Martha CramerClaus Geiss

The Experiment

As a child Claus Kropp wanted to become a farmer. Then an archaeologist. Today at the age of 31 he is both. In Lorsch he found happiness – in the experimental archaeological open-air laboratory Lauresham.

Although Darius and David might seem to be mastodons, they are the robust and good-natured specimens of an old cattle breed. And they look as if someone had taken them out of a picture book. Or rather: out of the 8th century. And this is exactly what they are supposed to look like in Lorsch on this Sunday. The two of them draw a wooden cart to the “Königshalle” (the King’s Hall) in Lorsch and accompany a medieval group of people who look like they were the retinue of King Louis the Pious. And because the two of them – in spite of being good-natured mastodon-like characters – are also stubborn, Claus Kropp has to come along with them. Dressed in a woolen gown and leather slippers the archaeologist leads the two along the street passing by cars and traffic signs. And then back again to a place that looks as if it was 1,200 years ago: to Lauresham. To a place they call experimental archaeological open-air laboratory. And which is basically nothing else but history come to life. And something like Claus Kropp’s dream who as a child always wanted to become a farmer, then an archaeologist – today he is both.

Since 2013, the 31-year-old archaeologist manages a kind of early medieval manor – a “farm estate with a central function” as he himself calls it. With living animals, reconstructed houses and tools. “Everything we show and use here, was used in the past – the only question is: how? Which carts did the Carolingian peasants go to war with? Where and how did they live? And how did they dress at such an army train and what weapons did they carry with them?”

This Sunday, there are some people present who give answers to these questions – the group “Reges Francorum” has come to Lauresham at Claus Kropp’s invitation, and its members are specialised in early medieval life: They regularly trek to open air museums together and test the suitability of the sites’ inventory for daily use. But first of all, the Middle Ages enthusiasts lend the “laboratory manger” a pair of Carolingian leather slippers, whose usual working gear at the open air laboratory has indeed nothing to do with historical garb. Then the men and women make themselves at home in the 21 buildings, which were constructed last year with the help of archaeologists, historians and workmen specialising in old techniques. The entire manor comprises not only the manor house, but also barns, stables, workshops and a chapel.

When Lorsch Abbey was designated a UNESCO World Heritage site in 1991, there were only very few buildings left: The famous library of the once ground-breaking Benedictine abbey had long been scattered, the majority of the buildings had been demolished over the centuries. When Claus Kropp as a student at Heidelberg university started to guide visitors through the grounds in 2005, he actually did not have a whole lot to show: the “Königshalle”, a fragment of a church on a glacial sand dune, the abbey wall – and, to cover it all, a lot of greenery and foundations underneath the lawn, so nothing really that would have helped to imagine how the people in Carolingian times actually lived. Then in 2009, the city, the state of Hesse and the federal government decided that an extensive refurbishment and expansion measure of the World Heritage site should be carried out. Such as for instance a kind of museum village east of the abbey area at the edge of the town. With animals, houses and great aspirations: everything in Lauresham was to be fully functional. And also scientifically sound.

So könnte in der Karolingerzeit das alltägliche Leben ausgesehen haben: Archäologe Claus Kopp trägt für den Fototermin spezielle leidung, die nach historischen Vorbildern angefertigt worden ist.

This is what everyday life could have looked like in Carolingian times. Archaeologist Claus Kropp wears special clothing for the photo shoot which was fabricated according to historical models.

Since then, Claus Kropp from time to time leads his oxen through the village and sometimes enacts scenes as they could have taken place in the lives of the lord of the manor and his subjects. He himself ploughs the fields, takes care of the animals, sows and reaps – all of it for the sake of science. On this weekend in March, the topic is warmth. It is cold and rainy. Meaning it is ideal weather for heating up the houses really well. If it works. Because in one of them the smoke does not really want to escape, whereas in the next one the icy draughts come blowing through the cracks – which the “Reges Francorum” people unceremoniously stuff with wool. “When archaeologists find a Carolingian house they are not usually entire houses, but time and again fragments which allow to give clues with regard to building materials and different variants,” Kropp says. What the roofs, the doors and windows looked like – this is tested and tried here along with temperature and air analyses.

Which plants, which fruit and which grain did the people of the Carolingian times eat? Relatively much is known about this because of, for instance, Charlemagne’s crown land regulations as they were handed down to us. But nothing is known about why the Carolingians made hilly fields. Or why they cultivated grain and gold-of-pleasure together. The newly built Lauresham never existed like this – and definitely not at this location which was regularly flooded by the river Weschnitz. In Carolingian times, the actual settlement outside the abbey must have been situated roughly at the place where Lorsch is today. Furthermore, the model settlement displays different types of houses as they were excavated in different regions of Germany, in Mannheim, Holzheim near Fritzlar, Speyer or Kelheim in Bavaria. “Even back then, there were regional differences with regard to construction methods, actually just like today,” Kropp says, and then he lists all that you can see in Lauresham today: houses with thatched roofs or shingles, with walls made of timber, clay or stone. Each of the 21 buildings has an archaeological model. “What we show is a typology of possibilities.”

Lauresham_Claus-Geiss

The area of Lauresham comprises 4.1 hectares – another five are privately cultivated by Claus Kropp who is a member of the “Verein zur Erhaltung der Nutzartenvielfalt” (association for the conservation of crop diversity). Here, he and his family raise chicken, sheep and goats, grow tomatoes and beans. “Those varieties, however, which are hard to find these days.” Lauresham, too, is to become a place of conservation: the animal species, too, are chosen in such a way that they come as close to their historical counterparts as possible. Along with the two oxen, the chicken, the six sheep, four geese and two dogs also, for instance, some “Düppeler Weideschweine” (a pasture raised pig species) moved to the site – since in all of Germany the so-called silvopastoralism has virtually died out. Claus Kropp wants to change this and plans to send his pigs to a forest area of one hectare soon – for pannage.

Das Düppeler Landschwein – eine heute selten gewordene Nutztierrasse, die in Lauresham heute nachgezüchtet wird.

The “Düppeler Weideschwein” – a rarely raised farm animal which is bred in Lauresham today.

In a certain way, his career is following that of his grandfather who still raises dairy goats in America up until today. But who is not an archaeologist at the same time, not a scientist who writes on his doctoral thesis after work. Did he imagine to ever come so close to his dream? Claus Kropp laughs. “There are few people who turned their wishes into reality like I did.” What aims are still left then? His dreams are of a rather short-term nature. “Building a mill like they existed in the past would be a challenge.” And then he talks of the three-field crop rotation cycle which he now follows cultivating the soil of Lauresham in springtime. With Darius and David drawing the plough. Claus Kropp found happiness – somewhere here, between the little houses of a place which never quite existed in reality.


welterbe-areal-kloster-lorsch.de

kloster-lorsch.de

Martha CramerClaus Geiss

Das Experiment

Als Kind wollte Claus Kropp Bauer werden. Dann Archäologe. Heute ist er beides. In Lorsch hat der 31-Jährige das Glück gefunden – im experimentalarchäologischen Freilichtlabor Lauresham.

Darius und David sind wahre Urviecher. Robust und gutmütig. Zwei Ochsen wie aus dem Bilderbuch. Oder besser: wie aus dem 8. Jahrhundert. Denn danach soll es an diesem Sonntag in Lorsch aussehen. Die beiden ziehen einen hölzernen Karren und begleiten eine Mittelaltertruppe, die aussieht, als sei sie ein Gefolge von König Ludwig des Frommen, bis zur Lorscher Königshalle. Und weil die beiden zwar Urviecher, aber auch störrisch sind, muss Claus Kropp mit. In einem Wollumhang und mit Lederschlappen führt der Archäologe die beiden die Straße entlang, an Autos und Verkehrsschildern vorbei. Und dann wieder dorthin zurück, wo es aussieht wie vor 1200 Jahren: nach Lauresham. An einen Ort, der sich experimentalarchäologisches Freilichtlabor nennt. Im Grunde genommen aber nichts anderes als gelebte Geschichte ist. Und so etwas wie der Traum von Claus Kropp, der als Kind immer Bauer werden wollte, dann Archäologe – heute ist er beides.

Seit 2013 leitet der 31-Jährige eine Art frühmittelalterlichen Herrenhof – ein „Wirtschaftshof mit zentraler Funktion“, wie er selbst sagt. Mit lebenden Tieren, nachgebauten Häusern und Gerätschaften. „Alles, was wir hier zeigen und nutzen, hat es früher gegeben – die Frage ist nur: wie? Mit welchen Karren zogen die karolingischen Bauern einst in den Krieg? Wo und wie lebten sie? Und wie kleideten sie bei solch einem Heereszug, welche Waffen trugen sie?“

An diesem Sonntag gibt es einige Menschen, die darauf Antworten geben. Denn die Gruppe „Reges Francorum“ ist auf Claus Kropps Einladung nach Lauresham gekommen und auf das Leben im Frühmittelalter spezialisiert: Gemeinsam ziehen ihre Mitglieder regelmäßig in Freilichtmuseen und testen das dortige Inventar auf seine Alltagstauglichkeit. Doch erst einmal leihen die Mittelalter-Freunde dem „Laborleiter“ ein Paar karolingische Lederschlappen, dessen übliche Berufskleidung im Freilichtlabor so gar nichts mit historischer Gewandung zu tun hat. Dann richten sich die Männer und Frauen in den 21 Gebäuden ein, die mit Hilfe von Archäologen, Historikern und Handwerkern, die sich auf alte Techniken spezialisiert haben, im vergangenen Jahr errichtet wurde. Der gesamte Herrenhof umfasst neben dem Herrenhaus auch Scheunen, Stallungen, Werkstätten und eine Kapelle.

Als 1991 das Kloster Lorsch in die Welterbeliste der UNESCO aufgenommen wurde, gab es nur wenige verbliebene Bauwerke: Die berühmte Museumsbibliothek der einst wegweisenden Benediktinerabtei war längst zerstreut, ein Großteil der Gebäude über die Jahrhunderte abgerissen worden. Als Claus Kropp 2005 damit begann, als Heidelberger Student Besucher über das Gelände zu führen, hatte er eigentlich nicht viel zu zeigen: die Königshalle, ein Kirchenfragment auf einer eiszeitlichen Flugsanddüne, die Klostermauer – und dazu viel Grün und Fundamente unter Rasen, eigentlich nichts was dabei half, sich die Menschen der Karolingerzeit wirklich vorzustellen. 2009 dann beschlossen Stadt, Bund und Land eine umfängliche Überarbeitung und Erweiterungsmaßnahme rund um das Weltkulturerbe. Unter anderem eine Art Museumsdorf östlich des Klostergeländes am Ortsrand zu errichten. Mit Tieren, Häusern und einem großen Anspruch: alles in Lauresham sollte funktionstüchtig sein. Aber auch wissenschaftlich fundiert.

So könnte in der Karolingerzeit das alltägliche Leben ausgesehen haben: Archäologe Claus Kopp trägt für den Fototermin spezielle leidung, die nach historischen Vorbildern angefertigt worden ist.

So könnte in der Karolingerzeit das alltägliche Leben ausgesehen haben. Archäologe Claus Kropp trägt für den Fototermin spezielle Kleidung, die nach historischen Vorbildern angefertigt worden ist.

 

Seitdem führt Claus Kropp manchmal auch Ochsen durch den Ort und lässt gelegentlich Szenen nachspielen, wie sie im Leben eines Lehnsherrn und seiner Bauern vorkamen. Er selbst beackert Land, kümmert sich um die Tiere, sät und erntet – alles im Dienste der Wissenschaft. An diesem Wochenende im März geht es um das Thema Wärme. Es ist kalt und regnerisch. Optimales Wetter also, um in den Häusern richtig einzuheizen. Wenn es denn funktioniert. Denn in einem will der Rauch nicht richtig abziehen, während im anderen der eiskalte Wind durch die Ritzen dringt – und die „Reges Francorum“-Leute kurzerhand Wolle hineinstopfen. „Wenn Archäologen ein karolingisches Haus finden, dann in der Regel keine ganzen Häuser, aber immer wieder Fragmente, die Rückschlüsse auf Baumaterialien und Ausführungen zulassen “, sagt Kropp. Wie die Dächer, die Türen und Fenster, Wände und das Inventar aussahen – hier wird es erprobt und getestet, begleitet von Temperatur- und Luftanalysen.

Welche Pflanzen, welches Obst und welches Getreide aß man in der Karolingerzeit? Man weiß verhältnismäßig viel darüber, etwa durch die überlieferte Krongüterverordnung Karls des Großen. Aber man weiß nicht, warum man damals hügelige Felder anlegte. Oder warum man Getreide und Leindotter gemeinsam anbaute. Das neu entstandene Lauresham selbst hat es so nie gegeben – schon gar nicht an dieser Stelle, die regelmäßig von der Weschnitz überflutet wurde. Die eigentliche außerklösterliche Siedlung in der Karolingerzeit muss in etwa dort gelegen haben, wo der heutige Ort Lorsch ist. Darüber hinaus zeigt die Mustersiedlung verschiedene Haustypen, wie man sie in verschiedenen Gegenden Deutschlands ausgegraben hat, in Mannheim, Holzheim bei Fritzlar, Speyer oder Kelheim in Bayern. „Schon damals gab es regionale Unterschiede in der Bauweise, eigentlich wie heute“, sagt Kropp und dann zählt er auf, was man in Lauresham alles sehen kann: Häuser mit Reetdach oder Schindeln, mit Wänden aus Holz, Lehm oder Stein. Jedes der 21 Gebäude hat ein archäologisches Vorbild. „Was wir zeigen, ist eine Typologie der Möglichkeiten.“

Lauresham_Claus-Geiss

4,1 Hektar ist die Fläche von Lauresham groß – fünf weitere bewirtschaftet Claus Kropp privat und ist Mitglied im Verein zur Erhaltung der Nutzartenvielfalt. Hier züchtet er mit seiner Familie Hühner, Schafe, Ziegen, Tomaten und Bohnen. „Aber die Sorten, die heute nur noch selten zu finden sind“. Auch Lauresham soll so etwas wie ein Ort des Bewahrens werden: Auch die Tierrassen sind so ausgewählt, dass sie ihren historischen Artgenossen möglichst nahe kommen. Neben den beiden Ochsen, den Hühnern, sechs Schafen, vier Gänsen und zwei Hunden sind bspw. auch Düppeler Weideschweine auf das Areal gezogen. Denn in ganz Deutschland ist die sogenannte Waldweidewirtschaft geradezu ausgestorben. Claus Kropp will das ändern und seine Schweine schon bald in einen ein Hektar großen Wald schicken – zur Eichelmast.

Das Düppeler Landschwein – eine heute selten gewordene Nutztierrasse, die in Lauresham heute nachgezüchtet wird.

Das Düppeler Landschwein – eine heute selten gewordene Nutztierrasse, die in Lauresham nachgezüchtet wird.

In gewisser Weise folgt sein Lebensweg dem des eigenen Großvaters, der noch heute Milchziegen in Amerika züchtet. Aber dabei kein Archäologe ist, kein Wissenschaftler, der nach Dienstschluss an seiner Doktorarbeit schreibt. Hätte er gedacht, seinem Traum jemals so nah zu kommen? Claus Kropp lacht. „Es gibt wenige Menschen, die wie ich das verwirklicht haben, was sie sich immer wünschten.“ Was für Ziele hat man da noch? Seine Träume sind eher kurzfristig angelegt. „Eine Mühle zu bauen, wie es sie damals gab, wäre eine Herausforderung“. Und dann erzählt er vom Zyklus der Dreifelderwirtschaft, nach dem er im Frühjahr nun die Äcker von Lauresham bestellt. Mit Darius und David vor dem Pflug. Claus Kropp hat das große Glück gefunden – irgendwo hier, zwischen den kleinen Häusern eines Ortes, den so in Wirklichkeit nie gegeben hat.


welterbe-areal-kloster-lorsch.de

kloster-lorsch.de