Anne-Kathrin JeschkeClaus Geiss

The Ox Tour

In the southern Palatinate town of St. Martin a small herd of Aurochs roams free in the forest. Peter Hiery brought the majestic beasts here, who, in turn, have brought him solace.

 

Esmeralda stands completely motionless in the snow. Her magnificent 550-kilogram frame exudes peacefulness, while her long horns command attention and respect even at a safe distance. Peter Hiery never lets her and her thick, red-brown winter coat out of his sight. Esmeralda is part of a herd of Aurochs that roam the forest just outside the village of St. Martin year round—even in winter, when snow and freezing temperatures sweep across the land. Technically speaking, they are heck cattle, a breed of Auroch, which became extinct in the 17th century. They are fenced in here on a 44-acre plot of forest, the equivalent of roughly 62 soccer fields. The animals are a part of a unique grazing project. Or, as Peter Hiery says, “They design the landscape.” Here at the foot of the Palatinate forest.

L1100276

The animals respond immediately to Peter Hiery, and with good reason: without him, they never would have been here. The early pensioner sits on the local council as a representative of the Freie Wähler (engl. Free Voters) party. He was astounded to learn of the costs that it would take to cultivate the area west of town. While vacationing in the French Massif Central in 2009, he saw a cattle breed that was reminiscent of the extinct Aurochs and an idea began to take root. He spoke to the people at Palatinate Forest-North Vosges Biosphere Reserve. The man at the desk said “you’re a gift from heaven.” At least that’s the way Hiery tells it years later, who approached the authorities in St. Martin with the line “We have 10 Aurochs and no land.” The municipality of St. Martin had land, but no Aurochs.

L1100176

Peter Hiery

There were, of course, skeptics. And there still are today. It took a year and clever reasoning for Hiery and his supporters to bring the animals to the Palatinate. According to Hiery, the money to acquire the animals, build the fence and to pay the veterinarian all stem from compensation payments, i.e. payments made by companies in support environmental initiatives as compensation for having a construction project green lighted. Donations, too, help fund the project, but “not any public funds.” Still, the project had to overcome an array of bureaucratic hurdles, and Hiery, the “lone wolf,” pushed past all of them. He did have one distinct advantage, however. “I worked for a government agency for 40 years,” he says with a mischievous grin.

Today, Hiery goes on the “Ox Tour” daily to visit his protégés, and the 60-year-old spends two hours a day with the proud beasts in the forest. “They have such a calming effect on me.” And that although Hiery is a friend of “hustle and bustle.” He’s not just a hobby winemaker and not just a member of the local dance group that performs in traditional dress, but he’s a man in the local council and association of local municipalities that likes taking on responsibility. He tends to speak faster than others can think. Hiery was once a headhunter, working as a job agent for, among others, the European Commission and the Federal Employment Agency of Germany. He was always on the move, always in reach. Until one day, his heart could no longer keep up with the lifestyle’s frantic pace. Now he’s an early retiree and dedicates much time and passion to the Auroch project.

“The animals are wild, even when they are fenced in and exude tranquility“.

Next to Esmeralda stands Othello, a few centimeters taller and roughly 100 kilograms heavier than the alpha cow. Behind them graze the bright white Sahneschnute and Dickhorn, who’s adorned with a massive set of horns. There are a total of ten heads of cattle currently, five adults and five calves, lanky and heartwarmingly cute. Even when they are fenced in and exude such tranquility, they are still wild animals. Peter Hiery, their caretaker, keeps his distance. And yet, there is still a path forged through “their land.” A path for hikers and leisurely strollers. Hiery admits that this causes him some disquiet on occasion. But whoever observes the rules, keeping a safe distance from the animals and keeping their dog on a leash, has nothing to fear. The tall, grey-haired man also ventures into the pen with guests on the so-called Ox Tour.

Auerochse-Closeup_Foto-VRRN_Claus-Geiss

The 44-acre plot of land for the Aurochs is a diverse biosphere, with a swamp and a mixed woodland that consists of spruce and pines. Esmeralda, Othello and the others have a job to do: they are to care for and change the landscape, to help create biodiversity. Hiery finds traces the herd has left behind throughout the area: a glade that the cattle created—years ahead of schedule. He points out trees whose bark they have stripped or whose trunks they have snapped. He demonstrates how the animals run free. Hiery is in his element. He explains why the cows have rings on their horns, but the bulls do not: one for every calf born. With his bare hands he picks up dried cow pies and shows what lies beneath: holes from dung beetles leading into the earth. They break down the excrement within a matter of weeks. It’s the topic of a dissertation as researchers from various universities accompany the Auroch project, documenting, among other things, how the area evolves from the influence of the herd. An adult animal consumes anywhere from 45 to 55 kilograms of food each day and excretes 25 to 30 kilos of it back out. But the odor is not unpleasant, at least when it’s dry, but rather it “just smells like the earth.” And that’s due to the fact that the animals do not receive any additional feed, Hiery says. Only in the winter, when there is snow on the ground, does he roll a bale of hay into the pen.

He knows every stone and tree trunk in the swamp to ensure that the area can be crossed without incident. He mimics the sound that the animals make when they “sink in the morass up to their udders.” “They raise their tails to keep it from getting wet,” he explains with a hearty laugh. But there have been bad days as well. Three of the Aurochs have died in the pen. The worst, though, was when poachers killed a calf—presumably with a crossbow. Hiery still shudders at the thought of the pained cries from the bereaved mother. To ensure that the herd does not grow all too quickly, some animals are also slaughtered. It pains Hiery every time.

L1100192

Whoever joins Peter Hiery in St. Martin’s forest, will learn a lot about heck cattle. About the land. About the Palatinate and the people who live here. And also about the wide range of emotions that a single individual can invest in a single project. But it’s all worth it for Hiery, as he has finally found peace.


Ochsentour St. Martin

Anne-Kathrin JeschkeClaus Geiss

Die Ochsentour

Wie viele Emotionen kann ein Mensch in eine Vision investieren? Um ein neuartiges Beweidungsprojekt zu starten, hat der Pfälzer Peter Hiery eine Herde Auerochsen von Spanien nach St. Martin geholt. Die Tiere sind hier heimisch geworden – und ein ewig Rastloser hat seine Ruhe gefunden.

 

Ganz still steht Esmeralda im Schnee. 550 Kilogramm wiegt die stattliche Dame. Friedlich sieht sie aus – nur ihre langen Hörner wirken selbst aus sicherer Entfernung respekteinflößend. Die Kuh mit dem dichten, rotbraunen Winterfell lässt Peter Hiery keinen Moment aus den Augen. Esmeralda ist Teil einer Herde Auerochsen, die am Ortsrand von St. Martin im Wald ganzjährig im Wald lebt – auch im Winter, wenn Schnee und Kälte die Landschaft prägen. Genau genommen sind es sogenannte Heckrinder, eine Nachzüchtung der im 17. Jahrhundert ausgestorbenen Auerochsen. Sie weiden hier eingezäunt auf einer Waldfläche von rund 44 Hektar – auf umgerechnet rund 62 Fußballfeldern. Die Tiere sind Teil eines ungewöhnlichen Beweidungsprojekts – oder wie Peter Hiery sagt: „Sie gestalten die Landschaft.“ Hier, am Fuße des Pfälzerwalds.

L1100276

Dass die Tiere sofort auf Peter Hiery reagieren, hat einen guten Grund: Ohne ihn wären sie gar nicht hier. Der Frührentner sitzt für die Freie Wählergruppe im Gemeinderat von St. Martin – und war verwundert darüber, wie viel Geld es kostete, die Fläche am westlichen Ortsrand zu bewirtschaften. Als er 2009 im Urlaub im französischen Zentralmassiv eine Rinderart sah, die dem Auerochsen ähnelt, reifte in ihm eine Idee. Also sprach er beim Biosphärenreservat Pfälzerwald-Nordvogesen vor. „Sie schickt der Himmel“, antwortete der Mann hinter dem Schreibtisch. So jedenfalls erzählt es Hiery Jahre später, der mit dem Satz „Wir haben zehn Auerochsen und kein Land“ in St. Martin offene Türen einrannte. Denn die Gemeinde hatte Land – aber keine Auerochsen.

L1100176

Peter Hiery

Natürlich gab es Zweifler. Gibt es heute noch. Es brauchte ein Jahr und viele Argumente, bis Hiery und seine Befürworter die Tiere in die Pfalz bringen konnten. Das Geld für ihre Anschaffung, für den Zaun, für den Tierarzt stammt seinen Angaben zufolge aus Ausgleichszahlungen: etwa wenn Unternehmen zum Ausgleich für Bauprojekte den Naturschutz unterstützen. Und aus Spenden, „nicht aber aus öffentlichen Mitteln“. Trotzdem: Der Weg war gesäumt von bürokratischen Hürden. Peter Hiery, der „Einzelkämpfer“ – er hat sie alle genommen. Eines habe ihm dabei geholfen. Er grinst schelmisch: „Dass ich selbst 40 Jahre lang für eine Behörde gearbeitet habe.“

Heute geht der Tierfreund jeden Tag auf „Ochsentour“ und besucht seine Schützlinge. Zwei Stunden verbringt der 60-Jährige dann im Wald: „Die Tiere wirken total beruhigend auf mich.“ Auf einen, der es eigentlich „schnell und hektisch mag“. Der nicht nur Hobbywinzer ist und in der Volkstanztrachtengruppe, sondern auch im Gemeinderat und im Verbandgemeinderat Verantwortung übernimmt. Einer, der schneller redet als manch anderer denken kann. Hiery war früher Headhunter, arbeitete als Arbeitsvermittler unter anderem für die Europäische Kommission und die Agentur für Arbeit. Immer unterwegs, immer erreichbar. Bis sein Herz dieses Tempo nicht mehr mithalten konnte. Jetzt ist er Frührentner – und widmet dem Auerochsen-Projekt sehr viel Zeit und Liebe.

„Die Tiere sind wild, auch wenn sie eingezäunt sind und Ruhe ausstrahlen“.

Neben Esmeralda steht Othello. Noch einige Zentimeter größer und noch 100 Kilogramm schwerer als die Leitkuh. Dahinter Sahneschnute und Dickhorn – wer sie sieht, weiß sofort, warum sie so heißen. Zehn Tiere sind es aktuell, fünf ausgewachsene, fünf Jungtiere. Staksig, herzerweichend niedlich. Aber auch wenn sie eingezäunt sind und diese Ruhe ausstrahlen: Die Tiere sind wild, Peter Hiery, ihr „Kümmerer“, hält Abstand. Und doch führt ein Weg mitten durch „ihr Gebiet“. Ein Pfad, den Spaziergänger und Wanderer nutzen dürfen. Hiery räumt ein, dass ihm das manchmal Bauchschmerzen bereitet. Doch wer die Regeln beachtet, wer Sicherheitsabstand hält und seinen Hund an die Leine nimmt, muss sich vor den Rindern nicht fürchten. Auch bei Führungen, den sogenannten Ochsentouren, geht der großgewachsene, grauhaarige Mann mit seinen Gästen ins Gehege.

Auerochse-Closeup_Foto-VRRN_Claus-Geiss

Die 44 Hektar Land der Auerochsen sind vielfältig: Sumpf. Mischwald, dunkler Fichten-, lichter Kiefernbestand. Esmeralda, Othello und die anderen haben eine Aufgabe: Sie sollen die Landschaft pflegen und verändern, für Vielfalt sorgen. Überall entdeckt Hiery die Spuren, die die Herde hinterlässt: eine erste Lichtung, die die schweren Tiere geschaffen haben. Jahre früher als erwartet. Er zeigt Bäume, die sie geschält, Stämme, die sie umgeknickt haben. Macht vor, wie die Tiere sie regelrecht umrennen. Hiery ist in seinem Element: Erklärt, warum die Kühe Ringe an den Hörnern haben, die Bullen aber nicht – für jedes Kälbchen einen. Mit bloßen Händen hebt er einen getrockneten Kuhfladen an, zeigt die Spuren darunter: Löcher von Dungkäfern, die in den Boden führen. Sie zersetzen die Exkremente innerhalb weniger Wochen – Thema einer Doktorarbeit, denn Forscher verschiedener Universitäten begleiten das Auerochsen-Projekt. Sie dokumentieren unter anderem, wie sich das Gebiet durch die Herde verändert. Ein ausgewachsenes Tier frisst  45 bis 55 Kilogramm am Tag – und scheidet 25 bis 30 Kilo wieder aus. Und das riecht – zumindest getrocknet – nicht unangenehm, sondern „einfach nur nach Erde“. Weil die Tiere kein Zusatzfutter bekommen, erklärt Peter Hiery. Lediglich wenn im Winter Schnee liegt, rolle er einen Heuballen ins Gehege.

Im Sumpf kennt er jeden Stein und jeden Baumstamm, um das feuchte Gebiet unfallfrei zu durchqueren. Er imitiert dabei die Schmatzgeräusche, die entstehen, wenn ein Tier „bis zum Euter im Morast versinkt“. „Dabei heben sie den Schwanz hoch, damit der nicht nass wird“, erzählt er und lacht. Aber es gab auch schon schlechte Tage: Drei Auerochsen sind im Gehege gestorben. Besonders schlimm für ihn war, als Wilderer ein Kälbchen töteten – offenbar mit einer Armbrust. Hiery schaudert es jetzt noch, denkt er an die verzweifelten Schreie des Muttertiers. Damit die Herde nicht zu schnell wächst, werden allerdings auch Tiere geschlachtet. Der Abschied schmerzt ihn jedes Mal.

L1100192

Wer mit Peter Hiery im Wald von St. Martin unterwegs ist, lernt viel über die Heckrinder. Über die Landschaft. Über die Pfalz und die Menschen, die hier leben. Und darüber, wie viele Emotionen ein einziger Mensch in ein Projekt stecken kann. Dabei hat er, der ewig Rastlose, endlich Ruhe gefunden.


Ochsentour St. Martin