit Kepp“. Keine halben Sachen machen – das ist ganz im Sinn von Benno Münch, der sich selbst einen Traum erfüllt und eine archaische Arbeitswelt vor dem Vergessen bewahrt hat. Und jetzt tragen wieder drei schwere Hämmer den Herzschlag der alten Schmiede durchs Elmsteiner Tal.


www.wappenschmiede-elmstein.de