Life is an adventure

Life is all rock ‘n’ roll and adventure – or it is at least for Mannheim native Wolfgang Biersch. Apart from being on the stage playing guitar with his band, he runs three big adventure parks such as the Fun Forest in Kandel in the Southern Palatinate.

“Looking for adventure, and whatever comes our way” Steppenwolf’s John Kay sang in the classic song “Born to be wild” – and Wolfgang Biersch seems to have taken it to heart. Today, the 64-year-old is a successful businessman employing 130 staff members – but he is a rocker, too. “Music has always been my life,” says the Mannheim native, who opened his guitar shop “Musicant” in Mannheim-Neckarstadt more than 30 years ago. “It was the top address for guitars and bass guitars in the region,” he still recalls fondly. “Musicians such as the Grönemeyer Band came in a never-ending stream.” Wolfgang Biersch gained experience in running a business for the first time back then. But first and foremost, he was a breath-taking guitarist, performing with bands like Circus Haselbeck, Edo Zanki, Elkie & the Steelers or legendary guitar hero, Ricky King.

L1060541

Park manager Desiree Schneider

Breath-taking is also the right word for the view straight down from a more than ten-metre high treetop – and frightening. On platform 15 at “Fun Forest AbenteuerPark” adventure park, life is a real adventure. The only thing you can do is take a deep breath, overcome your fear, take a two-step run-up and then jump – and you’ll be flying – and falling – into the wide-meshed net. Hold on, take a deep breath – made it! “The BASE jump is one of the most exciting attractions at our ‘Parcours Braun’ (brown course) – one of a total of 17 difficulty levels that we offer here,” Desiree Schneider says with a smile.

“One of the highlights is the 100 metre-long zip wire”

For a good eight years, the 32-year-old Schneider has managed Fun Forest, which stretches out over seven hectares in the Southern Palatinate town of Kandel. She guides around 50,000 visitors per year through one of Europe’s biggest climbing centres not far from the border to the Alsace. Many of the visitors are families with children, school classes, particularly from the entire Rhine-Neckar Metropolitan Region, but also many companies, who want to engage in team-building exercises here in the Bienwald forest. Children as young as three may practise climbing on the children’s courses. There are courses for beginners and courses for pros, which demand everything you have. “One of the highlights is the 100 metre-long zip wire,” Schneider points to the endless cable deep in the forest, which goes steeply downhill. Your adrenalin is on the rise, just fix the safety rope, grab the handle and off you go. The ride seems infinite. Your arms become heavy, trees zoom past you. Only a few metres to go – made it again. “This is one of my favourite features of the climbing centre,” Schneider laughs and you can tell that she really loves and lives her job. The park transformed nearly 200 trees into the Fun Forest; the adventure course takes a full four hours and makes you completely forget about daily life.

“Safety is our top priority,” says Schneider, who completed her sports studies in Karlsruhe. Before visitors start climbing, they receive complete instructions from their team and receive a via ferrata set with a strap and a helmet. The equipment is always inspected down to the last detail before each use. And to make sure there is double the safety, a steel safety cable escorts all climbers across the entire course. The strap is fixed to it by means of belay ropes and two carabiners. “For the 2010 season, we successfully introduced this permanent safety system and it prevents climbers from inadvertently becoming unhooked,” the park manager explains. “The result is maximum safety, particularly for school classes and children, and stress-free supervision. This way, everyone can have a good time.”

L1060474

Having a good time has never been a problem for Wolfgang Biersch. He is still amazed at how much success has come from what was initially a simple idea. Ten years ago, he discovered one of the first German climbing centres in Immenstaad. “We liked the idea and we launched Fun Forest along with the creators of the Bärenwald.” But it wasn’t all easy peasy at first. They had to convince the municipality of Kandel and conservationists, while also finding a suitable location. “Today, everybody is delighted,” Biersch says joyfully. “The park is a tourist attraction in the Southern Palatinate, a magnet for visitors. The hospitality industry makes a profit from it and both children and adults get in touch with nature here in a very unique way.”

L1060484

In 2007, another park opened in Offenbach am Main and in 2009, a third park opened in Homburg an der Saar. Today, about 130 people work in the three parks. “It takes lots of bureaucracy. And furthermore, we were forced into becoming restaurateurs,” Biersch tells us. A climbing centre that only offers a kiosk – ridiculous. “We have much more to offer nowadays.”

Even back in the eighties, Wolfgang Biersch stood up for development and liked commitment. The maintenance of the cultural venue Alte Feuerwache Mannheim was a critical issue then. “We campaigned against its demolition in front of Mannheim Rathaus (town hall).” And they succeeded. The Feuerwache was preserved and has become an event centre that is well known in and beyond the region. “There was a lack of rehearsal rooms for all the bands in the region,” Biersch remembers. What is a UNESCO City of Music now was a throbbing centre for live bands even then and Biersch recognized the gap in the market. Together with his business partner Matthias Hensel, a project developer from Mannheim, he bought an old industrial complex on the city island Friesenheimer Insel in 1988 and set up the Power Tower with numerous rehearsal rooms there. “And this was also a hotbed for our adventure enterprise.”

L1060523

“Fun Forest is a great adventure for everyone – myself included,” says Desiree Schneider. “Pull yourself up, legs first!” she calls out to a girl hanging somewhere between the earth and the sky. Just a few more hard climbs and a little push by her friend – made it, the climb continues. Courage is required for the jumps as well. “Sometimes, we have to talk them through these sections a little bit – and then the sense of achievement arises.”

WB-Tele_Wosonst

Wolfgang Biersch

There is loads of action in the adventure parks. However, Wolfgang Biersch has never lost track of music. He’s been back playing in a new band for two years, where many old acquaintances have joined and play together in “What’s Up”. “We play soul and rock, high-quality feel-good music.” What’s Up play cover songs by Tina Turner, Bette Middler, ZZ Top or The Doobie Brothers. “And I guess, I will have to be carried off the stage one day – just like Stones’ Keith Richards…”


www.funforest.de

Das Leben ist ein Abenteuer

Das Leben ist Rock’n’Roll und Abenteuer – jedenfalls für den Mannheimer Wolfgang Biersch. Wenn er nicht gerade mit seiner Gitarre und seiner Band auf der Bühne steht, organisiert er drei große Abenteuerparks – wie den Fun Forest im südpfälzischen Kandel.

„Looking for adventure, in whatever comes our way…“. Das sang John Kay von Steppenwolf im Klassiker „Born to wild“ – und Wolfgang Biersch muss damals gut zugehört haben. Der 64-Jährige ist heute erfolgreicher Unternehmer mit 130 Mitarbeitern – aber auch ein Rocker. „Musik war schon immer mein Leben“, sagt der Mannheimer, der vor über 30 Jahren das Gitarrenhaus „Musicant“ in der Neckarstadt eröffnete.  „Das war die erste Adresse für Gitarren und Bässe in der Region“, schwärmt er noch heute. „Musiker wie die Grönemeyer-Band gaben sich hier die Klinke in die Hand“. Damals machte Wolfgang Biersch erste Erfahrungen, wie man ein Unternehmen führt. Aber vor allem war er auch ein atemberaubender Gitarrist. Mit Bands wie Circus Haselbeck, Edo Zanki, Elkie & the Steelers oder dem legendären Guitar-Hero Ricky King.

L1060535

Parkmanagerin Desiree Schneider

Atemberaubend ist auch der Tiefblick aus einem Baumwipfel in über 10 Metern Höhe – und beängstigend zugleich. Auf Plattform 15 im Fun Forest ist das Leben ein Abenteuer und da hilft nur: Luft holen, die Angst besiegen, zwei Schritte Anlauf, Absprung und schon fliegt man ins geknüpfte, grobmaschige Netz. Festhalten, durchatmen, geschafft. „Der Base-Jump ist eine der aufregendsten Stelle in unserem braunen Parcours – einer von insgesamt 17 Schwierigkeitsgraden, die wir hier anbieten“, schmunzelt Desiree Schneider.

„Einer der Höhepunkte ist die 100 Meter lange Seilrutsche“

Die 32-jährige Parkmanagerin leitet seit gut acht Jahren den sieben Hektar großen Fun Forest im südpfälzischen Kandel und schleust rund 50.000 Besucher jährlich durch einen der größten Kletterparks Europas unweit der Grenze zum Elsass. Viele davon sind Familien mit Kindern, auch Schulklassen vor allem aus der gesamten Metropolregion, aber auch  viele Unternehmen, die hier aktives Teambuilding im Bienwald betreiben. Schon kleine Kinder ab 3 Jahren können hier auf den Kinderparcouren erste Kletterübungen machen, Es gibt Einsteiger und Profi-Parcours, die einem alles abverlangen. „Einer der Höhepunkte ist die 100 Meter lange Seilrutsche“, weist Desiree Schneider auf das nicht enden wollende Seil tief im Wald, an dem es steil bergab geht. Das Adrenalin steigt, einmal den Sicherungsgurt einhängen, die Arme an den Bügel und los geht’s. Die Fahrt scheint nicht enden zu wollen. Die Arme werden schwerer, die Bäume rauschen an einem vorbei.  Noch ein paar Meter – geschafft. „Das ist eine meiner Lieblingsstellen hier im Kletterpark“ lacht Desiree und man merkt, dass sie ihren Job wirklich liebt und lebt. Fast 200 Bäume sind hier zum Fun Forest verwandelt worden und satte vier Stunden dauert die Abenteuerrunde, die den Alltag komplett vergessen lässt.

„Sicherheit wird bei uns groß geschrieben“, erklärt Desiree Schneider, die in Karlsruhe ein Sportstudium absolviert hat. Besucher erhalten vor dem Klettern von ihrem Team eine ausführliche Einweisung und ein Klettersteigset mit Gurt und Helm. Die Ausrüstung wird vor der Anwendung immer genauestens überprüft. Um doppelt sicher zu gehen, begleitet ein Sicherungsstahlseil alle Kletterer über die ganze Strecke. Der Gurt ist dort mit Sicherungsleinen über zwei Karabinerhaken eingehängt. „Dieses permanente Sicherungssystem haben wir in der Saison 2010 erfolgreich eingeführt und verhindern damit eine versehentliche Komplettaushängung“, erklärt die Parkmanagerin. „Dies bedeutet vor allem für Schulklassen und Kinder maximale Sicherheit, stressfreie Betreuung und somit mehr Spaß für alle.“

L1060474

Spaß hat auch Wolfgang Biersch, der oft nur noch staunen kann, wie aus einer einfachen Idee so ein großer Erfolg wurde. Vor zehn Jahren entdeckte er in Immenstaad einen der ersten Kletterparks in Deutschland. „Uns gefiel die Idee und mit den Machern des Bärenwaldes starteten wir dann unseren Fun Forest.“ Doch das war zunächst gar nicht so einfach. Die Gemeinde Kandel und Naturschützer mussten überzeugt werden und das richtige Areal gefunden werden. „Heute sind alle begeistert“, freut sich Biersch. „Der Park ist eine touristische Attraktion in der Südpfalz, ein Magnet für Besucher. Hotels und Gastronomie profitieren, hier kommen Kinder und Erwachsene mit der Natur auf ganz besondere Weise in Berührung.“

L1060484

2007 kam ein weiterer Park in Offenbach am Main hinzu und 2009 ein weiterer in Homburg an der Saar – heute arbeiten rund 130 Menschen in den drei Parks. „Das ist ganz schön viel Bürokratie. Außerdem sind wir fast zwangsweise zu Gastronomen geworden“, so Biersch. Denn ein Kletterpark mit einem Kiosk – unvorstellbar. „Da haben wir heute schon einiges mehr zu bieten.“

Bereits in den 80er Jahren ging es Wolfgang Biersch um Weiterentwicklung und Engagement. Ein wichtiges Thema war damals der Erhalt der Mannheimer Alten Feuerwache. „Wir sind vor das Mannheimer Rathaus gezogen und haben gegen die Abrisspläne demonstriert“. Das gelang auch, und die Feuerwache blieb erhalten und ist heute ein überregional bekanntes Veranstaltungszentrum. .„Nur die Proberäume reichten für die vielen Bands in der Region nicht aus“, erinnert sich der Musiker. Schon damals war die heutige UNESCO City of Music ein pulsierendes Zentrum für Live-Bands und der Gitarrist erkannte die Marktlücke. Mit seinem Geschäftspartner, dem Projektentwickler Matthias Hensel aus Mannheim, kaufte er 1988 einen alten Industriekomplex auf der Friesenheimer Insel, richtet dort den Power Tower mit zahlreichen Proberäumen ein. „Und das war auch die Keimzelle unseres Abenteuer-Unternehmens“.

L1060523

„Der Fun Forest ist ein großes Abenteuer – auch für mich“, sagt Desiree Schneider. „Zieh dich hoch, mit den Beinen voraus“ ruft sie einem Mädchen zu, das irgendwo zwischen Himmel und Erde hängt. Ein paar kräftige Züge, die Freundin gibt noch den letzten Schubs, dann geht es wieder weiter. Auch bei den Sprüngen ist Mut gefragt – „Da müssen wir manchmal einfach nur gut zureden – dann stellt sich das Erfolgserlebnis ein.“

WB-Tele_Wosonst

Wolfgang Biersch. Foto: privat

Bei all der Action in den Abenteuerparks hat Wolfgang Biersch die Musik nie aus den Augen verloren. Seit zwei Jahren hat er wieder eine  Band. Bei „What’s Up“ spielen viele Freunde aus frühen Tagen mit. „Wir machen Soul und Rock, gute Laune-Musik auf hohem Niveau.“ What’s up spielt Cover-Songs von Tina Turner, Bette Middler, ZZ Top oder den Doobie Brothers. „Und wahrscheinlich müssen sie mich irgendwann von der Bühne tragen – so wie Keith Richards von den Stones…“


www.funforest.de