Stephen Wolf / translated by C. Maier-RezicClaus Geiss

The vertical paradise

The indoor mountain awaits – luring even Swiss rock climbers to the Palatinate town Frankenthal. With its 130 routes ranging from easy to extreme, the indoor climbing centre “Pfalz Rock” (meaning “Palatinate rock”) is a vertical paradise bringing forth exceptional talents like the eleven-year-old Michel Siedler who climbs with the big ones at the top.

15 meters is damn high. Especially when the wall hangs over ferociously and the climbing holds are so small that only the tips of your fingers or toes can grip onto them. This poses no problem for Michel Siedler from the “Pfalz Rock” high-performance training group for kids. Astonishingly fast but with great ease, he climbs even the toughest routes while the grown-ups around him work their way up centimeter by centimeter huffing and puffing.

The pupil from Mannheim comes here to Frankenthal six times a week to do his training. He so successfully overcomes gravity that his name is now being mentioned also outside the rock climbing scene. “I just like becoming better and better together with the others here,” he says modestly, but nonetheless was courageous enough to demonstrate his climbing skills in Kai Pflaume’s television show “Klein gegen Gross” (meaning “Little versus Big”) broadcast by the German TV corporation ARD. On this programme, he competed against his idol, the 26-year-old bouldering world champion Juliane Wurm – probably the best German competitive climber at present – and more than obviously won.

Michel Siedler_Foto-Claus-Geiss_WO SONST

Gravity? No, thank you! Michel Siedler in the “Pfalz Rock” bouldering cave

No wonder that his father and coach is as pleased as Punch. Kai Siedler has himself been climbing for three decades and can therefore assess his son’s performance very well. He himself started climbing at a time when pioneers like Wolfgang Güllich from Ludwigshafen or Reinhard Karl from Heidelberg – who was also the first German to reach the top of the Mount Everest in 1978 – revolutionised international sport climbing. In the 1980s, the exceptional climbing talent Güllich added a new athletic dimension to classical rock climbing. A targeted training approach suddenly made routes possible with a grading of up to E11, which the climber from Ludwigshafen cracked for the first time with the legendary route “action directe” in the Franconian Jura in 1991. At the same time, sport climbing emerged into a lifestyle sport with a new ethical code: climbing gear like pitons or slings since then only serve the purpose of securing the rock climber.

Today Kai Siedler can observe in astonishment how his son charges up the steep “Pfalz Rock” walls with more and more routine and speed. “The maximum for some adults here is Michel’s warm-up programme,” the physician says smiling.

Anyway, smiling – there is a lot of climbing and smiling around here in the “Pfalz Rock“ centre. And a lot of backslapping..

Something turned out really well here in Frankenthal that other sports clubs can only dream of: whereas the local section of the German mountaineering club called “Deutscher Alpenverein” (DAV) had only 650 members left before the centre was built in 2005 – the average age being over 60 years – it now has more than 1500. And most of them are youngsters and young adults. The average age of the section has decreased significantly, six youth groups of altogether 65 climbing kids come week after week to their vertical paradise for training. And the number of members is constantly growing – and it has been for years.

“Rock climbing is more than strength and dexterity,” 28-year-old Eric Rouven Seiler, head of “Pfalz Rock”, says knowingly. He virtually glows with enthusiasm for his sport and at the same time radiates something which you might expect from an excellent climbing instructor and route setter: professional calm. His concentrated work ensures that indoor operations function smoothly, routes are controlled regularly and that there is always a range of diverse climbing courses to choose from for adults, children and families. Under the instructors’ supervision climbers on the entry-level as well as fast climbers can learn rock climbing at “Pfalz Rock”. It starts with “top roping”, the safest and easiest way of climbing a route while being secured by an anchor system at the top through which the rope runs and a belayer standing at the bottom ensuring with a special belay device that the rope is safe. If you rather want to act out your fascination for rock climbing closer to the ground without a rope whatsoever, you can meet your ultimate challenge in Frankenthal in the 150 square-meters of the centre’s bouldering cave.


Lead climbing” to the top.

“Climbing benefits the team spirit as well as your confidence and endurance,” youth instructor Simone Tumele says, who in normal life works as a controller. “When you are climbing you don’t just do your own thing. In a rope team you help each other.” Mutual support is called for, too, when the head of “Pfalz Rock” Eric Rouven Seiler and his fellow “Rockers” again and again set new and varied climbing routes and screw an armada of artificial climbing holds into the colourful walls of the 1150 square-meter-sized hall.

“Pfalz Rock” developed into a highly demanded training venue. A few months ago, the German national team came here to climb, and even the national rock climbers from Switzerland came to the Mörscher Straße to do some training. “Since the opening we held ten Rhineland-Palatinate championships, four West German championships and three German championships,” Hellmut Kerutt, first chairman of the DAV section in Frankenthal, explains. He is proud of the fruitful cooperation between the town, the Stadtwerke (the town’s public utility company), the state Rhineland-Palatinate and the DAV which made building and financing this DAV state training centre possible.


Eric Rouven Seiler, head of “Pfalz Rock”, climbing instructor and route setter.

And in this way you can rock the Palatinate region here every day, especially in the autumn and winter when the Southern Palatinate sandstone rocks are either too wet, too cold or simply too far away. “And for us this is a true oasis. An adventure playground,” is what you can hear at the “Pfalz Rock” centre by people who otherwise spend their days inside open-space offices. And if you are lucky you can watch exceptional talents like Micha Siedler bouldering and see that the development of climbing as a sport is being fostered in the Palatinate region once again.

Das vertikale Paradies

Der Indoor-Berg ruft – und lockt sogar Schweizer Kletterer ins pfälzische Frankenthal. Mit 130 Routen von leicht bis extrem ist das Kletterzentrum „Pfalz Rock“ ein vertikales Paradies und bringt Ausnahmetalente hervor wie den elfjährigen Michel Siedler, der mit den Großen schon ganz oben mit klettert.

15 Meter sind verdammt hoch. Vor allem wenn die Wand fies nach hinten überhängt und die Griffe und Tritte so klein sind, dass nur Finger- und Zehenspitzen daran Halt finden. Kein Problem für Michel Siedler aus der „Pfalz-Rock“-Leistungsgruppe für Kids. Verblüffend schnell und ganz locker klettert er selbst schwerste Routen, während sich die Erwachsenen nebenan schnaufend Zentimeter für Zentimeter hinaufarbeiten.

Sechs Mal in der Woche trainiert der Mannheimer Schüler in Frankenthal. Der Schwerkraft schlägt er derart erfolgreich ein Schnippchen, dass sein Name nun auch außerhalb der Kletterszene fällt. „Mir gefällt es einfach, hier gemeinsam mit den anderen immer besser zu werden“, sagt er bescheiden und war dennoch mutig genug, seine Kletterkunst in Kai Pflaumes ARD-Show „Klein gegen Gross“ zu präsentieren. Dabei trat er gegen sein Vorbild, die 26jährige Boulder-Weltmeisterin Juliane Wurm an, die derzeit wohl beste deutsche Wettkampfkletterin – und gewann mehr als deutlich.

Michel Siedler_Foto-Claus-Geiss_WO SONST

Schwerkraft? Nein Danke! Michel Siedler in der Boulderhöhle des „Pfalz Rock“

Kein Wunder, dass sein Vater und Trainer stolz wie Bolle ist. Kai Siedler klettert selbst seit drei Jahrzehnten und kann die Leistung seines Sohnes genau einschätzen. Er selbst hat zu einer Zeit begonnen, als Pioniere wie der Ludwigshafener Wolfgang Güllich oder der Heidelberger Reinhard Karl, der 1978 auch als erster Deutscher auf dem Everest stand, das internationale Sportklettern revolutionierten. Der Ausnahmekletterer Güllich erweiterte in den 80er Jahren das klassische Klettern in eine neue athletische Dimension. Plötzlich waren mit gezieltem Training Routen bis zum elften Grad möglich, den der Ludwigshafener 1991 mit der legendären Route „action directe“ im Frankenjura erstmals knackte. Gleichzeitig entwickelte sich das Sportklettern zu einem Lifestyle-Sport mit einer neuen Ethik: technische Hilfsmittel wie Haken oder Schlingen dienen seitdem nur noch zur Sicherung.

Heute kann Kai Siedler staunend beobachten, wie sein Sohn immer routinierter und immer schneller die steilen „Pfalz-Rock“-Wände hinauf stürmt. „Was für manche Erwachsene hier das Maximum ist, macht Michel zum Aufwärmen“, sagt der Mediziner und lächelt.

Überhaupt, das Lächeln. Im „Pfalz Rock“ wird viel geklettert und viel gelächelt. Und viel auf Schultern geklopft.

In Frankenthal ist etwas geglückt, wovon Sportvereine mit Nachwuchsproblemen sonst nur träumen: Hatte die lokale Sektion des Alpenvereins vor dem Bau des Zentrums im Jahr 2005 nur noch rund 650 Mitglieder – der Altersdurchschnitt lag über 60 Jahren – sind es heute mehr als 1500. Die meisten von ihnen sind Jugendliche und junge Erwachsene. Das Durchschnittsalter der Sektion ist deutlich gesunken, sechs Jugendgruppen mit insgesamt 65 Kletterkids trainieren Woche für Woche in ihrem vertikalen Paradies und die Zahl der Mitglieder steigt ständig – schon seit Jahren.

„Klettersport ist mehr als Kraft und Geschicklichkeit“, weiß Eric Rouven Seiler, der Betriebsleiter des „Pfalz Rock“. Der 28jährige glüht vor Enthusiasmus für seinen Sport und strahlt gleichzeitig das aus, was man sich auch von einem guten Klettertrainer und Routenbauer erwartet: professionelle Ruhe. Mit seiner konzentrierten Arbeit sorgt er dafür, dass der Hallenbetrieb funktioniert, Routen regelmäßig geprüft werden und vielfältige Kletterkurse für Erwachsene, Kinder und Familien im Angebot sind. Unter Aufsicht der Trainer können Einsteiger, aber auch ehrgeizige Aufsteiger bei „Pfalz-Rock“ das Klettern lernen. Los geht es mit „Toprope“, der sichersten und einfachsten Art des Kletterns einer Route mit Seilsicherung von oben durch einen Partner, der mit einem Sicherungsgerät am Boden steht. Wer sich überhaupt lieber in Bodennähe ganz ohne Seil austoben will, findet in Frankenthal in einer 150 Quadratmeter großen Boulderhöhle die ultimative Herausforderung.

Pfalz-Rock_Top-Rope2_Foto-Claus-Geiss

Im „Vorstieg“ nach oben.

„Klettern fördert den Zusammenhalt, das Selbstvertrauen und das Durchhaltevermögen“, sagt die Jugendtrainerin Simone Tumele, die im normalen Leben als Controllerin arbeitet. „Beim Klettern mcht man nicht einfach sein eigenes Ding. In einer Seilschaft hilft man sich gegenseitig“. Gegenseitige Hilfe ist auch angesagt, wenn Betriebsleiter Eric Rouven Seiler und seine Mitstreiter in der 1150 Quadratmeter großen Halle immer wieder neue und abwechslungsreiche Kletterrouten „bauen“ und eine Armada von künstlichen Griffen und Tritten an die bunten Wände schrauben.

Durch die Qualität des Angebots hat sich das „Pfalz Rock“ zu einer begehrten Trainingsstätte entwickelt. Vor einigen Monaten kam der Deutsche Nationalkader zum Klettern und selbst die Nationalkletterer aus der Schweiz haben schon in der Mörscher Straße trainiert. „Seit der Eröffnung haben wir zehn Rheinland/Pfalz-Meisterschaften, vier Westdeutsche Meisterschaften und drei Deutsche Meisterschaften ausgerichtet“, zählt Hellmut Kerutt auf, der Erste Vorsitzende der Frankenthaler DAV-Sektion. Er ist stolz darauf, dass die gute Zusammenarbeit zwischen Stadt, den Stadtwerken, dem Land Rheinland-Pfalz und dem Alpenverein den Bau und die Finanzierung dieses DAV-Landesleistungsstützpunktes möglich machten.

Pfalz-Rock_Eric-Seiler_Foto-Claus-Geiss

Eric Rouven Seiler, Betriebsleiter des „Pfalz Rock“, Klettertrainer und Routenbauer.

Und so wird hier jeden Tag die Pfalz gerockt, vor allem im Herbst und Winter, wenn die Sandsteinfelsen der Südpfalz zu nass, zu kalt oder einfach zu weit weg sind. „Für uns ist das eine echte Oase. Ein Abenteuerspielplatz“, hört man dann im „Pfalz Rock“ Leute sagen, die ansonsten den ganzen Tag im Großraumbüro verbringen. Und wenn man Glück hat, kann man außergewöhnlichen Klettertalenten wie Micha Siedler beim Bouldern zuschauen und lernen, dass die Entwicklung des Sportkletterns einmal mehr in der Pfalz vorangetrieben wird.


pfalz-rock.de