Anne-Katrin Jeschke / Translation by Christine Maier-RecicClaus Geiss

Tarmac dreams

In 1930, the assistant time keeper Ernst Christ came up with the idea of establishing a racetrack in his home town of Hockenheim. Only two years later, 60,000 visitors went on a pilgrimage to the first motorcycle race at the “Ring” that has made motor racing history and has made Hockenheim a world-famous town. In July, the German Motorcycle Grand Prix will set the Formula 1 world on fire again. But there are more ways to experience the “Ring”: a tour in the Renntaxi (racing taxi).

The lights are on red. Beads of sweat seep into the balaclava under the helmet. Without mercy, the heat reaches every corner of the Ferrari 458 Challenge. V8 engine, 4,500 cubic centimetres, 570 hp. From zero to one hundred in 3.4 seconds. This is Martin Kohlhaas’ job. The 37-year-old drives a Renntaxi (racing taxi) at the Hockenheimring. But at the moment, he is standing still. “Somebody must be pulled from the gravel bed first,” says one of the marshals. For a passenger, this is quite what you like to hear shortly before you go on the track.

Renntaxi2_Foto Hockenheim-Ring GmbH

Racing Taxis. Photo: Hockenheim-Ring GmbH

Laughing is the pilot’s answer to the question whether he drives in races regularly. “Of course, ending up in a gravel bed can also happen to us,” he says with a grin. The lights turn green. Kohlhaas presses the red start button. The engine revs up and the man at the wheel puts his foot down. He pushes the racing car to over 200 kilometres per hour along the home stretch of the legendary Motodrom in just a few seconds. He puts it into sixth, there is even a seventh. The sports seats and special seat belts give support, also just before the bend in a sharp braking manoeuvre. Every bend makes the adrenalin level rise even more, you feel a prickle in the stomach. Thoughts are racing through the mind: Let’s hope he puts on the brakes soon. “Thumbs up?” the driver gesticulates, approaching the home stretch. Thumbs up! Two minutes have past and we proceed to the second lap – much more relaxed. And no gravel bed at all.

L1030409

A variety of racing cars stand by at the pits stretch and serve as Renntaxi: Apart from the Ferrari there are a Porsche GT3, an Aston Martin Vantage GT4, an Audi R8 and a BMW 235i Cup. Five to six times a year, clients to the Hockenheim-Ring GmbH company can take a seat next to a racing driver in these models for a duration of three laps. And the “Race’n’Roll” programme allows guests to take the wheel. Here, Nicolas Armindo, the Porsche Carrera Cup French driver, takes the journey to Hockenheim in order to support the racetrack team. Then, there are tourist rides allowing anybody to take their own car to the track. And the little ones among the “racing drivers” can explore the Hockenheimring with fun at the “Kids Cup”, either on the kart track or through the quiz rally.

L1030436

Many visitors pull out vouchers for the Renntaxi. It is mainly male guests who take a cockpit seat next to Martin Kohlhaas and his colleagues, among them Kurt Ecke (RDM Racing) and Ralf Lange (Licence to race). Beforehand, they had already tried the padded VIP seats of the Süd-Tribüne (South Grandstand). Those are the places “with the best view,” Ivonne Stäcker assures us: Visitors can overlook the region all the way to Heidelberg and to the Odenwald foothills. The 40-year-old is in charge of the guided tours and tourist department at Hockenheim-Ring GmbH.

L1030441

The Parabolika stretch, she tells the audience, is the widest part of the track with a width of 18 metres. Fernando Alonso set the record there two years ago: 347 kilometres per hour at the Formula 1 qualifying. The narrowest stretch is the Motodrom entrance – a perfect spot for the spectators to witness take-over manoeuvres and “minor pile-ups” along this cramped and winding part of the track. Dark skid marks engraved on the asphalt tell this tale. Suddenly, the group gets distracted – a bus, with a full load of passengers undertakes a daring manoeuvre at the Ring. Astonishment – scare – a sigh of relief. Within seconds.

Ivonne Stäcker guides the audience into the racetrack’s eventful history. The first motorcycle race on the new-build triangular course took place back in May 1932. Only six years later, the Hockenheimring was reshaped and turned into an oval circuit. Then, it got seriously damaged during the Second World War, but only two years after the end of the war, motor racing returned to the track. In the sixties, the Mannheim-to-Heilbronn motorway called for rebuilding of the Ring again – the Motodrom was constructed. At this time, the Hockenheimring saw one of its blackest days:  On 7th April 1968, Scotsman Jim Clark, the then world’s best racing driver, was killed in an accident with his car Lotus 48 at a Formula 2 race.

Since the last rebuilding at the beginning of the 2000 years, the Grand Prix course has been 4,574 metres long, says the expert Stäcker. Kimi Räikkönen has held the record for twelve years: 1:13.78 minutes with the McLaren Mercedes. However, the fastest cars are not the Formula 1 Bolide cars, but the cars involved in the Drag Racing that takes place in August: “a pure speed acceleration race”. The cars drive in two lines along the 402.33 metre track. “From zero to one hundred in 0.8 seconds – and with a top speed of over 500 kilometres per hour.” Extremely noisy and “beautiful” is the comment. There is no doubt that Ivonne Stäcker possesses the enthusiasm about motor racing that her job requires.

L1030421

 

The Ring has made the small town of Hockenheim with a population of around 20,000 people, located about 20 kilometres south of Mannheim, wold-famous. On behalf of the operator, the Hockenheim-Ring GmbH, researchers at Mannheim and Koblenz-Landau universities recently analysed the racetrack’s contribution to the town: 17.9 million euros of additional income. But the study did not at all only deal with money. One of the participants answered to the question about what the Ring means to the town: “The Hockenheimring means to us what the Eiffel Tower means to Paris.”

The Motodrom can take 65,000 spectators, the total Hockenheimring capacity is almost double this amount. However, the last time it was sold out was “in Schumi’s days”. Ivonne Stäcker raves about how “half the Motodrom was lit up with red caps” then. And the town of Hockenheim is on fire again, when the native of Heppenheim Sebastian Vettel has his home match here in the Rhine-Neckar Metropolitan Region – in view of the great fan scenery and great emotions.

L1030458

On 7th April 1968, Scotsman Jim Clark, the then world’s best racing driver, was killed in an accident with his car Lotus 48 at a Formula 2 race.

The Formula 1 will return to the site in July, but the supreme category’s future in Germany is worrisome: With a share of 94 per cent, the company Hockenheim-Ring GmbH is mainly owned by the city council. “We are in the black, in all areas,” the staff member explains, “but there is a big if hanging over Formula 1 financial matters – despite the four German drivers taking part.” In 1970, the supreme category started for the first time in Hockenheim, with a good 100,000 spectators. It was only 25 years later that Michael Schumacher became the first German racing driver winner.

“More than Racing” is the Hockenheimring slogan: Events took place on around 260 days over the course of the past year, among them spectacular concerts. Many great artists such as the Rolling Stones, Pink Floyd and AC/DC were on the stage here. The Rock’n’Heim Festival featured headliners like System of a Down, Placebo or Linkin Park in the region.

Getting back to motor racing: One of the visitors wants to know how much such a padded seat at a Formula 1 race costs. The most expensive premium seats for a weekend cost 1,600 euros. “The cheapest weekend tickets are 99 euros,” Ivonne Stäcker says. The guided tour group members are allowed to take a seat at VIP areas and they may stand on the victory rostrum. But they quickly feel like getting back to the pits stretch, where the teams tune their cars. Engines rev up, banging in the air. A young man in overalls carries golden rims, another one puts his head deeply under the bonnet. And racing cars race across the long and straight track stretch right next to the pits.


www.hockenheimring.de

Asphaltträume

Im Jahr 1930 schoss dem Hilfszeitnehmer Ernst Christ plötzlich die Idee durch den Kopf, in seiner Heimatstadt Hockenheim eine Rennstrecke zu gründen. Schon zwei Jahre später pilgerten 60.000 Menschen zum ersten Motorradrennen auf dem „Ring“ – der Rennsportgeschichte geschrieben und Hockenheim weltberühmt gemacht hat. Bei einem „Großen Preis von Deutschland“ ist Formel 1-Ausnahmezustand angesagt, aber der „Ring“ lässt sich auch anders erleben: mit einer Fahrt mit dem Renntaxi.

Die Ampel steht auf Rot, unterm Helm versickern Schweißperlen in der Sturmmaske. Erbarmungslos kriecht die Hitze in jede Ecke des Ferrari 458 Challenge. V8-Motor, 4500 Kubikzentimeter, 570 PS. Von 0 auf 100 in 3,4 Sekunden. Es ist der „Arbeitsplatz“ von Martin Kohlhaas. Der 37-Jährige fährt Renntaxi am Hockenheimring. Im Moment aber steht er. „Da muss erst noch jemand aus dem Kiesbett gezogen werden“, gibt ein Ordner Bescheid. Ein Satz, wie ein Beifahrer ihn hören möchte, kurz bevor es auf die Strecke geht.

Die Entdeckung der Fliehkraft: Mit dem Renntaxi auf dem Ring unterwegs. Foto: Hockenheim-Ring GmbH

Der Pilot lacht, auf die Frage, ob er schon lange Rennen fährt. „Das mit dem Kiesbett“, sagt er und grinst, „kann uns natürlich auch passieren“. Die Ampel schaltet auf Grün, Kohlhaas drückt den roten Startknopf. Der Motor heult auf, der Mann am Steuer gibt Vollgas. Auf der Zielgeraden des legendären Motodroms treibt er den Rennwagen in wenigen Sekunden über 200 Stundenkilometer. Sechster Gang, es gibt auch noch einen siebten. Die Sportsitze und der Spezial-Gurt geben Halt. Auch beim harten Bremsen, ganz knapp vor der Kurve. Der Adrenalinspiegel steigt mit jeder Biegung, es kribbelt im Bauch. Die Gedanken rasen: Hoffentlich bremst er bald. „Daumen hoch?“, gestikuliert der Fahrer auf der Zielgeraden. Daumen hoch! Nach zwei Minuten geht es – schon viel entspannter – in die zweite Runde. Ganz ohne Kiesbett.

L1030409

Verschiedene Wagen stehen als Renntaxi vor der Boxengasse: neben dem Ferrari ein Porsche GT3, der Aston Martin Vantage GT4, ein Audi R8 sowie der BMW 235i Cup. Fünf- bis sechsmal pro Jahr können Kunden der Hockenheim-Ring GmbH für drei Runden neben einem Rennfahrer in diesen Modellen Platz nehmen. Und bei „Race’n’Roll“ dürfen die Gäste sogar selbst ans Steuer. Hier unterstützt Nicolas Armindo, französischer Fahrer im Porsche Carrera Cup, das Team der Rennstrecke und kommt eigens nach Hockenheim. Daneben gibt es die Touristenfahrten – dann darf jeder mit seinem eigenen Auto auf die Strecke. Und für kleine „Rennfahrer“ den „Kids Cup“, bei dem Kinder spielerisch den Hockenheimring kennenlernen – auf der Kartbahn oder mit der Quiz Rallye.

L1030436

Viele Besucher zeigen Gutscheine für das Renntaxi vor. Meist sind es Männer, die zu Martin Kohlhaas und seinen Kollegen, darunter Kurt Ecke (RDM Racing) und Ralf Lange (Licence to race), ins Cockpit steigen. Zuvor durften sie schon auf den gepolsterten VIP-Plätzen der Süd-Tribüne Platz nehmen. Den Rängen „mit der schönsten Aussicht“, wie Ivonne Stäcker versichert: Bis nach Heidelberg und zu den Ausläufern des Odenwalds können die Besucher blicken. Die 40-Jährige ist bei der Hockenheim-Ring GmbH für den Bereich Führung und Tourismus zuständig.

L1030441

 

Die Parabolika, lässt sie ihre Zuhörer wissen, ist mit 18 Metern der breiteste Teil der Strecke – den Rekord dort stellte vor zwei Jahren Fernando Alonso auf: mit 347 Stundenkilometern im Qualifying der Formel 1. Die schmalste Stelle ist die Einfahrt ins Motodrom – optimal, damit die Zuschauer auf der engen und kurvenreichen Strecke Überholmanöver und „kleine Karambolagen“ miterleben können. Davon zeugen dunkle Bremsspuren, die sich in den Asphalt gefressen haben. Die Gruppe ist plötzlich abgelenkt, weil ein – voll besetzter – Bus auf dem Ring ein waghalsiges Manöver fährt. Staunen. Bangen. Aufatmen. Binnen weniger Sekunden.

Ivonne Stäcker nimmt ihre Zuhörer mit in die bewegte Geschichte der Rennstrecke. Schon im Mai 1932 fand auf dem neu gebauten Dreieckskurs das erste Motorradrennen statt. Nur sechs Jahre später bekam der Hockenheimring seine ovale Form. Im Zweiten Weltkrieg wurde er schwer beschädigt, doch schon zwei Jahre nach Kriegsende gingen die ersten Rennsportler wieder auf die Strecke. Durch die Autobahn Mannheim-Heilbronn musste der Ring in den 60er Jahren erneut umgebaut werden, jetzt entstand das Motodrom. Eine Zeit, in der der Hockenheimring auch einen seiner schwärzesten Tage erlebte: Am 7. April 1968 verunglückte der damals beste Rennfahrer der Welt, der Schotte Jim Clark, mit einem Formel 2 Lotus Typ 48 tödlich.

Seit dem letzten Umbau Anfang der 2000er Jahre ist der Grand-Prix-Kurs 4574 Meter lang, erklärt Expertin Stäcker. Den Rekord hält Kimi Räikkönen seit zwölf Jahren: 1:13,78 Minuten im McLaren Mercedes. Am schnellsten sind hier allerdings nicht die Formel-1-Boliden, sondern die Autos beim Drag Racing, das im August stattfindet: „ein reines Beschleunigungsrennen“. In zwei Linien fahren die Wagen auf einer Strecke von 402,33 Metern. „Von 0 auf 100 in 0,8 Sekunden – und mit Endgeschwindigkeiten über 500 Stundenkilometern.“ Extrem laut sei das. „Und sehr schön.“ Die für ihren Job nötige Begeisterung für den Rennsport bringt Ivonne Stäcker zweifelsohne mit.

L1030421

 

Schließlich hat der Ring die Kleinstadt Hockenheim, die rund 20 Kilometer südlich von Mannheim liegt und rund 20.000 Einwohner zählt, weltberühmt gemacht. Was die Rennstrecke der Stadt bringt, das haben im Auftrag des Betreibers, der Hockenheim-Ring GmbH, zuletzt Wissenschaftler der Unis in Mannheim und Koblenz-Landau erhoben: jährlich 17,9 Millionen Euro zusätzliches Einkommen. Doch in der Studie ging es längst nicht nur um Geld. Auf die Frage, was der Ring für die Stadt bedeute, antwortete ein Teilnehmer: „Für uns ist der Hockenheimring das, was der Eiffelturm für Paris ist.“

65.000 Zuschauer können im Motodrom Platz nehmen, die maximale Zuschauerkapazität des Hockenheimrings liegt bei fast doppelt so vielen. Zum letzten Mal ausverkauft war allerdings „zu Schumis Zeiten“. Ivonne Stäcker schwärmt davon, wie damals „das halbe Motodrom vor roten Mützen nur so geleuchtet hat“. Noch heute ist Hockenheim im Ausnahmezustand, wenn der Heppenheimer Sebastian Vettel hier sein Heimspiel in der Metropolregion hat – garniert mit großer Fankulisse und großen Emotionen.

L1030458

Am 7. April 1968 verunglückte der zweimalige Weltmeister Jim Clark auf dem Hockenheimring – die Gedenkstätte ist ein Gralsort für Motorsportfans.

Im Juli kommt die Formel 1 zwar zurück, die Zukunft der Königsklasse in Deutschland bereitet jedoch Sorgen: Die Hockenheim-Ring GmbH gehört zu 94 Prozent der Stadt. „Wir haben schwarze Zahlen in allen Bereichen“, erklärt die Mitarbeiterin. „Aber die Formel 1 ist finanziell gesehen mit einem großen Fragezeichen versehen – obwohl aktuell vier deutsche Fahrer dabei sind.“ 1970 startete die Königsklasse erstmals in Hockenheim, schon damals vor über 100.000 Zuschauern. Erst 25 Jahre später gewann Michael Schumacher hier als erster deutscher Rennfahrer.

„More than Racing“ lautet der Slogan des Hockenheimrings: Im vergangenen Jahr fanden an rund 260 Tagen Veranstaltungen statt, auch spektakuläre Konzerte. Viele große Musiker standen hier schon auf der Bühne, darunter die Rolling Stones, Pink Floyd und AC/DC. Und das Rock’n’Heim-Festival holte Headliner wie System of a Down, Placebo oder Linkin Park in die Region.

Aber zurück zum Rennsport: Was so ein gut gepolsterter Sitz beim Formel-1-Rennen kostet, will ein Gast wissen. Für die teuersten Premium-Plätze zahlen Besucher 1.600 Euro für das Wochenende. „Die günstigsten Wochenend-Tickets gibt es für 99 Euro“, sagt Ivonne Stäcker. Die Teilnehmer ihrer Führung dürfen nicht nur auf den VIP-Plätzen sitzen, sondern auch auf dem Siegerpodest stehen. Danach zieht es sie aber zurück in die Boxengasse, wo die Rennteams an ihren Wagen schrauben. Motoren heulen auf, es knallt. Ein junger Mann im Overall schleppt goldene Felgen an, ein anderer beugt den Kopf tief unter die Motorhaube. Auf der langen Geraden nebendran rasen die Rennwagen vorbei.


http://www.hockenheimring.de