Annika Wind / translated by C. Maier-RezicSebastian Weindel

Stories from the cabinet of curiosities

From being a burden to being a place that makes a difference: In March 2018, the former “Ochsenpferchbunker” in Mannheim will become the MARCHIVUM.


Gloom? No, total darkness. What did it feel like in here, when the bombs were dropped outside? How did people cope—with the situation, with each other, with their fears? Did they panic when the power blacked out in here, behind meter-thick walls, in these rooms of the air raid shelter from 1940-1943? Ulrich Nieß is standing in the brand new MARCHIVUM in Mannheim, gazing into the sun. When the winter light fills the spacious new lecture room, they are definitely very far away—those dark nights of bombs being dropped during World War II.

The “Ochsenpferchbunker” once used to be Mannheim’s biggest high-rise bunker: a shelter for 3,412 people; if ever necessary twice as many could squeeze in. Even after the Nazi era, it played a major role: as a refuge during Cold War times and right into the 1990s. After that, the relic from dark times had become problem property. Inaccessible, unused and so monumental that the concrete building block with its striking stair towers could hardly put into use anymore. But then, an idea began to evolve within Ulrich Neiß. “In 2013 we had water damage,” the director of Mannheim’s city archive says, remembering one morning in the Collini-Center which has housed the historical memory for almost three decades. There was no damage done, and yet: “Water is worse for archive material than fire.” In 2010, the archivist, who holds a doctorate in history, took part in a rescue operation unprecedented in archive history, helping to digitalise parts of Cologne’s city archive. “The images from back then never let go of me.” And since the city had wanted to get rid of its Collini-Center sooner or later anyway, he, too, started searching—for a suitable, a special place.

So it happened that this year, on March 17, 2018, MARCHIVUM opens. The unusual building was developed by the Mannheim-based architecture firm Schmucker, which had once brought up the idea of the conversion of the bunker and now works hand in glove with the city’s housing association “GBG Mannheim,” which will lease it to the city—a win-win situation for both parties. The costs for this project will amount to EUR 18.6 million, with the federal government covering EUR 6.6 million, because it considers it a “national project of urban building.” This is why Schmucker built two floors with glass fronts for offices, meeting rooms and a conference room on top of the former bunker. “The Nazis actually had already planned an extension,” Nieß says, showing the drawing of a Hitler Youth home, for which an elevator shaft had already been planned when the bunker was constructed. And the top ceiling had been arranged in such a way that it was especially easy to open. And yet: The Schmucker architects had to work without a construction file. The one from the Nazi era was lost, the federal government keeps its copy from the times of the Cold War still secret. This is why during the reconstruction works at some places true cabinets of curiosities were revealed—sometimes with 80 tons of sand behind. They were meant to serve as filter rooms with the sand cleaning the air in case of a nuclear attack. Sometimes they consist of tiny plots which were made after the war for families which had lost their homes. In the, back then, more than 400 social housings, it must have felt as if the sun light was completely out of reach behind those meter-thick walls and never-ending corridors, and with the air being so stuffy and wet.

In the future, the second to the fourth floor will be reserved for the heart and soul of the MARCHIVUM: the archive material. Files from the city’s sports and public pools department, from the housing department, the grammar school “Karl-Friedrich-Gymnasium” or from the transport company “VRN” are stored here. As are the oldest council minutes from the 17th century in endless rolling stacks, and historical films, too, in a special cold chamber, the photographic legacies of press photographers from Mannheim, architectural models, 13,000 posters or the collection of glass plates of the art gallery “Kunsthalle Mannheim.” 20 kilometres of shelved archive material will be stored in the MARCHIVUM—seven more than it used to be in the Collini-Center. Together with the holdings of the “Wohlgelegenbunker” it will amount to 26. Compare that to Cologne before the collapse, where 30 kilometres of files were stored; constructing a new city archive there will create space for 50 kilometres of shelves.

There are 56 bunkers within the city boundaries of Mannheim. They were used—at least temporarily—as red cross centres, furniture storage facilities, workshops or for cultivating mushrooms, as cold storage facilities or as a hotel. But by creating the MARCHIVUM one of them will be converted from a building from the Cold War era into a place of democracy, where decisions, developments and processes will be presented in a way that they can be understood—not only in retrospect, but with regard to the future, too. We are not planning a classical exhibition where written documents are displayed in showcases,” Nieß says, but a “place for learning and experiencing” city history, a place where pupils can come together in project rooms and participate in the research using the original documents or where you—from 2019 onwards—can take a spin through the historical Mannheim in a reconstructed Benz automobile as part of a permanent multimedia exhibition, or where you can listen to compositions from Mannheim’s history of music. Some time ago, Nieß, who was born in Trier in 1960, received an honorary professorship at Mannheim University. He accepted it in order to build an even stronger basis for the city history and his archive to be included in the curricula of the seminar outlines. And in order to establish, together with his colleagues and his students, a NS documentation centre, which—to some extend—proposes the bunker itself as a research topic: “The bunkers were built for the biggest part by forced labourers from France and Russia,” Nieß says—but the names and the fate of each one of them are yet unknown. “History consists of stories,” Nieß says. But many of them are yet to be told.

Geschichten aus der Wunderkammer

Warum das Mannheimer Stadtarchiv in den Ochsenpferchbunker gezogen und zum MARCHIVUM geworden ist.

 

Dunkelheit, nein, totale Finsternis. Wie mag es sich hier angefühlt haben, wenn draußen die Bomben fielen? Wie kamen die Menschen zurecht – untereinander, miteinander. Mit ihrer Angst? Gab es Panik, wenn auch noch an diesem Ort mit seinen meterdicken Wänden der Strom wegblieb, in jenen Luftschutzkammern aus den Jahren 1940 bis 1943? Ulrich Nieß steht im neuen Mannheimer MARCHIVUM und blickt in die Sonne. Und spätestens als das Licht den großzügigen, neuen Vortragsraum regelrecht flutet, sind sie sehr weit weg – die dunklen Bombennächte des Zweiten Weltkriegs.

Dabei war der Ochsenpferchbunker einst der größte Hochbunker in Mannheim. Für 3.412 Menschen, im Notfall sogar mehr als doppelt so viele. Selbst nach der NS-Zeit noch hatte er eine große Rolle gespielt: als Zufluchtsort während des Kalten Krieges, bis in die 90er-Jahre hinein. Und dann war aus dem Relikt düsterer Zeiten eine Problemimmobilie geworden. Unzugänglich, ungenutzt und so monumental, dass mit dem Betonklotz und seinen markanten Treppentürmen nur schwer etwas anzufangen war. Bis eine Idee in Ulrich Nieß keimte. „2013 hatten wir einen Wasserschaden“, erinnert sich der Leiter des Mannheimer Stadtarchivs an einen Morgen im Collini-Center, in dem das historische Gedächtnis seit fast drei Jahrzehnten untergebracht war. Zu Schaden kam dabei nichts und dennoch: „Wasser ist für Archivgut schlimmer als Feuer.“ Erst 2010 hatte sich der promovierte Historiker an einer beispiellosen Rettungsaktion in der Archivgeschichte beteiligt und Teile aus dem Kölner Stadtarchiv mitdigitalisiert. „Die Bilder von damals ließen mich nicht los.“ Und da sich die Stadt auf kurz oder lang ohnehin von ihrem Collini-Center trennen wollte, begann auch er auf die Suche zu gehen. Nach einem geeigneten, nach einem besonderen Ort.

Im März 2018 wurde das „MARCHIVUM“ eröffnet. Entwickelt hat den ungewöhnlichen Bau das Mannheimer Architekturbüro Schmucker, das einst die Idee zum Umbau des Bunkers in die Welt setzte und Hand in Hand mit der städtischen Wohnungsbaugesellschaft GBG arbeitete, die ihn künftig an die Stadt vermietet – eine Win-Win-Situation für beide Seiten. 18,6 Millionen Euro wird das Projekt kosten, wovon der Bund 6,6 Millionen trägt, weil er es als „Nationales Projekt des Städtebaus“ wertet. Dafür hat Schmucker auf den Betonbau zwei verglaste Stockwerke für Büros, Besprechungszimmer und Vortragssaal aufgesetzt. „Tatsächlich hatten schon die Nazis eine Erweiterung geplant“, sagt Nieß und zeigt die Zeichnung eines HJ-Heims, für das man schon beim Bau des Bunkers einen Aufzugsschacht vorsah und die oberste Decke bewusst leicht zu öffnen ließ. Doch: Die Architekten von Schmucker mussten ohne Bauakte an die Arbeit gehen. Die aus der NS-Zeit war im Krieg verloren gegangen, der Bund hält seine aus der Zeit des Kalten Krieges bis heute geheim. So öffneten sich während des Umbaus an mancher Stelle regelrechte „Wunderkammern“ – mal mit 80 Tonnen Sand dahinter, der in Filterräumen dazu dienen sollte, die Luft im Fall eines atomaren Angriffs zu reinigen. Dann wieder mit winzigen Parzellen, die man nach dem Krieg für Familien, die ihre Bleibe verloren hatten, angelegt hatte. In den damals mehr als 400 Sozialwohnungen muss das Sonnenlicht unendliche Flure und meterdicke Wände weit entfernt gewesen sein. Und die Luft stickig und feucht.

Das zweite bis vierte Obergeschoss ist für die Seele des MARCHIVUM vorgesehen – das Archivgut. Akten aus dem Sport- und Bäderamt, aus dem Amt für Wohnungswesen, dem Karl-Friedrich-Gymnasium oder den Verkehrsbetrieben VRN lagern hier. Die ältesten Ratsprotokolle aus dem 17. Jahrhundert in unzähligen Rollregalen, aber auch historische Filme in einer speziellen Kältekammer, die Fotonachlässe von Mannheimer Pressefotografen, Architekturmodelle, 13.000 Plakate und die Glasplattensammlung der Kunsthalle Mannheim. 20 Regalkilometer Archivgut sind im MARCHIVUM untergebracht, das sind sieben mehr als bisher im Collini-Center. Zusammen mit den Beständen aus dem Wohlgelegenbunker werden es schließlich 26 sein. Zum Vergleich: In Köln hatten vor dem Einsturz 30 Regalkilometer gelagert, mit dem Neubau des dortigen Stadtarchivs soll künftig Platz für 50 Regalkilometer geschaffen werden.

56 Bunker gibt es Mannheimer Stadtgebiet. Genutzt wurden sie – zumindest kurzzeitig – als Rot-Kreuz-Station, Möbellager, Werkstatt oder für die Pilzzucht, als Kühlhaus oder Hotel. Doch mit dem MARCHIVUM wurde aus einem von ihnen, aus einem Bau aus Zeiten des Krieges nun ein Ort der Demokratie, an dem sich Entscheidungen, Entwicklungen und Prozesse verstehen lassen – nicht nur im Rückblick, sondern auch mit Blick in die Zukunft. „Wir planen keine klassische Ausstellung, bei der Schriftstücke in Vitrinen ausgestellt werden“, sagt Nieß. Sondern einen „Lern- und Erlebnisort“ zur Stadtgeschichte, an dem Schüler in Projekträumen mit Originaldokumenten mitforschen können oder man ab 2019 in einer multimedialen Dauerausstellung etwa eine Spritztour durch das historische Mannheim auf einem nachgebauten Benz-Wagen unternehmen oder Stücken aus der Mannheimer Musikgeschichte lauschen kann. Vor einiger Zeit hat Nieß, der 1960 in Trier zur Welt kam, eine Honorarprofessur an der Universität Mannheim angenommen, um künftig die Stadtgeschichte und sein Archiv noch stärker in den Seminarplänen zu verankern. Und um mit seinen Mitarbeitern, aber auch den Studierenden ein NS-Dokumentationszentrum aufzubauen, das den Bunker ein Stück weit selbst zum Recherchethema macht: „Gebaut wurden die Bunker größtenteils von Zwangsarbeitern aus Frankreich und Russland“, sagt Nieß – doch die Namen, die Schicksale hinter jedem einzelnen von ihnen blieben bisher unbekannt. „Geschichte besteht aus Geschichten“, sagt Nieß. Noch viele davon müssen erzählt werden.


www.marchivum-blog.de