Anne-Kathrin JeschkeClaus Geiss

The peaceful fortress

In the past, Germersheim belonged to France, then to Austria and later to Bavaria. The in present times Southern Palatinate city had for centuries been fiercely fought over. In 1834, the construction of a monumental fortress was begun in order to protect the city from the French. Today, it is a magnet for tourists, and “fortress guide” Kurt Burger has already revealed its history for 24,000 visitors – a surprisingly peaceful history at that.

Steeply downwards we go, on uneven ground, over bumpy stones. It is cold and the eyes have yet to get accustomed to the dim light. No problem for Kurt Burger, since he knows them all: the old walls of the “Germersheimer Festung”, the fortress in Germersheim, and the many stories that they would tell – if they could talk.

So he has been telling the stories in their stead. For almost 20 years now. In 1936, he was born in the “Stengelkaserne”, a habitable part of the historical fortress that he now shows his visitors through: about 24,000 people up until today – “more than the city has inhabitants”.

Germersheim-Festung16_Foto-Claus-Geiss_VRRN

For more than 20 years tour guide Kurt Burger has been revealing the history of the “Germersheimer Festung” – where he was born more than 80 years ago.

Today, about 3,000 people fewer live in the district city on the left bank of the Rhine, 13 kilometers away from the cathedral city Speyer and roughly halfway between Ludwigshafen and Karlsruhe. It is a place with a long history beginning in 1276 when it was granted city rights by Rudolf von Habsburg.

More than 500 for the most part belligerent years later – in the year 1815 – the German Confederation decided that Germersheim should be converted into a secure stronghold as a protection measure against the French. In 1834, construction works of a monumental, polygonal building began and were to last for another 27 years. The two stately portals to the city are still standing today. One of them, the “Weißenburger Tor” at the east of the site – the restoration of which was funded by the EU –, has in recent times become the city’s landmark and houses the visitor centre. The casemate, into which Kurt Burger leads his visitors over a steep entrance-way, is quite impressive, too: a subterranean vault with white walls made of “so-called king’s stones which were fired in Germersheim,” as Burger tells us. He points to the embrasures for the gun or cannon barrels and the holes at the ceiling where the gunsmoke could escape. “It is produced when gunpowder is ignited,” the former chemical laboratory technician explains. The infantry passageway used to be 1.8 kilometers long – “for troop movements behind thick walls”.

The fortress surrounding the city centre of Germersheim once covered a length of more than three kilometers. On 18 October 1834, engineer and major Friedrich von Schmauß laid the foundation stone on behalf of the Bavarian Ministry of War, but even at the time of its construction, the fortress did not serve its original purpose any more. Weapon technology had made such progress that fortress building had become obsolete, and the walls kept the city of Germersheim in check like a fetter made of stone. What became an impediment to urban development, is today perceived as Germersheim’s historical heritage – and the pride of the city.

Figures, dates, names: visitor guide Kurt Burger knows them all. History is what keeps him young.

Only rarely the 80-year-old fortress expert crews up his attentive, light brown eyes to think for a short while, before he continues travelling through the past. While the experienced tourist guide from Germersheim wears suit trousers, shirt and a tie as a principle, some of his colleagues prefer to slip into historical costumes: there is the peasant woman, for example, who exclaims perkily: “O my God, are you alright?” before she goes on asking: “Do you happen to have this illness that the French brought along with them?” insinuating you might be infected with smallpox. Or you might encounter the revenue officer Alwin Heusinger who having just woken up from a long and deep slumber now compares the past with the present together with a colleague. He talks about horse-drawn carriages which were passing by only yesterday and about his pals whom he once visited in the fortress’s military hospital.

Germersheim-Festung1_Foto-Claus-Geiss_VRRN

The military hospital: a long, impressive building next to the “Weißenburger Tor”, one of the city gates, in which the visitor centre with an exhibition about the fortress can be found. The military hospital was the place to go for sick soldiers as well as civilians. In 1939, it became a prison of the Wehrmacht. “For example, soldiers who had stolen something from their comrades or deserted from their army were put in here,” Burger says. 49 German soldiers had been shot here, the youngest of whom was only 19 years old. After the war, the building became a prison run by the French, later it was used by the German Bundeswehr – it has been out of use since 2000. No question is left unanswered by Burger: “Dry sand up to a height of 2.5 meters is piling up under the roof.” Shells were to deflagrate in it. This sand would have to be removed laboriously, in case the building was to be used again.

Next stop: the “Grabenwehr” (caponier). An inviting playground in front of the entrance to the subterranean passageways. A bit wet, with sandy ground and low ceilings. Later, Burger leads his visitors onto the bridge at the “Weißenburger Tor”, which was a drawbridge once and “used to be pulled up by one third in the evenings”. The gate is still original, inside a small “one-man-door” through which visitors were allowed to squeeze themselves. The perspective from the bridge allows you to see the ditch as it was back then and shows you some impressive parts of the fortress, but also its destruction, since according to the regulations of the Treaty of Versailles parts of the fortress had to be razed – they were actually blown up.

The inhabitants of today live in some remaining parts of the fortress. In Germersheim history and modernity entwine.

Satellite dishes are resplendently mounted on one of the old brick buildings. The former military buildings now house amongst other things museums, a culture centre, a music school and the university. “You can discover corners which take you to an entirely different time,” the head of the visitor centre Frauke Vos-Firnkes says enthusiastically. You can find tranquility in the midst of the city. This is what she shows the visitors of Germersheim – always coming up with fresh ideas: wine tastings and mulled wine tours, birthday parties for children and special offers for school classes. There are Segway tours, carriage rides, biking excursions, and she herself takes visitors on a tour across the cemetery of 1834, where the builder of the fortress Knight Friedrich von Schmauß was granted a place of honour. He by no means died in an attack on the fortress, but of an illness.

Germersheim-Festung9_Foto-Claus-Geiss_VRRN

A steep descent: the entrance-way to the casemate.

Tourist guide Kurt Burger is a gentle person. The heavy cannon standing in the casemate, a replica, does not impress him much. He just calls it a “toy”. He rather talks about tunnels, filled to the brim with gunpowder, which were to be blown up in case the enemy had approached. But there is no tale to be told of battles. Had there been any, Kurt Burger would have known it all: the year dates, the number of soldiers fighting, of the wounded, of the dead. However: “There was not one single shot fired.” The “Germersheimer Festung” is thus a monument of peace – for more than 180 years now.


Südpfalz-Tourismus.de

Anne-Kathrin JeschkeClaus Geiss

Die friedliche Festung

Mal gehörte Germersheim zu Frankreich, mal zu Österreich, mal zu Bayern. Jahrhundertelang war die heute südpfälzische Stadt hart umkämpft. 1834 begann der Bau einer monumentalen Festung, um die Stadt vor den Franzosen zu schützen. Heute ist sie ein Touristenmagnet und Festungsführer Kurt Burger hat schon über 24.000 Gästen ihre Geschichte erzählt – die überraschend friedlich ist.  

Steil geht es bergab, auf unebenem Boden, auf holprigen Steinen. Es ist kühl und die Augen müssen sich an das schummrige Licht erst gewöhnen. Für Kurt Burger kein Problem, denn er kennt sie alle: die alten Mauern der Germersheimer Festung und die vielen Geschichten, die sie erzählten – könnten sie nur sprechen.

Stattdessen erzählt er jetzt die Geschichten. Seit fast 20 Jahren. 1936 ist er in der „Stengelkaserne“ zur Welt gekommen, einem bewohnbaren Teil der historischen Festung, durch die er seine Gäste führt: rund 24.000 Menschen bislang – „mehr als die Stadt Einwohner hat“.

Germersheim-Festung16_Foto-Claus-Geiss_VRRN

Seit über 20 Jahren erzählt Gästeführer Kurt Burger die Geschichte der Festung Germersheim – in der er vor über 80 Jahren geboren wurde.

Rund 3.000 Menschen weniger leben heute in der Kreisstadt am linken Ufer des Rheins, 13 Kilometer entfernt von der Domstadt Speyer, etwa in der Mitte zwischen Ludwigshafen und Karlsruhe. Ein Ort mit einer langen Geschichte, die 1276 mit der Verleihung der Stadtrechte durch Rudolf von Habsburg begann.

Mehr als 500 meist kriegerische Jahre später – im Jahr 1815 – beschloss der Deutsche Bund, Germersheim zum Schutz vor den Franzosen zu einer starken Festung auszubauen. 1834 begannen die Arbeiten an einem monumentalen, polygonalen Bauwerk, die 27 Jahre andauern sollten. Die beiden prächtigen Portale zur Stadt stehen noch heute. Das mit EU-Mitteln sanierte Weißenburger Tor im Osten der Anlage ist heute das Wahrzeichen der Stadt und beherbergt das Besucherzentrum. Eindrucksvoll ist auch die Kasematte, in die Kurt Burger seine Gäste über einen steilen Zugang führt: ein unterirdisches Gewölbe mit weißen Mauern aus „sogenannten Königssteinen, die in Germersheim gebrannt wurden“, wie Burger erzählt. Er zeigt die Öffnungen für Gewehr- oder Kanonenläufe und die Löcher an der Decke, als Abzug für den Pulverdampf. „Der entsteht, wenn Schwarzpulver gezündet wird“, erklärt der frühere Chemielaborant. 1,8 Kilometer war die Infanteriegalerie lang – „für Truppenbewegungen hinter dicken Mauern“.

Auf über drei Kilometer Länge wurde der Germersheimer Stadtkern einst umfasst. Am 18. Oktober 1834 ließ der Ingenieur-Major Friedrich Schmauß im Auftrag des bayrischen Kriegsministeriums den Grundstein legen, doch schon während des Baus war die Festung nur noch Makulatur. Der Fortschritt der Waffentechnik hatte die Festungsarchitektur überholt und die Mauern legten sich wie eine steinerne Fessel um Germersheim. Was damals zum Hemmschuh für die städtebauliche Entwicklung wurde, ist heute das historische Erbe – und der Stolz der Stadt.

Zahlen, Daten, Namen: Gästeführer Kurt Burger kennt sie alle. Die Geschichte hält ihn jung, so viel ist sicher.

Nur selten kneift der 80-Jährige die wachen, hellbraunen Augen zusammen, denkt kurz nach, bevor er weiter durch die Vergangenheit reist. Während das „Urgestein“ der Germersheimer Gästeführer dabei grundsätzlich Anzughose, Hemd und Krawatte trägt, schlüpfen manche Kollegen schon mal in historische Kostüme: die Bauersfrau etwa, die forsch fragt: „Ach Gott, geht’s Ihnen nicht gut?“ Und wissen will: „Haben Sie etwa auch diese Krankheit, die die Franzosen mitgebracht haben?“ Damit spielt sie auf die Blattern an, also die Pocken. Und da ist noch der Steuerbeamte Alwin Heusinger, der aus einem Zeitschlaf erwacht und mit einer Kollegin Vergangenheit und Gegenwart vergleicht. Er erzählt von den Pferdekutschen, die gestern noch fuhren, und davon, wie er seine Kumpanen einst im Festungslazarett besuchte.

Germersheim-Festung1_Foto-Claus-Geiss_VRRN

Das Lazarett: ein langes, imposantes Gebäude neben dem Weißenburger Tor, einem der Stadttore, in dem das Besucherzentrum mit einer Ausstellung über die Festung untergebracht ist. Im Lazarett kamen Erkrankte sowohl vom Militär als auch aus der zivilen Bevölkerung unter. 1939 wurde es zum Wehrmachtsgefängnis. „Soldaten, die etwa Kameraden bestohlen oder Fahnenflucht begangen hatten, waren beispielsweise hier untergebracht“, erzählt Burger. 49 deutsche Soldaten seien hier erschossen worden, der jüngste war gerade 19 Jahre jung. Nach dem Krieg wurde das Gebäude zum Gefängnis der Franzosen, später nutzte es die Bundeswehr – seit 2000 steht es leer. Keine Frage lässt Burger unbeantwortet: „Trockener Sand bis zu einer Höhe von 2,50 Meter liegt unter dem Dach.“ Granaten sollten darin verpuffen. Der Sand müsse aufwendig rausgeschafft werden, wolle man das Gebäude wieder nutzen.

Nächste Station: die Grabenwehr. Ein einladender Spielplatz steht vor dem Eingang zu den unterirdischen Gängen. Etwas feucht, mit sandigem Boden und niedrigen Decken. Später führt Burger auf die Brücke am Weißenburger Tor, die einmal Zugbrücke war, und „abends zu einem Drittel hochgezogen wurde“. Das Tor ist noch original, darin ein „Ein-Mann-Türchen“, durch das Besucher kriechen durften. Der Blick von der Brücke gibt den Graben von damals frei, zeigt imposante Teile der Festung, aber auch Zerstörung: Denn nach den Bestimmungen des Versailler Vertrags mussten Teile der Festung geschleift – das heißt gesprengt – werden.

In einigen erhaltenen Teilen der Festung wohnen die Germersheimer von heute. In der Stadt treffen Historie und Moderne aufeinander.

Satellitenschüsseln prangen an einem der alten Backsteingebäude. In den ehemaligen Militärgebäuden sind heute unter anderem Museen, ein Kulturzentrum, eine Musikschule und die Hochschule untergebracht. „Man entdeckt hier Ecken, die einen in eine ganz andere Zeit bringen“, schwärmt die Germersheimer Tourismus-Chefin Frauke Vos-Firnkes. Man finde hier Ruhe mitten in der Stadt. Das zeigt sie den Gästen der Stadt mit mit immer neuen Ideen: mit Weinproben und Glühweinführungen, mit Kindergeburtstagen und Angeboten für Schulklassen. Es gibt Segway-Touren, Kutschfahrten, Radausflüge und sie selbst führt Gäste über den Friedhof von 1834, wo Festungsingenieur Ritter Friedrich von Schmauß einen Ehrenplatz erhielt. Er starb keineswegs bei einem Angriff auf die Festung, sondern an einer Krankheit.

Germersheim-Festung9_Foto-Claus-Geiss_VRRN

Hier geht‘s steil nach unten: der Zugang zur Kasematte.

Gästeführer Kurt Burger ist ein sanftmütiger Mensch. Von der schweren Kanone, einem Nachbau, der in der Kasematte steht, ist er wenig beeindruckt, nennt sie bloß „Spielzeug“. Er berichtet von Stollen, prall gefüllt mit Schwarzpulver, die in die Luft gejagt werden sollten, hätte sich der Feind genähert. Von Schlachten aber kann Kurt Burger nichts erzählen. Hätte es sie gegeben, ganz sicher würde er sie kennen: die Jahreszahlen, die Anzahl der kämpfenden Soldaten, der Verwundeten, der Todesopfer. Aber: „Hier ist nie ein Schuss gefallen.“ Die Germersheimer Festung wäre damit ein Monument des Friedens – seit über 180 Jahren.


Südpfalz-Tourismus.de