Annika WindManfred Rinderspacher

From humble beginnings come great painters

With regard to art history, there is nothing that connects Anselm Feuerbach with Hans Purrmann; with regard to their biographies, however, they have much in common. Both were born in Speyer. Its citizens have ensured that their impressive childhood homes can be visited until today.  

 

This young man will make (art) history. But right now, he is standing on a ladder painting a signboard for a tobacco shop. Hans Purrmann hadn’t received any news from Berlin, so he had travelled in frustration to Speyer to his parents in order to help them with their house-painting business. He had handed in four paintings at the “Berlin Secession” but hadn’t received an answer—until the very morning in 1905 which he later recalls in his recordings: “It was a newspaper agent known to be a bit of a character who shouted at me: ‘Come down here! There is a huge article about you in the Frankfurter Zeitung.” So, it was from this newspaper that Purrmann learned that the artists’ association had accepted him; that he was a “new talent.” The signboard from back then might be long gone—another one, though, remains: that of his father of 14 Kleine Greifengasse, saying “Maler- und Tüncher Geschäft” (painter and whitewasher’s company). It still hangs over the courtyard entrance to the craftsman’s house. It has recently even been renovated.

In the Purrmann House in Speyer you still can experience the atmosphere of the old artisan house authentically.

 

The great painter of classic modernity had been brought up in modest conditions—as is the case with Anselm Feuerbach, who died in 1880, which is the exact same year in which Purrmann was born. With regard to art history, there might be no connection whatsoever between the two, but with regard to their biographies, the connection definitely is there. Both first saw the light of day in Speyer, their parents’ houses are within just a few minutes walking distance. And both painters were at odds with the place of their childhood. “My birth in Speyer has to be considered as a misfortune for me,” Feuerbach (1829-1880), wrote, the father of whom, Joseph Anselm, taught at the “königlich bayerisches Gymnasium” (royal Bavarian grammar school). The city seemed very provincial to him. And Hans Purrmann, too, had distanced himself from Speyer for a long time. In 1932, he had still made a wall-painting for the Town Hall’s council chamber, which disappeared in 1933—behind a swastika flag. After that he moved first to Florence to the Villa Romana, later to France and then to Switzerland, where he died in 1966.

Feuerbach, who is considered a “German-Roman,” but does not fit into a specific style category, spent only seven years in Speyer. It is due to the citizens of Speyer that his birthplace still exists. Back in the 1960s, the modest building of 9 Allerheiligenstraße was supposed to be demolished. An association, however, fought for it to be turned into a museum. In a way, this has been the case until today. Even though the city takes care of the renovation and repair works—the rest still has to be raised by an association and its 200 members. Just recently, they collected EUR 20,000 to put in a new kitchen, as one room is let and serves as a wine bar. “That makes it possible for us to keep the museum open not only on Saturdays and Sundays, but also during the week,” Mira Hofmann, who has been the curator of the house since 2002, says. On the ground floor, she presents special exhibitions, like the one with works by Anna Maria Tekampe, an award-winner of the Markus Klammer foundation. And time and again, the art historian makes little miracles happen: acquisitions—like the picture of an old woman bought by the association from private owners some time ago. In 2014, the meanwhile aged former director of the Landesmuseum, the state museum in Mainz, Berthold Roland donated an early work of Feuerbach. It is so special because: “He purchased the painting especially for us,” Hofmann says. This fact alone is cause enough for its significance for the collection. But there is yet another reason: It shows Berthe Amére depicted unusually permissively—displaying a bare shoulder.

More than 30 original paintings and drawings by Anselm Feuerbach are exhibited in the Feuerbach House.

 

The Purrmann House, too, already received donations from the foundation “Ike und Berthold-Roland-Stiftung;” in addition to a still life and the “Newspaper reader in the Cathedral garden” one of his more unusual works: a view of the industrial port of Duisburg in 1903, one of Purrmann’s gloomier pictures from the world of industry and labour. By now, the house owns the largest public collection of paintings by Purrmann and his wife Mathilde Vollmoeller-Purrmann (1876-1943). The art historian Maria Leitmeyer has been its manager since the beginning of 2013—on a voluntary basis, just like Mira Hofmann. This makes her commitment in curating the most beautiful and focused exhibitions even more striking—like the one starting 26 November on the occasion of two new acquisitions: Elisabeth Albig, the niece of the artist couple, bequeathed two paintings, which were created in Purrmann’s family home, to the museum. Surrounding these two, you can see further portraits of family members and other works from Purrmann’s early work phase. In the permanent exhibition, 70 paintings, drawings, graphics, water colours and sculptures outline Purrmann’s development from Impressionism to Cubism.

Art historian and director of the Purrmann House: Maria Leitmeyer.

 

In the Feuerbach House, the collection has been arranged in an exemplary manner as well. There are 40 exhibits on the first floor: drawings that show both the talent and, at the same time, the clumsiness of the 14-year-old artist. Then there is one of his famous “Nanna” portraits, which he made of his lover Anna Risi in Rome. Moreover, there are water colour paintings, gouaches, letters, Feuerbach’s card and death mask. There are no pieces of furniture shown that the family once owned—the wardrobes on display actually are from the 19th century, but were added by the Historical Museum of the Palatinate. The garden was created in a way that was typical for gardens during the Biedermeier era, but not necessarily as the Feuerbach family knew it. “You should add some clotheslines in your imagination, since it was a four-person family,” Hofmann says laughing. The floor made of terracotta on the ground floor is original, as are the staircase and the front door, where little Anselm must once have dashed through—before he received his place in art history as a “true artistic soul.”


Feuerbach-Haus

Purrmann-Haus

Annika WindManfred Rinderspacher

Großes aus kleinen Verhältnissen

Kunsthistorisch verbindet die Maler Anselm Feuerbach und Hans Purrmann nichts, biografisch einiges. Beide kamen in Speyer zur Welt – und hier sorgen die Bürger dafür, dass man ihre eindrucksvollen Geburtshäuser besichtigen kann.

 

Dieser junge Mann wird einmal (Kunst)geschichte schreiben. Doch noch steht er auf einer Leiter und pinselt an einem Schild für ein Tabakgeschäft. Wochenlang hatte Hans Purrmann nichts aus Berlin gehört und war frustriert zu seinen Eltern nach Speyer gefahren, um im Malerbetrieb auszuhelfen. Vier Gemälde hatte er bei der „Berliner Secession“ eingereicht, doch keine Reaktion bekommen – bis zu jenem Vormittag im Jahr 1905, an den er sich später in Aufzeichnungen erinnert: „Ein als Speyrer Original bekannter Zeitungsvertreiber war es, der mir zurief: Kommen Sie herunter! Sie stehen heute groß in der Frankfurter Zeitung!“ Purrmann liest, dass ihn die Künstlervereinigung aufgenommen hat. Als „neues Talent“. Das Schild von damals dürfte längst verschwunden sein – aber eines blieb erhalten: das seines Vaters in der Kleinen Greifengasse 14. „Maler- und Tüncher Geschäft“, steht darauf. Es hängt noch über der Hofeinfahrt zum Handwerkerhaus. Seit kurzem sogar frisch restauriert.

Im Speyerer Purrmann-Haus kann man die Atmosphäre des alten Handwerkerhauses noch authentisch erleben.

 

Der große Maler der Klassischen Moderne kam aus kleinen Verhältnissen. Genauso wie Anselm Feuerbach, der 1880, also in dem Jahr starb, in dem Purrmann geboren wurde. Kunsthistorisch verbindet die beiden nichts – biografisch schon. Beide kamen in Speyer zur Welt, ihre Elternhäuser liegen nur wenige Gehminuten voneinander entfernt. Und beide haderten mit dem Ort ihrer Kindheit: „Meine Geburt in Speyer ist für mich als ein Unglück zu betrachten“, schrieb Feuerbach (1829-1880), dessen Vater Anselm am „königlich bayerischen Gymnasium“ unterrichtete. Die Stadt erschien ihm provinziell. Und auch Hans Purrmann hatte sich lange Zeit von Speyer distanziert: Noch 1932 hatte er ein Wandbild für den Ratssaal gemalt, das 1933 verschwand – hinter einer Hakenkreuzfahne. Fortan zog er in die Villa Romana nach Florenz, später nach Frankreich und in die Schweiz, wo er 1966 starb.

Nur sieben Jahren verbrachte Feuerbach, der als „Deutsch-Römer“ gilt, aber in keine Stilrichtung eindeutig passen will, in Speyer. Dass sein Geburtshaus überhaupt noch steht, hat die Stadt ihren Bürgern zu verdanken. In den 60ern sollte das schlichte Gebäude in der Allerheiligenstraße 9 abgerissen werden. Doch ein Verein kämpfte um die Nutzung als Museum. In gewisser Weise bis heute. Die Stadt sorgte sich zwar um die Sanierung und Reparaturen – der Rest aber ist Aufgabe eines Vereins und seiner 200 Mitglieder. Gerade erst haben sie 20.000 Euro für den Einbau einer neuen Küche zusammengetragen, denn ein Raum wird als Weinstube vermietet. „Das sichert uns auch die Möglichkeit, das Museum auch in der Woche und nicht nur samstags und sonntags offen zu halten“, sagt Mira Hofmann, die seit 2002 Kuratorin des Hauses ist. Im Erdgeschoss zeigt sie Sonderausstellungen wie etwa im November mit Anna Maria Tekampe, einer Preisträgern der Markus Klammer-Stiftung. Und immer wieder gelingen der Kunsthistorikerin kleine Wunder: Ankäufe. Wie das Bild einer alten Frau, das der Verein vor einiger Zeit aus Privatbesitz kaufte. 2014 dann stiftete der inzwischen hochbetagte ehemalige Direktor des Mainzer Landesmuseums, Berthold Roland, ein Frühwerk Feuerbachs. Das Besondere: „Er hat das Gemälde speziell für uns erworben“, sagt Hofmann, das schon allein deshalb eine besondere Bedeutung für die Sammlung hat. Aber auch, weil es Berthe Amére ungewöhnlich freizügig zeigt – mit entblößter Schulter.

Über 30 originale Gemälde und Zeichnungen von Anselm Feuerbach sind im Feuerbach-Haus ausgestellt.

 

Auch das Purrmann-Haus hat bereits Schenkungen von der Ike und Berthold-Roland-Stiftung bekommen. Neben einem Stilleben und dem „Zeitungsleser im Domgarten“ auch eines seiner ungewöhnlichsten Werke: Eine Ansicht des Industriehafens in Duisburg von 1903, eines von Purrmanns düsteren Bildern aus der Industrie- und Arbeitswelt. Inzwischen besitzt das Haus die größte öffentliche Sammlung an Gemälden des Malers und seiner Frau Mathilde Vollmoeller-Purrmann (1876-1943). Seit Anfang 2013 leitet es die Kunsthistorikerin Maria Leitmeyer – wie Mira Hofmann ehrenamtlich. Umso eindrucksvoller, wie engagiert sie schöne, konzentrierte Ausstellungen kuratiert, wie etwa ab 26. November anlässlich zweier Neuzugänge: Elisabeth Albig, die Nichte des Maler-Paares, hat dem Museum zwei Gemälde vermacht, die in Purrmanns Elternhaus entstanden. Um sie herum sind weitere Porträts der Familie und andere Werke aus der Frühphase zu sehen. In einer Dauerausstellung beschreiben 70 Gemälde, Zeichnungen, Grafiken, Aquarelle und Plastiken Purrmanns Entwicklung vom Impressionismus bis zum Kubismus.

Kunsthistorikerin und Leiterin des Purrmann-Hauses: Maria Leitmeyer.

 

Auch im Feuerbach-Haus hat man die Sammlungsbestände vorbildlich aufgearbeitet. Im oberen Stockwerk gibt es 40 Exponate: Skizzen, die das Talent und zugleich die Unbeholfenheit des 14-Jährigen zeigen. Dann eines seiner berühmten „Nanna“-Porträts, die er in Rom von seiner Geliebten Anna Risi machte. Dazu Aquarelle und Gouachen, Briefe, Feuerbachs Visitenkarte und Totenmaske. Möbel aus Familienbesitz gibt es nicht – die ausgestellten Schränke stammen zwar aus dem 19. Jahrhundert, aber aus dem Historischen Museum der Pfalz. Der Garten wurde so angelegt, wie typische Gärten der Biedermeierzeit aussahen – nicht aber unbedingt so, wie ihn die Feuerbachs kannten. „Bei einer vierköpfigen Familie sollten sie sich noch ein paar Wäscheleinen hinzudenken“, sagt Hofmann und lacht. Original ist der Terrakotta-Boden im Erdgeschoss, die Treppe und die Haustür, durch die der kleine Anselm wohl einst rannte – ehe er als „wahrhaftige Künstlerseele“ seinen Platz in der Kunstgeschichte fand.


Feuerbach-Haus

Purrmann-Haus